Chevron Left
Voltar para O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.8
estrelas
3,448 classificações
993 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna

por Emily S

Nov 06, 2015

So far, I'm having a lot of fun - and writing proper essay assignments is proving to be something I've missed terribly since being in school/college etc!

I'm really enjoying everything about this course!

It's set out beautifully, there's a brilliant tutor and it's just fantastic!

por Jonas K

Nov 22, 2019

Very interesting course to get an overview about the original ideas of Buddhism and put them in a context of modern science. The course is well structured and I really enjoyed watching the lectures and to go into a deeper reflection about some of the ideas in the assignments.

por Rana E

Jun 14, 2017

Very interesting, informative and stimulating course. Dr Wright is a pleasure to listen to; he is enthusiastic about the topic and has a fantastic sense of humor. I appreciate the time he put in this course and in the office hours answering students questions. Chapeau bas!

por María J P C

Feb 13, 2020

Excelente curso, sin necesidad de comprender la psicología moderna es una buena manera de comprender el buddhismo, la psicología y la meditación. El profesor cuenta con invitados y material de excelente calidad. Definitivamente uno de los mejores cursos que e tomado.

por Germano G d F

Jun 27, 2017

This was my first course on either Buddhism and Psychology. I really enjoyed it. The lecturer does a great job and the division of the lessons was perfect. I also enjoyed the "office hours", where the lecturer was more free to express his opinions in an informal way.

por Maya K

May 21, 2017

Such an insightful course, thoroughly enjoyed every single lecture and writing the essays. Such an interesting topic, and really clear information. Robert Wright is a really engaging lecturer, absolutely loved it! I've encouraged lots of my friends to take the course

por Luz A R M

Oct 17, 2016

It was a very good and well organized course, that gave me extensive information about Buddhism that was the reason to choose it. Modern psychology information nicely complements the Buddhist theme. The given literature invites me to continue deepen the topic.

por Joy S

Jan 04, 2018

Really enjoyed the juxtaposition of Buddhism with side-by-side comparisons to its equivalents in modern thought. Found it helpful, thought-provoking. It enhanced my understanding of both disciplines. I like mixed-discipline classes and this was one of the best.

por Priya H

Aug 24, 2018

Really loved the lectures and short video conversations that the professor presented. A great balance of relatable, understandable with just a few advanced concepts to keep you interested and know that there's much more to learn. Thanks for this course offering!

por Elena W

Jul 30, 2016

Excellent! I thoroughly enjoyed the professor's explanations and all the guest speakers he invited to give their input. He is very dedicated and answered many questions in his office hours, with humor and genuine care. Also, Frasier and Milo are impossibly cute.

por Ruchi V

Jun 15, 2019

A well structured, conceptually rich, and intellectually fulfilling course for all students of psychology, as well as for those who wish to delve into the questions of where modern psychology and religion (In this case, Buddhism) stand relative to each other.

por michael w w

Jun 12, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, with the detail on how evolutionary psychology supports Buddhist ideas. Prof. Robert Wright is engaging, and the practical observations provided by Fraser and Milo are noteworthy. I highly recommend this thought provoking course.

por Marcelo B

Dec 14, 2015

This course presents an introduction to the Buddhist teachings and an analysis of these teachings from a perspective of modern psychology (specially evolutionary psychology). A strong recommendation for anyone interested in better understanding our own minds.

por Yevhenii S

Oct 25, 2015

Excellent course for those who try to understand eastern philosophy from rational point of view. Also explains more clearly the effects of meditation and why it worth to try. This course shows that there is nothing mysterious or supernatural in this practice.

por guy k

Nov 22, 2017

I'm extremely interested in the subject, I love both psychology and buddhism and a lot of the view offered in this course I hold as my own. Robert does a good job at explaining everything but in this case, I think the best way to learn is hands on experience

por Scott M

Oct 08, 2017

A wonderful journey into Buddhist psychology through the lens of author Robert Wright. Leans heavily on evolutionary psychology, as that has been the angle of many of Wright's books. It has deepened my interest in the intersection of Buddhism and Psychology.

por Lauren C

May 14, 2017

Loved this class. First online course I ever saw through until the end. Informative (interesting lectures and readings), fun (informal office hours videos w/the Professor and his dogs) and applicable to everyday life (learning about meditation benefits).

por Hyunsuh K

Jan 30, 2019

Very interesting, critical, and has a lot of food to chew on. On a side note, but definitely worth mentioning, Professor Wright tells hilarious humors wearing his iconic straight face, which makes the courses and office hours all the more fun to watch.

por Jordi C

Aug 06, 2016

As I followed the course my interest grew, because great questions arise, and the connections between Psychology and Buddhism are clear, an exiting discovery for me. Also, professor Wright is an excellent orator, so the lectures was clear and pleasant.

por Stephen M

Apr 30, 2018

This is a great course for both Buddhists and those with an interest in what lies behind human motivation. Dr Wright has a dry sense of humor which comes across in the lectures making them compelling viewing. I really did enjoy the course very much.

por Edna I D A

Jan 08, 2018

Excellent course, I like the way professor Wright introduce us to Buddhism and do the link to the Modern Psychology. Only beware nothing will be the same after this course, the concepts make us to think a new way how we are :). Open mind is the key.

por Shreya S

May 02, 2017

This was a phenomenal course. It was very well planned out and enabled me to acquire a deep understanding of the important concepts. The assignments given helped to crystallize my own analysis of Buddhism and its relationship with modern psychology.

por Elsa A

Jan 25, 2017

Great information and really learned so much. Thank you for teaching this course. I really enjoyed learning this information. I will be revisiting some modules again for a refresher or go through it again since there was so much to learn. Thank you.

por David R

Jan 10, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. The subject matter was very thought provoking or perhaps it better said that it was thought managing. Great presentation by the professor and the obvious interest that he has in the course himself came across very well.

por Eser L

Mar 28, 2016

It is an amazing insight, although intellectually :) , and gives one the idea on what buddhism really is about. Telling the story parallel to findings of modern psychology is also a great approach. Well prepared, well told. Respect and gratitude. :)