Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness da instituição Universidade de Rochester

4.9
estrelas
253 classificações
95 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Melhores avaliações

AZ
19 de Dez de 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

CM
17 de Nov de 2020

This course is very helpful. Once finished you will be able to fully understand the SDT. Richard Ryan is a great speaker. He explained the concepts very well. Thank you for this course!

Filtrar por:

76 — 96 de 96 Avaliações para o Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

por Andrés Z

20 de Dez de 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

por Cherry R M

18 de Nov de 2020

This course is very helpful. Once finished you will be able to fully understand the SDT. Richard Ryan is a great speaker. He explained the concepts very well. Thank you for this course!

por Richard H

16 de Set de 2020

An outstanding course, well designed and well presented. Recommended especially to anyone in the coaching profession. Dr. Ryan is the best.

por Artemisa M O

4 de Dez de 2020

Great course, so completed, well explained and provided structural bases to continue learning about SDT. I loved it

por Sammar M S

21 de Jan de 2021

It was very interesting, and the teacher was excellent and kept me always looking forward to learning more.

por Adam B

18 de Fev de 2021

This course should change the way you look at almost everything. It has for me.

por Mark S

10 de Out de 2020

Absolutely outstanding. The best course of its type that I have ever done.

por Eddie C

8 de Out de 2020

This course is a great introduction to SDT, highly recommended!

por Lindsey W

5 de Dez de 2020

Learned quite a bit about this theory and more...

por Tatiana K

28 de Fev de 2021

Very powerful theory for MarCom top managers.

por Alyona G

13 de Out de 2020

Very insightful course, highly recommend!

por Inge H

23 de Dez de 2020

Great course!

por Regina N U S

24 de Out de 2020

EXCELENTE!

por Peggy B

7 de Jul de 2020

This class doesn't grade my quizs so I don't know how I'm doing. I'm doing the free class but all the other free classes I've taken give me the result of my tests so I know if I'm doing ok or not.

Forums suggest that even people who have paid for classes can't get the tests unlocked.

The class itself is very good, I just don't know how I'm doing with it.

por Jeannette F

3 de Mar de 2021

The amount of studies shared to demonstrate SDTs value was impressive. Overall, the content held my interest and the presentation was very well done. I wish there would have been more examples for how to provide autonomy support and nurture the competency and relatedness components — especially for one's self.

por Karim E F

15 de Set de 2020

Very good course, with the many examples and richness of content. The reading are a bit long and too academic, could be better to have them with more info-graphic style. Thank you Richard

por Marcus B

24 de Jan de 2021

Well presented but print narrative is full of typos and wrong info. Why has this not been remedied?

por Robert H

31 de Jan de 2021

Good content, broad range of examples, hard to follow Prof. Ryan as a non-native speaker

por Neo A

12 de Jul de 2019

Worth it.

por Richard S

9 de Out de 2020

I absolutely loved the course and would like to have finished it.

Biggest problem- you can't take the tests if you are auditing- or at least submit them. And, because you didn't submit them, the course doesn't think you have completed the module. It essentially kicked me out.

Unfortunately, I had work that kept me away for a week when I was on the last module. The system had me re-enroll in a new course because my group had moved on. All fine. Then it would not let me start back where I left off even though it still showed me as completing those modules. The problem was that I did not pay for the quizzes- I'm auditing the course.

Which also pissed me off because Each time I did the quizzes and came to that button where it would not let me submit my answers- well, aggravating. They should tell you in advance so you don't waste your time. The quizzes are hard and I still went through them but didn't bother to mark answers after a while.

So now I'm unable to advance to the last module where I left off, effectively ending the course for me.

And, add to that, even though the Coursera claims to have a chat function- there are no phone numbers or email addresses you can use to contact as a student-the place where they tell you to go chat with someone is just Help Articles.

So: Course Good, Coursera Bad, but-

Having taken many Coursera classes, this is the first one where I was so completely screwed. Every other class has allowed me to take the quizzes and get feedback and I've never had issues with being allowed to re-enter my course where I left off.

por Daniel O

19 de Jan de 2021

Like many others, I am frustrated at not being able to access the Week 2 exam. I completed week 1, proceeded to week 2, completed week 2 and now find I am locked out from the exam. I keep getting 'encouragement' to complete the exam ahead of time, but am unable to do so. Having completed other Coursera courses, I believed the SDT course (with certificate) could be completed within my time schedule. I have set aside time to complete this course prior to resumption of my Masters degree, but am frustrated by the locking mechanism. totally unacceptable in my humble opinion, an on ongoing 'approach to motivation' problem for many.