Chevron Left
Voltar para Sono: Neurobiologia, Medicina e a Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Sono: Neurobiologia, Medicina e a Sociedade da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
213 classificações
54 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The objective of this course is to give students the most up-to-date information on the biological, personal, and societal relevance of sleep. Personal relevance is emphasized by the fact that the single best predictor of daytime performance is the quality of the previous night's sleep. The brain actively generates sleep, and the first section of the course is an overview of the neurobiological basis of sleep control. The course provides cellular-level understanding of how sleep deprivation, jet lag, and substances such as alcohol, ,caffeine, and nicotine alter sleep and wakefulness. The second section of the course covers sleep-dependent changes in physiology and sleep disorders medicine. Particular emphasis will be placed on disorders of excessive sleepiness, insomnia, and sleep-dependent changes in autonomic control. Chronic sleep deprivation impairs immune function and may promote obesity. Deaths due to all causes are most frequent between 4:00 and 6:00 a.m., and this second section of the class highlights the relevance of sleep for preventive medicine. The societal relevance of sleep will be considered in the final section of the class. In an increasingly complex and technologically oriented society, operator-error by one individual can have a disastrous negative impact on public health and safety. Fatigue-related performance decrements are known to have contributed as causal factors to nuclear power plant failures, transportation disasters, and medical errors....

Melhores avaliações

JQ

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

TD

Apr 13, 2020

Perfectly paced. This was NOT an EASY course, but it was just difficult enough. there was plenty of data and studies for each lesson. The quizzes kept me motivated.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Sono: Neurobiologia, Medicina e a Sociedade

por olivier h

Dec 27, 2018

The content is excellent but this is not intended for "beginners" as advertised. The lectures are very interesting and the overall level is high. You need to have some good knowledge about the structure and the working of the brain or you won't be able to follow the lectures (the level is higher than with most MooC here) The main problem with this MooC though is that there is nothing more than academic lectures. The forum are empty, there is no (sense of) community, this long course (12 weeks) lacks some storytelling linking weeks together, and, worse of all, the quizzes are useless: very short, simplistic, you may even pass guessing the correct answers. Such high level lectures demand for high quality quizzes allowing the students to really test and challenge the acquired knowledge. Quizzes and all sorts of interactive exercises must be included in the experience. If we only get video lectures, why not publish a DVD with a companion book ?

por Miranda C

Aug 02, 2018

I would highly recommend ALL students whom are interested in Sleep Medicine to enrol on this most FASCINATING, ENGROSSING and WORTHWHILE COURSE. The course tutors on this online course instill into you the DRIVING FORCE to forge ahead with learning a whole new range of knowledge in Sleep Medicine and Neurobiology. The course is quite difficult, but then my philosophy is that ANYTHING THAT IS WORTH ACHIEVING IS NOT EASILY GAINED and this is TRUE of this Sleep Medicine, Neurobiology and Society course; however, do NOT allow the difficulty of this course to discourage you - TAKE IT AS A CHALLENGE. A challenge that will open up a new avenue of learning and knowledge for yourself and your personal future and future career. GOOD LUCK. And you will NOT be disappointed, you will be entirely IMMERSED and ENGROSSED with this most fascinating course.

por Eric T

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent course !

I really enjoyed this course ! All the modules are clear enough to understand the basis of the neurobiology of sleep and to become familiar with basic concepts and mechanisms from neurobiology of sleep and neuroscience. Very Impressed with how detailed and rigorous the course is ! The" honor track" is particularly challenging and fascinating ( especially mathematical modeling of Sleep-Wake Regulation and Molecular biology and Genetics of Sleep)

Thank you Professor Ralph Lydic and Helen Baghdoyan !

por Ahmad D

Nov 19, 2019

I am so proud to learn by many of the best professors of the world who are so oriented and competent character ! I did not know before this course the danger consequences related to sleep as OSA or sleep deprivation especially on the physiological level which I interested in ! Thanks for you to give me the chance to learn this content cross several thousands miles

Thank you,

Ahmad Darwish

por Eirene G M

May 23, 2020

I have searched online, and the one I found here in Coursera given by the University of Michigan is one very great course with a generous helping of knowledge and insights. It equips us better as we navigate the intricacies of Sleep and its impact to life, esp in a country where the study of sleep is relatively young. Thank you for sharing your expertise!

por D.r : G M A

Apr 21, 2020

Words are incapable ... I have love for you ... That university is Michigan ... you are one individual

Greetings .. My love, my appreciation to all of you .. We specialize in the course, my listening, and whoever taught us all love and appreciation

Your dear veterinarian, Ghazwan Muhammad Al-Sheikh

por Folarin A

Apr 29, 2020

This course was very informative and have recommended my sleep lab make this as part of their orientation for new hires. This course adequately and interestingly provided the science behind the research being carried out in my lab. Thank you for this course, it was truly enjoyable to go through.

por Nada F

May 02, 2020

I'm a PhD candidate in Neuroscience and I work on the circadian rhythm dysfunctions in Parkinson's Disease. The lectures were very interesting and useful for me and I have learned a lot so far, I will be back to rewatch some videos for sure and I highly recommend this course.

por Nicola J

May 05, 2019

Excellent course in which I learnt much about sleep, sleep disorders and the effects of sleep deprivation. Some of the modules I found challenging but all were of interest and I learnt much. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.

por Huu K N

Jul 06, 2019

to tell the truth, this is the ever first online class I have ever learnt. This is so amazing, useful for a neurologist like me. Love this and still wait for an advanced course of this online class

por JOHN Q

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

por Thiago D M

Mar 04, 2018

Very good course! I liked it a lot not only on professional perspective, but also personally to understand the importance of a good sleep and how everything is related.

por Teresa P D

Apr 13, 2020

Perfectly paced. This was NOT an EASY course, but it was just difficult enough. there was plenty of data and studies for each lesson. The quizzes kept me motivated.

por Alexis B

Aug 12, 2018

This is a very good course that bring you an update to the current evidence of sleep and help you to understands the mechanic and purpose of sleep.

por Vidisha M

Apr 27, 2020

Amazing course! Loved it. Just please provide notes and slides. Thank you so much all the instructors and the entire team. Highly recommended.

por Ramón H

Mar 17, 2020

This course is a complete and wide vision about a very important theme. I have any doubt, so, I encourage to take this very useful course.

por Nimra I

Aug 26, 2019

This is good enough to understand about the basic of sleeping.. Everyone should take this course it has good knowledge.Teachers are nice.

por SUSHIL K S V

May 30, 2019

One of the best courses on Coursera and among the best ones that is from the University of Michigan on this platform. More this way!!

por Peter V

Nov 13, 2019

This has been a very informative course and I am appreciative for the opportunity to journey through this material.

por Красненко Ф О

Apr 11, 2020

Отличный курс для изучения основ медицины сна. Понятные лекции. Мотивирует к дальнейшему изучению этой темы

por Mohammed M A

Jan 13, 2019

An excellent course designed to address real life problems of sleeping disorders. Thank you all!

por Jiho s

Nov 16, 2019

Very informative and a great way to learn everything about sleep science and sleep medicine.

por Duane F

Feb 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and look forward to continuing my education on the subject.

por kishore k

Mar 05, 2019

It was really useful for me to know about the science behind why and how we actually sleep.

por Jenny

Apr 21, 2020

really good - fantastically knowledgeable teachers, evidence based and interesting.