Chevron Left
Voltar para Science of Exercise

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Science of Exercise da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.8
estrelas
4,246 classificações

Sobre o curso

Learners who complete Science of Exercise will have an improved physiological understanding of how your body responds to exercise, and will be able to identify behaviors, choices, and environments that impact your health and training. You will explore a number of significant adjustments required by your body in order to properly respond to the physical stress of exercise, including changes in carbohydrate, fat and protein metabolism, nutritional considerations, causes of muscle soreness & fatigue, and the effectiveness and dangers of performance enhancing drugs. Active learning assessments will challenge you to apply this new knowledge via nutrition logs, heart rate monitoring, calculations of your total daily caloric expenditure and body mass index (BMI). Finally, learners will examine the scientific evidence for the health benefits of exercise including the prevention and treatment of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, obesity (weight loss), depression, and dementia....

Melhores avaliações

BO

3 de out de 2020

An exceptionally great course. I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks to the organizers for making these as easy and simple as possible. Now I can live a more healthy lifestyle with the principles learned!

MB

11 de set de 2020

It is a very great course. This course taught me many great things about the human body like how the body responses to exercise and nutrition. What, when, how we should do exercise and take nutrition.

Filtrar por:

1251 — 1275 de 1,405 Avaliações para o Science of Exercise

por Varun M

18 de abr de 2020

This was a very thorough course and allows someone with zero understanding to gain knowledge into the world of exercise. What needs for this to receive a 5 star? course is called science of exercise- perhaps a full module dedicated to different kinds of exercise and their effects on body and a deep dive in rep ranges and how to maximize muscle growth or fat loss instead of 7 min video. Thank you prof- your explanations were straight forward.

por Y C

18 de nov de 2022

This course is definitely one of the authoritative ones in terms of its content. The scientific explanation and study of research papers could be a bit overwhelming for the general audience though. Since it has been few years this course was introduced on Coursera, it would be a good idea if latest scientific/ research updates relevant to the course could be added to the course at the end to keep it current and most up to date.

por Salaam A

12 de mai de 2020

An excellent course that truly reveals the biochemical and physiological mechanisms and adaptations your body goes through when training. In addition you learn about the role of the cardiovascular, respiratory and endocrine systems in supporting the body’s response and adaptations due to exercise. Finally it discusses the various health benefits of exercise and dangers of using performance enhancers.

por Alejandra I R C

25 de jun de 2020

This was a really good course, but the majority of videos are in english with no subtitles in spanish and that makes a little bot hard to understand the part of fisiology. On the other hand maybe it would be easier if you have some kwnoledge in medicine. It was very interesting I really like the part that explain all the benefits that exercise have in our body and its influence in so many diseases.

por Michael P

15 de jul de 2020

The description for the course says "Beginner" but this is DEFINITELY not beginner material (it is much more advanced). It also says course length is 10 hours. NOT if you have to write the essay at the end, it can be much longer. But the course is packed with higher level concepts and facts! Great course if you really want to understand exercise, physiology, health, etc., on a higher level.

por Aisling F

20 de ago de 2020

I enjoyed this course. It was much more comprehensive and well designed than previous courses I have followed pertaining to exercise science. I really liked how there were questions asked throughout the videos that helped monitor your understanding of the content and this was good for prompting me to revise a lecture efficiently if I felt unprepared to answer the questions.

por Jasmin P

17 de jul de 2020

This course is highly informative, but in my opinion, too many irrelevant statistics were presented which you forget very fast. Also, I didn't like the final assignment at all... 1000 words from basically just one topic from the whole course. That is too much for someone who is not proficient in this field. Other than that it was very good, and I learnt a lot.

por Jonathan G

22 de jan de 2018

fascinating course. I learned a lot! Although, it would've been more fulfilling if they talked about exercise programs for different of body types i.e. meso-ectomorphic and so on. Such body types need more military style, "boot camp" exercises where the entire body has to work all at once and the body is seen as one big muscle. Just saying.

por Yael S

14 de jul de 2020

I believe this course was very good and I did learn a lot. However, I did have to search for some terms and explanations in other sites because you definitely had to have some previous knowledge to fully understand. If you haven't taken some sort of biology class or something of the sort, I would recommend searching for an easier course.

por Jack H

17 de ago de 2020

I enjoyed this course! I took it to learn more about my body as I am a high-level athlete and I definitely learned a lot about the more subtle features to performance. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in sports, exercise, and biology. The videos could have been more engaging but they were very informative.

por Lok T T

7 de fev de 2021

Overall, gained a lot of knowledge on the science of exercise and everything's good.

just that now i'll need to upgrade and pay so that i could access to the exercises and quiz. Recommendation would be the upgrade only for the certs instead but without the payment, we can still access to the quizes and assignment.

por Carol F

5 de abr de 2020

Course was very good! Interesting lectures and reading. The peer assessment was a bit frustrating. Information that was clearly included in the assignment was missed by peers resulting in lower grades and need to resubmit. Need to add an additional reviewer from the university to balance peer assessment.

por Victorio A C D

12 de jan de 2023

BUENAS NOCHES , NO SE SI ESTE MEDIO ES EL ADECUADO QUISIERA SABER SI EXISTE LA POSIBILIDAD DE TENER UN DESCUENTO PARA CONTAR CON UN CERTIFICADO DE " LA CIENCIA DEL EJERCICIO" CONSIDERO TERMINARLO EL DIA SABADO, Y UNA DUDA SI FUERA POSIBLE TAL DESCUENTO EN CUANTO TIEMPO PUEDO CONTAR CON DICHO CERTIFICADO

por Alexandros S

5 de out de 2020

In reality, deep in my heart, the course should be 5-star rated from everyone who loves this subject. I would like to travel through this course with more of the Nutritional world except food metabolism added. Four stars, also remember 5 stars are not enough for this course. Congrats to Robert Mazzeo!

por Vaibhav G

30 de abr de 2018

The course content was excellent. Only improvement would be, the language was too technical to follow, and was a bit dry at times, even though this course was in the area of my interest, I found the videos a bit boring at times.

Also, the last few videos about aging, cancer etc were less relevant.

por Saibrata P

14 de ago de 2021

It was indeed a great experience to be a part of such a well laid out programme. It helped me gain the fundamental aspects of the science behind physical trainings and exercise and also helped me understand the science that needs to be applied for a healthier lifestyle.

por Durvankur P

15 de nov de 2017

It was a thorough explanation of all the aspects of exercise. Being an endurance athlete, I was able to incorporate most of the concepts taught in this course. It has helped me immensely in better understanding the nuances of sports, body and overall aspects of health.

por Giulia C

26 de mar de 2020

Thank you for this amazing course! It has been very useful and pleasant. I could understand better some dynamics "behind the scenes" of a training program and I learned how being active an affect our health and fitness for real, I don't have to "trust" blindly anymore!

por Dipesh K T

16 de jul de 2020

Concepts of how bodily functions are improved by regular physical training, importance of exercise to maintain good health and prevent diseases and several other related ideas were discussed with help of various studies, data and figures.

por Brenda I B Z

14 de jun de 2020

It is a very very good course that enriches knowledge but the only issue is that sometimes there are people enrolled in the course that has not a real interest and when they check the assignments, they are not objective and serious.

por Benjamin B

15 de jun de 2020

Course was very informative taught by a professor who knew a great amount of knowledge on the topic! The only criticism I have on the course is some modules moved very quickly with little explanation, but overall very good course!

por Mandy M

24 de fev de 2021

A great overview of exercise science, the physiological principles and training adaptations that occur. As a sports coach and someone personally interested in how to look after my body during exercise I found it very helpful.

por Marvin A

1 de jun de 2020

Muy buena información ideal y adecuada para construir un aprendizaje tecnico nuevo, con herramientas brindadas a los largo de los modulos para para la fácil interpretación y adquisición de un gran conocimiento Mente-Cuerpo

por Julien H

31 de mai de 2020

Very good course in overall.

From my knowledge and willing to develop: some of the concepts on the biology were not easy to understand, and in the more technical training techniques I would have like to go more into details

por L. C

27 de mai de 2020

Very interesting course and well presented in distinct modules. While some of the science was a little over my head, it all came together in the end and will be useful in my own personal training. Thank you!