Chevron Left
Voltar para O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.8
estrelas
3,448 classificações
993 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o O Budismo e a Pscicologia Moderna

por Hallvard V

Jan 15, 2020

Nice course, but my craving towards a certificate get me in a suffering state of being. Therefore I now have to do a lot of meditation to not identify and cling to the course and "no-certificatism".

por Lina N

Sep 08, 2019

Me ha abierto la perspectiva de felicidad en mi vida desde un punto de vista racional y espiritual, entender los mecanismos que he usado para ello y entenderme como consecuencia de una evolución.

por Amanda S

Feb 08, 2018

Acquired huge amounts of insight from this course and enjoyed reading the various perspectives when marking papers in the peer marked assessments. Thank you for providing such a wonderful course!

por Sudha R

Jun 10, 2019

I find this course greatly stimulating and has helped me gain personally. Thank you Coursera for this unique opportunity. I took this course to just motivate some body else found it good for me.

por Jun W

Dec 16, 2015

Although I do not have time to finish my assignments, I'd like to say: Your series of lectures have changed the way I look at life. Thank you, Robert and your inspiring dogs, Frasier and Milo.

por William G H

Nov 10, 2015

Dr. Wright did a excellent job in presenting the material in a manner that was both informative and highly engaging. His unique take on office hours is the best I've ever seen. Great course...

por Nigus G

Mar 27, 2020

Taking this course was a profound experience. It's one of the best learning experiences that I've had. Richard Wright is a brilliant man and his teaching is incredible. I would 100% reccomend

por Constance L

Mar 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and got a lot of useful information out of it. Much 'food for thought' as well as fun dinner conversation. I also found it to be very useful in my personal life.

por Maxim K

Dec 28, 2015

Very nice course indeed, aimed at development of understanding of connections existing between Buddhism and Psychology. Robert Wright teaches online as I would expect it to be done in-person.

por Aleks J

Feb 09, 2016

Enlightening confluence of evolutionary psychology and Buddhism. I found it particularly helpfully in going further with my meditations and having a deeper understanding of the way it works.

por Gabriela M

Nov 07, 2015

Incredible course, the Professor is an amazing speaker and the interviews with specialists provided awesome insights. This is the kind of course that can really affect your outlook on life.

por Nealyn R

Mar 08, 2017

Very good 1st course. At a time when I wanted to make sense of my life, this is a good course to take to learn on how to reflect and re-examine one's life and concepts of self and reality.

por Mercedes E M

Feb 13, 2017

I really enjoy this course and I have learned so much!!!!. Thank you to everyone for this opportunity specially to professor R. Wright for making this course so easy to follow. Thank you

por Vivian M

Mar 11, 2020

I had never heard of Robert's work before taking this course. I became very interested in his view of the work and of religions in general. I wish we had more courses taught by him here!

por Jerry S

Feb 17, 2018

I believe the topic is right on the cutting edge of western cultural evolution. Robert Wright is not only informative and insightful. He's fun! Very grateful for this course. Jerry Shoot

por Christy V

Dec 07, 2017

Enjoyed this course very much, as well as the instructor. Thank you Mr. Wright, for taking the time to put the course together for us. (Thank everyone else too, including Milo & Frasier)

por Vamshi K

Apr 01, 2016

This is simply awesome. Professor Robert Wright has combined modern psychology and evolutionary psychology with Buddhism so seamlessly and complimentar-ily. I loved the course all along.

por Dennis M

Nov 18, 2019

Wonderful introduction to the history, study, and relevance of Buddhist doctrine in the context of modern psychology. Great course to take if you're feeling particularly introspective.

por Arek S

Aug 13, 2017

Clear, succinct, articulate, grounded. More philosophy than psychology and philosophy is of street smarts brand rather than academic head in the cloud type, which is good. I recommend.

por Tony P

Oct 20, 2017

Excellent course for a person interested in naturalistic Buddhism and Psychology. Prof. Wright exposes many interesting themes in his elaborated and elegant style. Highly recommended.

por Sanath P

Mar 05, 2017

I was born in a village in Sri Lanka, surrounded by Buddhists, Buddhist Temples and Buddhist Culture. I had learnt Buddhism from my Parents, Sunday Schools in Temples, and in Schools.

por Jing Y

Jan 08, 2016

Enjoyed the comparison of buddhism and the modern psychology experiments! Chinese translation of Buddhism carries the essence in elegance, such as "苦集灭道" summarized four noble truths.

por Alejandro G P

Aug 28, 2018

Interesting and enlightening. The professor is peculiar and enjoyable. I liked him so much that I've bought one of his books "The evolution of God", totally recomendable, by the way.

por Teresa C W

Feb 10, 2019

I love this course! It is so interesting. I feel like I want to learn more about this subject. Thanks Professor Robert Right! You make complex ideas easy to understand in a fun way.

por Emine N

Jun 24, 2017

Robert Wright is amazing, down to earth and blows your mind. I will not give any spoilers but this is a course with a twist and it will change the way you look at the world forever.