Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Satellite Communications

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Satellite Communications da instituição Instituto Mines-Télécom

4.5
286 classificações
102 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How is a satellite built? How do they fly? How do they communicate and how does the network operate? You will get all the answers in this course from teachers and researchers from three schools associated with Institut Mines-Télécom. The course is made of : teaching videos, equipment demonstrations and simulation programs. They will guide you through the discovery of satellite communications. Professionals in the space field will share there vocation for this scientific and technical sector. Have you ever wanted to know more about transponders, the geostationary orbit, QPSK modulation, channel coding, link budget, TCP over large bandwdith x delay product links ? This course is for you! This course is available in English: French-speaking lecturers with English subtitles and fully translated contents (slides, practices). This MOOC is supported by the Patrick and Lina Drahi Foundation....

Melhores avaliações

SD

Jun 03, 2017

Ultimate course ... it will help you to clear your basic level concept in satcom. Thanks to faculty of Institute Mines-Telecom . I am looking forward this course in english language.

NG

May 03, 2017

It is an excellent course, very systematically presented. I am hard of hearing but thanks to the subtitles I managed to follow the course. Thank you for making this course available.

Filtrar por:

76 — 96 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Satellite Communications

por Mahesh K

Oct 09, 2016

It is a good course to understand Satellite communication from system engineering point of view.Course content is well arranged to address Commercial aspects of Satellite communication, Application of satellite communication for different services. It also includes expert talk which gives insight in the Satellite communication for career point of view.

por M M A

Jan 14, 2017

Great course for first level into the subject. Hope it will be offered in English next time.

por RAGHAV R

Feb 09, 2017

The course has helped me understand the role of satellite in current communication systems, be it the television, mobile telephones or even the internet, and its possible role in the future. The lectures are basically in French with English subtitles and transcript available. However, it would have been much better if the lectures were in English.

With regards to the course structure and content, a good focus on Internet through satellite was placed which is a good thing. However with regards to distribution of content, the last week had maybe too much when compared to other weeks (more than 3hrs of video, other weeks have 1hr or 2hrs). Overall, a good course for beginners who have interest in space and communication.

por Richard K

May 26, 2017

good introduction

por Ong C Y

Jan 02, 2017

It was straightforward and well structured to allow someone with no (technical) background to follow.

por sushanted

Jul 09, 2017

great

por Venkatesh N

Oct 09, 2016

The syllabus is well framed, understanding the wide audience, the format and the duration. Wish the course was in English, it would have star rating from me. Thanks!

por sruthi s s

Sep 05, 2019

It would have been amazing if we had an english audio.

por Rodrigo V S

Sep 07, 2016

I really enjoyed weeks 1 and 2. They were more business focused. Weeks 3 through 6 were super technical. All in all, it was a great primer for satellite communications. Congrats to the team!

por Ankush J

Oct 11, 2016

A nice course for beginners that include basics of communication, satellite segments and services. Please include slides when the course reruns in future and additional study resources for better understanding of concepts.

por Mitchell C

Apr 09, 2018

I think the content is appropriate. The English however is poorly written - especially the content in Week 6 and the Week 6 final Quiz. Please consider getting this properly translated. I would suggest providing PDF notes for learners - not everyone learns in the same way - and taking notes is time consuming and does not make for a positive addition to the course.

por Guillaume V

Mar 27, 2018

This is a good course if you want to learn something about space and satellites. I do not give 4 stars because the course is rather simple and not aimed at advanced learners.

por Amith k p

Feb 26, 2017

If the lecture had been in English, it would have been a lot more understandable. I had to read the subtitles to understand. It was quite good.

por Juan M

Feb 04, 2017

Some sections were rather basic, lacking insight on some topics. It may be suitable for people with incipient engineering knowledge but for the slightly trained a bit repetitive. Still, the lectures were quite entertaining and the approach taken remarkable didactic.

por Roderick R

May 09, 2017

For the most part, in particular the material covered from weeks 2 - 5 were very interesting and the questions for those sections were appropriate given the lecture material. However, I struggled with not only the material in week 6, but I was frustrated with the quizzes. IMO, the quiz of week 6 was off target as compared to the what was covered in the lectures. Which is unfortunate, since the topics discussed are the very interesting, but the questions of the quiz were too subjective and quiz question not discussed at any length in the lectures. For example, I failed to see how the correct answers are for questions WQ6-1, WQ6-4 and especially WQ6-10. Pertaining to WQ6-10, I realize MPE protocol is extremely inefficient, but I would like to see how the lecturer calculated the OH %.

por Martin N S

Nov 12, 2018

Some concepts are a bit complex and are explained briefly or too fast creating a bit of confusion. An in all the course is interesting for a general understanding and introduction to this topic.

por Adam R

Oct 11, 2018

Really enjoyed this course BUT.

Would have been better if the slides (i.e. the text and graphics behind the speaker) were available seperately.

Trying to watch the subtitles at same time as trying to look at slides was very hard.

por Edgar E

Jun 23, 2019

Too technical. Not enough examples to practice formulas

por Tomás A C R

Sep 08, 2019

The course was basic and the questions too. I expected a more technical approach. Maybe more home tasks and more hands-on labs with Matlab/Octave exercises. There were a couple of very short videos and the credits of the university took half of the play time.

por Ian F

Jan 15, 2019

While I found the course a good basic introduction to earlier generation satellite technologies I experience a number of issues with the delivery. The multiple choice questions were very basic and weekly quiz 1 and 6 took me multiple attempts to complete due to the ambiguity of many of the questions.

por David S

Apr 10, 2018

In French with English subtitles, very exhausting as you need to ready everything. It would be better just to create a power point presentation instead of the videos for people who does not know French.