Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness da instituição Universidade de Rochester

4.8
estrelas
284 classificações
106 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Melhores avaliações

AZ
19 de Dez de 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

CM
17 de Nov de 2020

This course is very helpful. Once finished you will be able to fully understand the SDT. Richard Ryan is a great speaker. He explained the concepts very well. Thank you for this course!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 106 Avaliações para o Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

por juan S

31 de Mar de 2021

A thoroughly enjoyable, useful and rewarding course to study. Just the right balance between video and reading. I will apply this new motivation theory in my workplace as the Learning and Development Manager in a large charity organisation.

por Cleydyr A

28 de Set de 2020

Interesting introduction to SDT by one of the proposers and most prominent researchers on the theory. Good amount of examples and applications. Also, every lesson has links to rich material to deepen the understanding of the topic.

por Victor P

30 de Mar de 2021

An excellent introduction to Self-Determination Theory. Professor Ryan's videos are informative, insightful and well-organized. You'll want to read the corresponding chapters in the text to get the most out of this course however.

por Aleksandra C

3 de Abr de 2021

Not an easy course, requires 100 % of attention, but this is how strong competiotion of knowledge is built. As not native English person I needed more time for week as predicted ( approx. one hour more).

por Andrés Z

20 de Dez de 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

por Cherry R M

18 de Nov de 2020

This course is very helpful. Once finished you will be able to fully understand the SDT. Richard Ryan is a great speaker. He explained the concepts very well. Thank you for this course!

por Sridevi K

9 de Mai de 2021

This course is absolutely interesting and very informative! Everyone should know more about this theory and apply it in their everyday life :)

por Richard H

16 de Set de 2020

An outstanding course, well designed and well presented. Recommended especially to anyone in the coaching profession. Dr. Ryan is the best.

por Eva H

8 de Abr de 2021

A real eye-opening and very rewarding course. Thanks to Dr. Ryan for teaching it and making it available on Coursera.

por Artemisa M O

4 de Dez de 2020

Great course, so completed, well explained and provided structural bases to continue learning about SDT. I loved it

por Sammar M S

21 de Jan de 2021

It was very interesting, and the teacher was excellent and kept me always looking forward to learning more.

por Adam B

18 de Fev de 2021

This course should change the way you look at almost everything. It has for me.

por Mark S

10 de Out de 2020

Absolutely outstanding. The best course of its type that I have ever done.

por Eddie C

8 de Out de 2020

This course is a great introduction to SDT, highly recommended!

por Lindsey W

5 de Dez de 2020

Learned quite a bit about this theory and more...

por Tatiana K

28 de Fev de 2021

Very powerful theory for MarCom top managers.

por Alyona G

13 de Out de 2020

Very insightful course, highly recommend!

por Aaryn F

27 de Mar de 2021

Wonderful course. Genuinely eye-opening.

por Inge H

23 de Dez de 2020

Great course!

por Regina N U S

24 de Out de 2020

EXCELENTE!

por Peggy B

7 de Jul de 2020

This class doesn't grade my quizs so I don't know how I'm doing. I'm doing the free class but all the other free classes I've taken give me the result of my tests so I know if I'm doing ok or not.

Forums suggest that even people who have paid for classes can't get the tests unlocked.

The class itself is very good, I just don't know how I'm doing with it.

por Jeannette F

3 de Mar de 2021

The amount of studies shared to demonstrate SDTs value was impressive. Overall, the content held my interest and the presentation was very well done. I wish there would have been more examples for how to provide autonomy support and nurture the competency and relatedness components — especially for one's self.

por Karim E F

15 de Set de 2020

Very good course, with the many examples and richness of content. The reading are a bit long and too academic, could be better to have them with more info-graphic style. Thank you Richard

por Marcus B

24 de Jan de 2021

Well presented but print narrative is full of typos and wrong info. Why has this not been remedied?

por Xinyuan X

7 de Mar de 2021

Great lecturer, content can be a bit repetitive at times. Watched the videos on 1.5 playback speed.