Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Search Engine Optimization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Search Engine Optimization da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
3,176 classificações
858 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how search engines work, how the SEO landscape has changed and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from search engines. You will also discover how to position yourself for a successful career in SEO should this subject prove interesting to you. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Aug 10, 2016

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

KS

Oct 03, 2019

I found this intro course to be more intense and simultaneously more valuable than I expected it to be. I've already gained new insight and learned techniques I can put into practice now. Brilliant.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Search Engine Optimization

por vedika j

Feb 18, 2019

An extremely well thought out and structured course. Absolutely loved all the lessons, quiz and reading material. I am motivated to continue through the rest of the courses in this specialization.

por Jessa B

Jan 29, 2018

I audited the course, so take that as you will, but:

I was diligent about watching all the videos and doing all the reading. Overall, I feel like I came away with good information and basic understanding. However, I often found the lectures a little disorganized...or perhaps mis-organized would be a better description. As a result, there was a lot of repetition of things I don't really think needed to be repeated as much. I ended up organizing my notes in a way that made more sense and had a better flow.

I think starting with the overview of SEO as a part of a larger Digital Marketing discipline was good, but should have been followed with how a search engine works, then history of search engines. Where that section ended with AdWords should have been followed by Algorithms and Updates, which could be done chronologically and then broken down into sections of "Best Practices" and "Worst Practices" since the updates and new algorithm releases either sought to eliminate worst practices or enhance the user experience (and thus falls under best practices). That could be followed by What To Do if Penalized. End the course with the focus on a career in SEO. Just my two cents.

por Richard B

Feb 28, 2019

It is a good intro for somebody like myself with no background. An entire section was dedicated to getting a job in the field which wasn't useful for me. The course is also 4 years old, and while much of the reading is new, I wish it focused more on tactics and less on the history of search (another whole section).

por jose t l

Mar 07, 2018

I really liked how the course is able to insert someone that doesn't know anything about SEO into the right path, I been searching for a course like this a lot time ago and I'm happy to found it.

por Mónica A

Dec 12, 2017

I think you should focus more in SEO basics and not so much in jobs, history and things like that.

por Michele B

Oct 29, 2017

Interesting, but too generic. Without proceeding in the following courses, this one is totally unuseful. Conversely, if you want to have a deep learning about SEO, this could be a great introduction to this wide world

por Christine K

Feb 19, 2019

Some interesting history on SEO. Too much on getting employed as an SEO professional.

por Ibrahim A K

May 02, 2019

A lot of unrelated information for an introduction in the 1st 2 modules.

por VIKAS T

May 23, 2019

Teaching Quality Is Very Low, Information is also lacked, By The Way Tutor words are not understable.

por Luke G

Oct 21, 2018

It's somewhat harder to learn information and retain it when the speaker is stumbling over their content. Additionally, there are ways to show SEO optimization in a more interactive way. I think this course could be improved with a more thoughtful look at the content.

por Christine O

Sep 06, 2017

Although informative, this course is dated... SEO courses should be updated with new information every 3 months. Additionally, this course focuses on history and career information.. but I feel the career information should come in the 4th course for this speciality. How would someone even know if they're interested in an SEO career before they've delved into it?

por Lee M B

Jul 10, 2017

Lectures are far too short, and for some reason follow the "tell them what you're going to say, say it, then tell them what you said" approach. Yeah, not necessary when the "lecture" is only 1 minute long. The course would be 10 minutes shorter if they just did lectures like every other lecturer.

Glosses over lots of stuff with little depth. You need to watch the later courses to see how to actually apply some of this stuff which makes it quite frustrating. It's like the sort of quality you get on Udemy, which is disappointing. Still, at least the course is free...

por Christine D

Apr 06, 2017

Course lacks real example and full of theory. It lacks steps of what actually needs to be done to achieve SEO.

por Roberto R

Mar 29, 2016

An evaluation is always tied to the value it provides in relation to the paid price.

On the plus side:

1) It provides an interesting historical perspective of Search Engines, their evolution and the evolution of the algorithms and their purposes.

2) Rebeka May talks slowly and clearly. The transcripts also help in reviewing the contents of each lesson.

On the minus side:

1) It is very theoretical and with no practical application.

2) Lots of terminology pops out of the blue without any prior explanation, and would be difficult to understand for a total newbie. Just as a very simple example, backlinks are mentioned several times. What is a " backlink" ?? I know what they are, but not everybody does.

3) There should be real support material, not merely " transcripts"

4) The Peer review does not make any sense. There should be a real test. The peers do not have a "higher" knowledge level to make an evaluation of the alummni.

5) It is not possible to take the quizzes unless you " upgrade" . Presently this costs $ 80.

Conclusion: it is an interesting course, but at $ 80 provides no value.Audit the course instead. UC Davies and Coursera should provide this course free of charge or with a voluntary "donation"

por Halliday H

Feb 17, 2016

As a web developer, I found that I already knew about 98% of the information presented. The final 2% I could have found faster via a Google search than by watching the lectures. It was also a little strange to me that the course began with a segment on job opportunities and how to begin a career in SEO. I feel this would have made more sense after an introduction to the material.

I also did not like that the free version of the course did not allow you to complete any of the assignments, as this has not been the case in my other Coursera courses. Not only were you unable to assess your comprehension of the material because of this, but also it meant receiving annoying emails and notifications that I had not completed the module. In other classes I have taken, there are additional resources and content for the paid users. As it stands, I'm really glad I did not pay for this class.

I will continue to the next SEO course, because I'm hoping that it will delve more into the technical aspects of optimization, but I am not pleased with the format so far.

por Laura T d M C

Mar 28, 2019

Please review the transcriptions, there are mistakes.

por Christophe V N T

Jun 21, 2019

Chapter 1 & 2 are mainly dedicated for SEO careers.

Chapter 3 is only a description of Google SEO updates.

Chapter 4 is just a wrap-up video

Very disappointed by the content of this course

por Elean M

Oct 08, 2018

The first course in this specialize should really be called "a history of SEO." Only the week 4 material had the material that you are seeking to learn about.

por Brooke L

Sep 17, 2017

Outdated links and content.

por Alessio T

Sep 26, 2016

It provides a broad overview, but materials are not very refined and the course does not provide a good structured approach to the subject. At least it did not for me, leaving me wondering as to what next steps could be if I wanted to explore further.

por alex g m

May 19, 2016

after watching so many videos like "how i got started on seo" "how to find a job as seo" "how to answer in an interview for SEO jobs" I've realized this course really needs to focus on what people wants to hear. We want to learn SEO not how someone got started on seo!

por Kumar D

Feb 13, 2016

Unfortunately, this wasn't what I expected from the course. Maybe since I didn't take specialization but I feel that this course was too theoretical. I understand the history of SEO but I'm not confident how useful it'll be in real-life/commercial sense.

por Mouad R

Dec 04, 2018

Great work

por Andrei F C

Dec 19, 2018

I was overwhelmed with the detailed introduction to the SEO field, market, job and history. I feel much more comfortable now and even discovered new resources for researching and learning. Awesome!

por Bhupinder S G

Dec 19, 2018

Great to be part of this course.............................................................................................................................

Thanks for helping me so much