Chevron Left
Voltar para Schizophrenia

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Schizophrenia da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.8
estrelas
1,641 classificações
385 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The main goal of this class is to gain an introductory exposure to the nature of the psychiatric disorder known as schizophrenia as revealed by the scientific method. We will discuss a broad range of findings from the scientific investigation of biological and psychological factors related to schizophrenia and its treatment. More specifically we will learn about: (1) key symptomatic features through discussion and enactments of interviews with actors portraying many of the cardinal features of the illness, (2) what brain imaging studies (MRI and fMRI) and neurochemistry have taught us about the neuroscience of the disorder, (3) scientific psychological data and theories concerning cognition, emotion and behavior in schizophrenia, and (4) current, evidence-based somatic and psychosocial approaches to treatment. A brief historical overview of the recent emergence of the psychiatric category of schizophrenia will be presented as well....

Melhores avaliações

EA

5 de mai de 2021

Given information is very clear and easy to understand.\n\nI really appreciate that it is just the most important parts and not the whole science or odd information.\n\nThank you, I learned so much.

AZ

7 de abr de 2021

hank you for this course. I get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 392 Avaliações para o Schizophrenia

por Caro G

6 de jun de 2021

This course is so interesting! I loved it. The professor explains very clearly and also, he repeats a lot, which is really good to memorize. I loved every week, and it was really fun to study for the final test. I recommend to study every week and you will eventually memorize everything, because it's so interesting!

por ΧΡΥΣΟΥΛΑ Κ

30 de nov de 2020

Great course if one is interested in learning about Schizophrenia. The proffesor was understandable, use pictures and examples to help us understand better, the symptoms and expression of them in patients with Schizophrenia. I recommend this course to anyone who works/studies in health and mental health departments.

por bahia l

11 de jun de 2018

It is a very interesting course. Professor goes deeply in the subject and gives details.The course is really a package that contains all what is related to schizophrenia. The modules are organized in a logic manner and the chapters as well.Professor Kurz teaches with all his senses. He transmits knowledge with love.

por Tsering D

27 de out de 2019

It was very informative and very useful for me to understand about the schizophrenia clients. It will also help me to be more clear to take action on bases of needs. Special thanks to Dr Matt Kurtz for making the lecture simple and easy to understand. Thank you to everyone who has been doing this great job.

por Beatriz C

17 de dez de 2021

I learned a lot about the neuroscientific part of schizophrenia, how to differentiate the symptoms, the types of exams, the history of schizophrenia, case studies. This course was essential to understand, in addition to what I see in the psychology course, I am grateful for the opportunity !! I recommend

por ESCASA D B J

20 de dez de 2020

This is an insightful course that helps me know about this particular mental disorder and how certain symptoms overlaps with similar disorders. I love how this course shows the origins of this certain category of mental disorders in the Psychological, Neurological, and Historical perspective.

por Jasmine H

29 de jan de 2021

Very informative. I really loved it. It's really insightful. I realised my understanding of schizophrenia was actually quite 2D but now I realise the multilayered and multifaceted nature of the mental illness. There's still so much more to learn that I don't know and that no one knows...

por Beatriz d N W

20 de jun de 2019

I sincerely enjoyed this course. It has helped me to understand the illness and learn about it , so with some knowledge and understanding I feel better equipped to contribute to ameliorate their situation in the society.

I like to thank professor Matts Kurtz and the staff for the course.

por Cynthia H

30 de jan de 2022

I very much enjoyed this course. I enjoyed learning detailed information about the brain regions and neurotransmitters involved in schizophrenia and the social and cognitive impacts. The history of diagnosing and treating schizophrenia was also very interesting. Overall, great course!

por Omama K

22 de jun de 2020

The course covers all the major and significant areas associated with Schizophrenia. The instructors, especially, is very clear in conveying the ideas and concepts. He also conveys at an appropriate pace so that the listener has enough time to understand and absorb the concepts.

por Jan H

5 de mar de 2018

Very nice course on schizophrenia. I would especially recommend this course to medical students interested in the topic, as, in contrast to medschool, you get good overview over evidence based psychological and social interventions, instead of talking only about antipychotics.

por micah i

27 de abr de 2022

this is a really great course!!!!! The instructor makes things very clear to understand and I was only a tad bit lost on more specific neuroscience of the brain since I haven't learned much of that yet but I still got the main concepts. I suggest this greatly /gen (* >‿6*) b

por Jenniffer V M

14 de set de 2020

Eu gostei bastante do curso pois da uma visão bem geral de como é esse transtorno e de como podemos ajudar as pessoas que sofrem com isso. Também é muito bom aprender quais as diferentes maneiras que a esquizofrenia afeta o ser humano. Obrigada por esse curso super didático!

por Jose F d G F

8 de jul de 2020

I appreciated the presentation of a historical context to diagnosis and treatment of schizophrenia which also made certain to cover the biological, psychological, and social factors involved as well as the different theories and treatments along with the bases for these.

por Rebecca C

2 de abr de 2020

This helped broaden my understanding of how to work with patients that experience both positive and negative symptoms of schizophrenia. This is a topic that I feel usually gets brushed over in ab psych and an important topic for providers working in inpatient psych.

por elnaz a

25 de mai de 2020

It’s been exciting and informative course that I really need to learn to improve my skills and treatment for some patients who i had especially with negative symptoms, now I’m more excited about my future as a PHD student which i want to apply, thank you professor.

por Linda

22 de jul de 2020

Very interesting course until the end. Realistic view into four patient casuses (actors). Very clear course. Not so many enumerations of theories but very practical and informative. There is a lot of variation. Not boring at all.

Thank you very much Professor Kurz.

por Alvin J J

24 de mai de 2020

One of the best lecture on Schizophrenia, Will apply the knowledge to treat my patients better. Thanks, Dr Matt Kurtz, and Coursera for the opportunity to learn. I believe this course can help me to treat my patients better and ease their life.

-Dr Alvin (India)

por Edvinas S

16 de nov de 2021

Excellent course! Very well prepared and presented. It helped me to understand myself better and helped me to understand the thoughts and behaviours of other people better. Highly recommended for everyone who is interested in mind sciences. Thank you very much!

por Ankit B

9 de mar de 2020

Being taught my ideal professor is the best thing I can ever have. I learnt why brain, despite all of its complexities, is beautiful and worthy topic of scientific exploration. My interest in neuropsychology has increased many folds after doing this course.

por Gulay M

26 de dez de 2020

I am so grateful for this course. Special thanks to Dr.Matt Kurtz and Wesleyan University. Very productive material for students who intend to become a psychiatrist. I hope I will be able to become such a professional psyciatrist like Dr.Kurtz. Thanks!

por Arundhati K

4 de ago de 2020

the course instructor had wonderfully guided us through the course, explaining very sincerely the problems of being a schizophrenic. this course is wonderful experience for people who want to develop a further knowledge over the disorder schizophrenia.

por Meliza G D A

2 de nov de 2020

I am glad I enrolled in this course. As a psychology student, it helps me understand about Schizophrenia more. Not just it's diagnosis but also the biological, social and cognitive aspects of people with Schizophrenia. This is definitely helpful in me

por Marium F

16 de ago de 2021

I am an undergraduate psychology student who recently learnt more about schizophrenia as a disorder. This course has provided me with more knowledge than I could have asked or hoped for. Very informative, beautifully articulated and easy to complete.

por Camila A S O

15 de ago de 2021

It was really interesting to learn about this illness.

Hopefully in the future there will be more tools for practitioners and people who suffer from this illness to improve their lives and to prevent from suicide.

Thank you very much for this course