Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness da instituição Universidade de Rochester

4.8
estrelas
392 classificações
145 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Melhores avaliações

MA

3 de fev de 2022

My very first online course and I never expected that this would be of high quality teaching. The professor knows very well what he is talking about and can clearly convey the idea of SDT. Splendid!

AZ

19 de dez de 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

Filtrar por:

126 — 148 de 148 Avaliações para o Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

por Oliver K

21 de fev de 2022

G​reat contents. The didactics are not so helpful, though:

-​ The video visuals mostly consist of stock photographs, some headings, and the occasional first page of some paper. So the visuals are mostly decorative and do not contain much helpful content. There are no slides for download and for review after the course. This makes studying for the quizzes really hard.

-​ The officially required reading are 50-100 pages of papers per week. This is too much (compared to what is checked in the quizzes), and also not a good format to use for studying for the quizzes.

-​ The quizzes often use negated questions ("Which of the following is NOT an example of …"), which is completely irrelevant for checking whether the student has understood the material, but it increases the chances of getting the answer wrong by accident.

-​ The feedback to the incorrectly answered quiz questions only shows which questions the student got wrong, but not which option was wrong and which would have been correct. This is very unhelpful for reading the feedback and learning from it.

A​ll in all, not a good course for learning about this topic. The time would be better spend reading the recommended book. (And I really would have expected a professor of psychology to exhibit better didactic skills. After all, how learning works and what a teacher can do to support this is part of the field of psychology.)

por Lina

27 de mai de 2021

Repetitive. Autonomy is key.

por Sepidehsadat S

27 de jan de 2022

Such an excellent course! I took this course only out of curiosity, and I enjoyed every minute of it. It helped me understand myself and how what I've been through in life affected my personality. What I've learned in this course sounds very logical and intelligent, and hopefully, I can use the content to improve the quality of my life.

por Kirti A

19 de jan de 2022

​The course had great structure and an even better tutor! The best thing was that we were taught about the theory by one of the founders of the theory himself. Big thanks to Professor Ryan. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about SDT and am now motivated to delve deeper into this comprehensive theory.

por Abhay S A

28 de abr de 2022

amazing course really an different to deal with problems in our daily life it was so helpful that even by taking this course I was felling that I am ganing true knowledge. REALLY NOTHING WAS REPEATED EVERY SESSION WAS SOMETHING NEW I JUST LOVED IT.

por Arturo I H J

7 de mar de 2022

SDT is one the best ways to explain how motivation works for the human race.

Definitely it has apported to the psychology field and we should know it if we are trying to understand a little more the human behavior.

¡bravo!

por Mary H A

4 de fev de 2022

My very first online course and I never expected that this would be of high quality teaching. The professor knows very well what he is talking about and can clearly convey the idea of SDT. Splendid!

por Carola M R

3 de fev de 2022

Great introduction to the theory, gives you a overview with great examples, angles and the studies are very interesting.

por Yuka K

24 de mar de 2022

I really wanted to understand the basic idea of SDT before my master program begins, and this course helped me a lot!

por Carol L M H

19 de fev de 2022

Very enlightening! This really explains a lot concerning motivation of individuals and how it can be enhanced.

por Roopali S

4 de mai de 2022

This course was well expalined with backed researches and papaers to prove their theories.

por John R

30 de jan de 2022

​Enjoyable, I learnt a lot and it was very clear. Interesting.

por Shashvat S

9 de mai de 2022

Really boosted my motivation level. Thanks

por pranav b

2 de mai de 2022

It was great course!

por SAER t

9 de mai de 2022

very very good

por Rudra T

22 de abr de 2022

Great learning

por Ataa T

20 de jan de 2022

I loved it

por Mestour A

18 de abr de 2022

Thank you

por DR H D

16 de abr de 2022

oo

por Asma M

8 de mar de 2022

V

por Sandra S

19 de jan de 2022

Great course about mindfulness and motivation, how to make the best choices on a daily basis, how autonomy, relatedness and competence affect basic psychological needs, well-being and successful relationship building. Thanks for the course!

por CYRIL E

30 de abr de 2022

How to reset deadlines? I want to finish my course please help. thank you