Chevron Left
Voltar para Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
1,775 classificações
483 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Melhores avaliações

YG
2 de Jul de 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL
9 de Fev de 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 475 Avaliações para o Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

por Gregorio A A P

8 de Jul de 2017

Excelente, felicitaciones , solo que es triste no poder disfrutar al 100% un curso de esta calidad al no estar traducido al español, le agradecería que por favor lo traduzca del ingles al idioma español ya que solo esta parcialmente traducido.

nuevamente felicitaciones por la gran didáctica con la que imparte el curso y sobre todo por la calidad con la que enseña.

por Robert H

26 de Nov de 2018

Great course! A particularly novel and extremely well-done presentation of the basics of calculus, part of a multi-course sequence that covers the whole of single variable calculus. Also worth a serious look is Professor Ghrist's material on multivariate calculus, available on You Tube. See his Penn web site for more details (http://www.math.upenn.edu/~ghrist/).

por Hemant P

1 de Jul de 2017

This course really helped me push my limits(forgive the pun) with highschool math. It was challenging but not so much that it demotivated me! Moreover, I watched many lectures twice and thrice and tried replicating the examples demonstrated in each lecture. It really helped me drill in the fundamentals I needed. I can proudly say I know Taylor Series now!

por Nafis F

8 de Ago de 2020

For people with absolutely no knowledge of calculus : Quite difficult to follow. Not for you.

For people with absolutely some knowledge of calculus: TAKE THIS COURSE, if you have the time to do so. It does take a lot of work. But I enjoyed all of it.

por Mion M

2 de Abr de 2020

Very nice course. I've been searching for a calculus course for some time as I want to try a completely new sphere for me and I needed something just above school program, but also not too advances as I graduated from school 10 years ago and don't remember everything. I am really grateful for these lectures and tasks, it was actually fun. Thank you!

por Hoagy C

29 de Set de 2017

Very well explained, well set out, interesting concepts - highly recommended. Would have liked it if the 'Challenge' question sets were a little more thought provoking rather than (often) just requiring more computation - there were some interesting ones (the ln(lnx) question comes to mind) but didn't add as much depth as they could have.

por Emmanuel A

9 de Dez de 2020

I have really enjoyed this course; calculus with UPenn is the best. Thank you a lot especially to Professor Robert Ghrist. I appreciate your teachings and everything you did for me. Infact, I have really understood the practical aspect of mathematics. To all my coursera friends, you're at the right place with University of Pennsylvania.

por Hyorin N

2 de Out de 2021

Loved it!!! It will be difficult for those who don't have prior calculus knowledge! Recommended for students who have taken Calc BC and want to learn college calculus. I warn, however, course materials are difficult and homework problems, especially challenge HW, take lots of time. I'm now moving to part 2 of the course!! So excited!!!

por Darleen J T S

17 de Mai de 2020

A very useful course to reinforce and measure your knowledge of simple variable calculus at the level of functions, limits and Taylor series. I especially thank the teacher R. Ghrist and his collaborators for the didactic material that they have given us as well as for the challenging problems that they have posed to solve.

por Patrick S H

5 de Out de 2019

I really appreciate the work that Professor Ghrist and the online curriculum team have put into making classes like this so accessible. I didn't feel like I was up to my knees in spam-can explanations, and just left to my own devices. Professor Ghrist is actually a very good tour guide for some very interesting territory.

por Bowei D

30 de Nov de 2020

In my class of my university, series number is always set up at the end of the arithmetic course, and I dont have the opportunity to combine series number with derivative and integral, also its amazing to learn something about the order of the point, it can be applied in many situation that I never consider before.

por Okto T

20 de Dez de 2019

Amazing course, taught by a brilliant professor. A very useful course for me, as my previous calculus experience did not include Taylor Series. The homework took me a lot of time though, always over an hour. I didn't always manage the challenge homework. Overall very satisfied and looking forward to the next part.

por Alperen Ç K

5 de Set de 2020

Very well organized course with clear explanations. Plenty of visual slides which makes understanding better. Professor is also focusing on many details that normally requires proper explanation and he does explain those details clearly. The focus is on the Taylor Series. I can't wait to finish other parts!

por Shaurya A

4 de Jun de 2020

Course overall was great. The Professor Robert Greist explained wonderfully and the animation was also great. But there was a gap in the understanding about the big O and asymptotics specifically in week 4 lecture : Orders of growth

But everything else went in a great flow.

Looking forward to calculus 2

por Brian N A

24 de Jun de 2018

I enjoyed the course, and I will be taking the other parts of it too. The problems seem well designed to expose flaws in your thinking. I still feel somewhat shaky on some topics, but I would say the overall concepts came through very well, and the journey through them was cohesive and well laid-out.

por Deleted A

30 de Abr de 2020

I really loved it, to be honest. I am a high school student, and, I had some exposure to calc before, but, when I took this course, I got bombed on the first attempts lol. It was really tough and this has been my first ever course which really tests my brain. Honestly, I have learnt a lot of stuff.

por Mikayla B

18 de Jun de 2016

This course offers so much! I haven't been in a class that goes this in-depth in calculus. I definitely recommend this course to others who want to explore calculus and want a challenge!

Best of luck to those who choose to enroll in all 5 parts of single variable calculus sessions. It's worth it :)

por Carlos A

2 de Mai de 2017

It was great, the lectures were amazingly done, I loved all the colors and stuff made.

Clear and understandable.

Exercises not too hard, not too easy.

Our starting point is Euler's identity and Taylor Series, wich we take as a given. I didn't like it very much, but, overall, it accomplishes its goal.

por Don H

2 de Mar de 2019

It's not perfect, but no course is. This course won't raise your test scores (at least not immediately). To do that, you have to buckle down and study the material assigned by your professor. But if you want a deeper understanding of the concept, I couldn't recommend a better course or platform.

por michael f

18 de Mai de 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Prof. Ghrist is an excellent teacher. The course was a tad bit harder than i has expected it to be, but nonetheless, i thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in Mathematics and calculus. It also cleared some of my concepts.

por Alejandro C

8 de Mar de 2021

Really good course! Calculus has always been a hard bone to chew for me, but this helped a lot. The only part that is a little bit lacking was the complex exponential, luckily I had recently seen some videos on the subject in the 3b1b youtube channel that complemented this lecture perfectly.

por Valerie C

6 de Mar de 2016

I found this course to be very helpful, challenging, informative, and well-made. There was obvious a lot of time and effort put into making the videos. I have a good amount of math experience, but I still found it challenging and interesting. I'm very happy to have found this resource.

por Meysam N

9 de Mai de 2021

It is a little bit difficult to follow the course since it is not clear what are the learning objectives. However, once I insisted on following the material and forcing myself into it I had the opportunity to learn so many beautiful concepts that were totally new to me in mathematics.

por Kannadasan P S

15 de Jul de 2020

Got to know to some of the crucial concepts like Big-O which was a base for complex computation in the calculation of time for programmes. And the lectures were very interesting as they were explained with application. The overall feel while learning the course was good !!

por Aleksey C

29 de Dez de 2016

When I retake homework tasks I try to fix tasks I failed on previous attempt. IMHO it make sense to not repeat them all but provide only tasks that were solved incorrectly. Repeating ALL tasks just wastes my time for reentering correct answers and is error-prone process.