Chevron Left
Voltar para Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
1,843 classificações
503 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Melhores avaliações

YG

2 de jul de 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL

9 de fev de 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filtrar por:

476 — 496 de 496 Avaliações para o Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

por Serdal A

7 de jun de 2021

the course is for those who already know calculus and looking for some more challenges. If you are new in this area you better take some basic courses, not this one.

por Tomas R

21 de mai de 2020

Great course, but I think that Calculus One (

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calculus_One) is even beter. I found it more comprehensible.

por Canan G

19 de abr de 2020

Thanks for your efforts for this course but despite i have finished the course, it was hard for me

por Emil E H

15 de fev de 2016

The lecturer wasn't very engaging. I gave up and continued with Ohio's Calculus course instead.

por Elany A d C

3 de mai de 2020

Taylor series is not important. I miss derivate, integral and more about limits and functions.

por james.v

16 de jul de 2019

Lot of gab between video lecture and assignment problems

por Saad M S M K

16 de jan de 2016

very defcult

por Amir Y

10 de fev de 2022

good

por Omar A K

2 de ago de 2017

Easy if you consider the fact that I learned the proper definition of the limit before differentiation and before (of course) any presentation of the Taylor series, with the proper integral rest of course, french mathematical education is not that bad after all.

por fadi E

24 de abr de 2020

The course is heavily based on personal effort and not on explanation from the instructor. The course forced me to take more searches in the internet and find wonderful sites and tools related to the taylor series.

por Natasha K

16 de mai de 2022

Information is high level but the homework is more detailed. Needed to find supplemental information to complete coursework. Found Kahn Academy to be more useful

por Ashkan R

5 de fev de 2016

Calculus isn't that LONG!! you can divide it into 2 courses, not 4, namely single- and multi- variable(s).

por Deleted A

30 de jul de 2020

What a ridiculous course?!?! Hey guys, who did just rate it 5, I don't get at all!!! If you are reading this negative comments in order to understand wether to enrol, don't this!!! A little short video and a supercomplicated homework.

Isn't it strange assumption to assume, that the student already knows almost whole Calculus?

Just the waste of two precious days in my life, I could spend much much better!

The only thing I got from this course, I have to review my precalculus and I do not have so good Calculus basics as I thought!

I'd like to ask professor, who this course is for? I will go to Krista King to udemy instead.

HEY, DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!!!

por (Lain) L P

29 de nov de 2021

While in this class I am having trouble actually learning much of anything. There are no example problems to work through and the Core Homework quizzes have little to nothing to do with the lecture. It would be incredibly beneficial for me to recieve some form of examples or homework.

por Krzysztof F

20 de jan de 2021

Most horrible teacher and course! There is something wrong with this guy. Have to unenrole, unable to follow.

por Devo

26 de fev de 2021

No explanation or training before exams. We enroll in the course to learn, not to get intimidated.

por Saqer j a a

29 de out de 2020

the level of quizzes not fit with the materials contributed from the instructor

por Tone M

22 de mai de 2020

15 minute cartoon then some unrelated problems?

No thanks

por Shubham S

24 de jun de 2022

why i havn't recieved my cerificate

por Mursalin S

10 de ago de 2020

certificate?

por Andrew P C

4 de jun de 2020

sucks