Chevron Left
Voltar para O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.8
estrelas
3,468 classificações
1,000 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna

por HUANG Y

Dec 12, 2016

This course lends scientific support to Buddha's views about human mind, self, meditation, and builds a helpful connection between Buddhism and evolutionary psychology. It expands my knowledge of both Buddhism and psychology. Thanks to Mr Wright's efforts in preparing and sharing this course around the world and his great insights and teaching.

por Doug F

Jan 11, 2018

Excellent course, I learned a lot about Buddhism and evolutionary psychology. The lectures were informative and entertaining. The course was well targeted to people like me, who are starting with a very limited knowledge of Buddhism. And yet we got into more advanced topics as well. Good use of short video interviews with experts in the field.

por Ashish K

Jan 10, 2018

This course was an eye-opener. The professor, in addition to being humble, has a great sense of humor. That makes digesting the concepts that much more easier. The Lessons are designed in consumable chunks. Don't miss the office hours as they are the most fun.

If you are serious about improving your life, take this course feel the difference!

por Juan D G M

Nov 24, 2015

Excellent course, easy to follow, very interesting. The videos are short enough to make a little progress every day or every now and then, without having to dedicate hours to one session. This course really helped me get interested in Buddhism, confirmed many thoughts I already had on meditation and made me discover new sides to it as well.

por Maura M

Feb 23, 2018

Very enjoyable and interesting course. The course was mentioned in Dr. Wright's book,

“Why Buddhism is True: The Science and Philosophy of Meditation and Enlightenment”, and am glad I signed up for it. The interviews in the course videos were very useful, as were the readings and Dr. Wright's commentaries. I highly recommend the course.

por Susanne W

Feb 23, 2019

An intriguing and interesting look at the parallels between modern evolutionary theory of the mind and Buddhist concepts from thousands of years ago. Dr. Wright is knowledgeable, entertaining and provides valuable insight and examples to enforce the concepts of the course. Truly a delightful, thought-provoking look at the human mind.

por Richie P

Nov 20, 2019

This is a wonderful course that takes on the grand philosophy of Buddhism through mostly an evolutionary psychology lens. It covers several principles of Buddhism at relatively quick pace yet thorough in the time frame. I would recommend some basic information about psychology and Buddhism to really be able to thrive in this course.

por Fabio N

Apr 05, 2016

Great overview of Buddhist philosophy and recent psychology research. Professor Wright invites several religious and academic figures to draw paralallels between the two in a very investigative, and curious way.

I recommend watching all the interviews and taking detailed notes as they are particulary useful in doing the assignments.

por Adam S C

Jul 15, 2016

Illuminating very interesting connections between modern psychology and the philosophy of buddhism. The essentialist interpretation the buddhist concept of emptiness was novel to me.

Very lucid and pedagogical lecturer. Sometimes it was a bit repetitive and slow, but since one can watch in 1.5x speed it didn't really bother me.

por Anabela C

Jul 22, 2019

It is an excellent course, where not only concepts are learned but it leads you to think in a different way, to see things differently and you learn in each video, in each work. It is very well organized and Professor Robert Wright is perfect to lead the course. Thank you very much to everyone who made this course possible!

por Deborah B

Sep 03, 2017

Wonderfully constructed, engaging course. Loved the length of each lecture, the added videos with experts in each field, and resources. Instructions for essays and peer review were clear and easy to use. Questions for the essays were thought provoking and helped consolidate provided course material. THANKS! I learned a lot!

por Erich C

Dec 17, 2016

Awesome course given by a very charismatic instructor, with the curious participation of his 2 furred sidekicks. The contents of this course are very useful for our everyday life, by helping us increase our awareness of mental processess. Also very useful for people who are willing to start meditating and improving welfare.

por Megha W H

Nov 14, 2016

This course has been a learning process that has strengthened myself / non- self, and I have understood the workings of my Modular mind, so now I'm taking full charge over it and with the help of mindfulness meditation, I'm already experiencing success. Thank you Prof. Robert wright and all the participating Professionals.

por Juergen B

Jun 03, 2019

Brilliantly presented. I am in no way spiritual and love the scientic evidence presented. This course has brought spirituality closer to me. There are a lot of questions science raises and combining two so seemingly different camps as Buddhist spirituality with "hard" science offers new answers or at least new viewpoints.

por p.manicka s

May 01, 2017

This is a fantastic course for anyone interested in Buddhism and gives an entirely different perspective on anatta and sunyata. Dr.Wright has taken lot of pain and the course material (audio, video, text, web links) is excellent. The mentors in the forum are very good and did a wonderful job in moderating the discussions.

por TRUDY D

Jun 04, 2018

The course on Buddhism and Modern Psychology was most interesting. I have been able to apply the knowledge gained in this course and incorporate it into my everyday life.

I believe that anyone even slightly interested in either Buddhism and/or Modern Psychology would find this course to be very valuable and enlightening.

por Thomas J S

Nov 12, 2017

Great course. I'm very thankful to Prof. Wright and all those who made this course possible. I learned a lot and clarified many things I have been thinking about for years. I enjoyed the books required for the course and have welcomed them into my library. I'm impressed with Prof. Wright as a teacher and an author.

por Jessica B

Feb 05, 2016

Excellent class! Thorough and humorous. The lectures and discussions included are very well explained, making difficult concepts easier to grasp. It also provides several jumping off points if you want to dive further into this combined subject of Buddhism and Modern Psychology! I look forward to exploring it further.

por G S

Dec 17, 2015

Very interesting course! Easy to follow without any background. I really loved it!!! I would recommend it to everyone who is interested in psychology, neuroscience, personal development, human evolution or religion studies. I also want to thank all people who participated in making this course, you did a great job! :)

por Karim L

Jan 09, 2018

I found this course very interesting and useful for any person interested to understand human mind and behavior. And specially for those that believe that Buddhism is a wise philosophy that can not only help us to reduce our own suffering, but that can help us being better people and do the less harm to other beings.

por Maryam S

Oct 30, 2016

Auditing this course helped me develop a scientific view point based on principals of evolutionary psychology and enriched my understanding of Buddhist philosophy. And, I should add that taking this course helped me find my next academic challenge, which is pushing a masters in psychology. Thank you professor Wright.

por Julian S

Feb 10, 2016

An amazing course for those looking to understand themselves, the world, and social interactions. This course is scientifically grounded, using the results of numerous studies to examine the human intellect and it's biases, and includes talks with various world-renowned Buddhist meditators and psychology researchers.

por FS

Jun 24, 2016

Quite interesting way of analizyng buddhism and psychology. They are definitely closer to each other than I thought. The professor is clear and in love with the subject, which is a good thing, as it's infectious: you'll start to love the lessons and devour the lectures. I'm planning on taking this course again soon.

por Tim S

Mar 04, 2017

Excellent course, recommended for less spiritual people. Specifically the link with evolutionary psychology gives this course a more scientific approach. The non-prescriptive rationale help people to see the why, before the what. One may eventually join, or in my case partially join, the buddhist view of the world.

por Rodrigo

Dec 20, 2015

Great course, so far. The way the connection between Buddhism, evolution and psychology is taught is VERY clear, concise and logic. I am a mathematician, who studies buddhism and loves psychology also, and have never seen an explanation so clear and connected to our culture like in this course. Awesome initiative!