Chevron Left
Voltar para Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea da instituição Universidade Yonsei

4.8
estrelas
250 classificações
62 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines the transformation of Korean society beginning around the turn of the 20th century to contemporary times. In particular, it explores how shifting categories of masculinity, and by contrast, femininity have impacted upon, and in turn been influenced by social, cultural, and political change. Using multiple disciplinary lenses, we will critically examine how gender intersects with political, social, and economic developments starting with the Confucianization of Korean society during the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910) up to the contemporary moment of globalization and neoliberal reform. The class will draw on a variety of topics such as traditional views of women, religion, race, class, education, patriarchy, sexuality, imperialism, modernity, war, globalization, the diaspora, among others. Special attention will be placed on the historical, transnational and transdisciplinary connections....

Melhores avaliações

CB

20 de fev de 2018

Excellent course. I strongly recommend it for anyone interested in Korean culture. I took it because I am writing about KPOP and sexuality but I learnt much more and am really glad I did it.

NS

10 de ago de 2020

thank you so much for taking the course in a well organized way and in clear detail. i wanted to know more about the culture of s korea and it was dealt in depth by the mentors. thank you.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 64 Avaliações para o Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea

por Raffaella G

28 de jan de 2021

Congratulations for this Course of yours - very interesting and well structured indeed.

Special thanks to Professor Hyun Mee Kim, whose competence and clarity I particularly appreciated.

por anna s

14 de out de 2020

I really liked this course, I found it engaging and challenging. Perhaps an improvement might be a discussion around war weary countries and conservative morality.

por 마이싼

15 de jul de 2021

A​ very interesting course covering a lot of different sujects, each one as important as the others, to deeply understand the South Korean society!

por Juan S R G

3 de out de 2019

I loved this course, I'm so thankful for this, I had the chance to get close to the Korean culture from a completely different perspective.

por Thanyastree C

28 de mai de 2020

This is the best course ever. I would like to recommend for those who want to know more and learn about the Korean culture in depth:)

por serena s

30 de jun de 2021

it was very interesting, I have learned a lot about korean society and how gender relates to it from ancient Korea till the present

por Julia K

28 de set de 2020

For me, It was an excellent course, it has given me so much insight into Korean culture. Thank you lecturers very, very much!

por María R M B

21 de out de 2021

Very interesting, and very understandable, well taught, I like that they provide all the material needed for the course.

por Marijose L C

24 de fev de 2021

Este curso esta muy compleot y te ayuda a entender los estudios de género en Corea del Sur desde la época de Joseon.

por Robin S K

10 de ago de 2017

Excellent information, especially the historical background of Korea and its influence on societal culture.

por Thainá R

24 de dez de 2017

This is a very great course I'd like to recommend to everyone who is interested about Korea society.

por Seonghyun P

4 de abr de 2019

A great overview of current issues that South Korea and its people have to deal with.

por Tülay T M

10 de jul de 2021

Very good, looking forward to an updated part with outlook on post-pandemic Korea

por Janaína P B

25 de out de 2021

Muito informativo. Pude compreender de forma mais profunda a sociedade coreana

por ferdhia s

3 de jun de 2021

Thank you for all information in this course. It's really helpful for me

por Camila C S

16 de out de 2020

An amazing course! I wanna know more about the Korea culture and society

por DEVYANI I

10 de jun de 2021

it was great studying it.... i loved the way concepts were explained

por Karen Q

4 de out de 2018

A good history and issues surrounding gender in Korea.

por Tanya A

30 de nov de 2021

Very comprehensive and interesting.

por Eva W

3 de fev de 2019

A lot of work but 100% worth it.

por narmin j

9 de mar de 2021

very helpful course.

por FRANCESCA N

22 de mai de 2020

Very interesting!

por S B L

25 de mar de 2020

Amazing!

por Jessica R

18 de mar de 2018

It was an interesting course. I've learned lots of new contents and information related to Korean society, and delved into some other topics, which were more familiar.

Texts, articles, and videos suggested are engaging, and fundamental in order to better understand the subjects.