Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness da instituição Universidade de Rochester

4.8
estrelas
392 classificações
145 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Melhores avaliações

MA

3 de fev de 2022

My very first online course and I never expected that this would be of high quality teaching. The professor knows very well what he is talking about and can clearly convey the idea of SDT. Splendid!

AZ

19 de dez de 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 148 Avaliações para o Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

por Kristoffher H T

25 de dez de 2021

Taking this course was a learning experience for me. Lectures were done in simple terms and it helped me mentally.

por Brenda

22 de out de 2021

It's really interesting and insightful.

Somehow, I get to better understand the workings of the human world.

por Sammar M S

21 de jan de 2021

It was very interesting, and the teacher was excellent and kept me always looking forward to learning more.

por Thomas N

20 de nov de 2021

Interesting subject matter. A bit redundant in places. Could have been done is less time.

por kunjal m

24 de out de 2021

Arduous course but highly fulfilling , loved to complete it,learnt a lot, THANK YOU

por Andrei S

31 de ago de 2021

Very interesting and transformative course while the teacher is absolutely amazing!

por Adam B

18 de fev de 2021

This course should change the way you look at almost everything. It has for me.

por Mark S

10 de out de 2020

Absolutely outstanding. The best course of its type that I have ever done.

por Eddie C

8 de out de 2020

This course is a great introduction to SDT, highly recommended!

por Lindsey W

5 de dez de 2020

Learned quite a bit about this theory and more...

por Tatiana K

28 de fev de 2021

Very powerful theory for MarCom top managers.

por Алена Г

13 de out de 2020

Very insightful course, highly recommend!

por Aaryn F

27 de mar de 2021

Wonderful course. Genuinely eye-opening.

por Jorge A C J

29 de ago de 2021

Learned a lot of neat stuff.

por Miroslav Z

8 de jun de 2021

Excellent course

por Inge H

23 de dez de 2020

Great course!

por Regina U

24 de out de 2020

EXCELENTE!

por Peggy B

7 de jul de 2020

This class doesn't grade my quizs so I don't know how I'm doing. I'm doing the free class but all the other free classes I've taken give me the result of my tests so I know if I'm doing ok or not.

Forums suggest that even people who have paid for classes can't get the tests unlocked.

The class itself is very good, I just don't know how I'm doing with it.

por Jeannette F

3 de mar de 2021

The amount of studies shared to demonstrate SDTs value was impressive. Overall, the content held my interest and the presentation was very well done. I wish there would have been more examples for how to provide autonomy support and nurture the competency and relatedness components — especially for one's self.

por M. B

24 de jan de 2021

Well presented but print narrative is full of typos and wrong info. Why has this not been remedied?

por Robert H

31 de jan de 2021

Good content, broad range of examples, hard to follow Prof. Ryan as a non-native speaker

por Neo A

12 de jul de 2019

Worth it.

por Jane V

15 de mar de 2021

I love the theory about it. But I have not enough money to do the paid course. Demotivation about the not completing the week. I did week 1 and 2, but now I can't see the quiz of 2 anymore. It is sad but I will stop. I hope it will be better someday.

por Silviu U

7 de abr de 2021

The understanding of the course was a bit complicated and the introductions of to many studies. Furthermore the test were too complicated.

por Richard S

9 de out de 2020

I absolutely loved the course and would like to have finished it.

Biggest problem- you can't take the tests if you are auditing- or at least submit them. And, because you didn't submit them, the course doesn't think you have completed the module. It essentially kicked me out.

Unfortunately, I had work that kept me away for a week when I was on the last module. The system had me re-enroll in a new course because my group had moved on. All fine. Then it would not let me start back where I left off even though it still showed me as completing those modules. The problem was that I did not pay for the quizzes- I'm auditing the course.

Which also pissed me off because Each time I did the quizzes and came to that button where it would not let me submit my answers- well, aggravating. They should tell you in advance so you don't waste your time. The quizzes are hard and I still went through them but didn't bother to mark answers after a while.

So now I'm unable to advance to the last module where I left off, effectively ending the course for me.

And, add to that, even though the Coursera claims to have a chat function- there are no phone numbers or email addresses you can use to contact as a student-the place where they tell you to go chat with someone is just Help Articles.

So: Course Good, Coursera Bad, but-

Having taken many Coursera classes, this is the first one where I was so completely screwed. Every other class has allowed me to take the quizzes and get feedback and I've never had issues with being allowed to re-enter my course where I left off.