Chevron Left
Voltar para Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Russian History: from Lenin to Putin da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.7
estrelas
415 classificações
160 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Apr 14, 2020

I recommend anyone interested in this period of Russian history to take the course. Professor Kenez is an authority on the period and delivers an excellent overview of the time.

JM

Aug 29, 2019

My first ever online course, and what a great start. The Professor leading it was very good at explaining the fasicating and recent history of Russia with a personal touch. 5/5

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 159 Avaliações para o Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

por Clifton L

Jun 20, 2019

Great Course

por Chisom I

Jul 16, 2020

Informative

por Арестов Н И

Nov 05, 2019

interesting

por Куц Д П

Dec 26, 2019

good

por Willem v G

May 05, 2018

Thank you very much Professor Peter Kenez for the instructive and interesting course which I have almost finished only the essay and reviewing peers are remaining. I wish I had been taught the history of Russia up till the time of me going to primary school when I was young.

Indeed, the Russian people have suffered a lot and it is no wonder that they see Putin as their rescuer, whether he really is there rescuer will be shown in the future. I am not very optimistic.

On the other hand, the communist system which created shortages asked for corruption and I think that not one Russian has not misused the system in the past, it has become part of life. That a few people, the oligarchs exploited the new situation is in no way defendable but was the outcome of a rotten system.

What I missed in the course is any talk about the Vory, the Russian mafia which was there even in Stalin’s period and which is at the moment in command in Russia according to the book” The Vory” from Mark Galeotti. Especially in the lesson “Shock therapy” I think the Vory should have been mentioned because of the crimes they committed during that time.

por Alvaro L

Jul 23, 2020

Es un curso excelente dictado por un experto de quien se aprende mucho.

Observé dos errores:

VIDEO UNION SOVIETICA Y LOS ALIADOS

El expositor menciona al final la Conferencia de Berlin en 1945. Debe corregirse por Conferencia de Postdam en Julio /45.

VIDEO COLAPSO DE LA UNION SOVIETICA

Menciona el profesor que con el comienzo de 1991, empezó la era Yeltsin. Febe corregirse por 1992.

Observaciones:

Hay temss muy relevantes en este periodo de la historia que debieron tocarse a mayor profundidad en el curso como por ejemplo la Importancia de Lenin en la Unión Sovietica.

El sonido de las grabaciones es muy bajo en la mayoría de los videos.

Mil gracias

por Adriana D C

Sep 11, 2018

It was a very good course! The topics were relevant and the explanations were very clear. The only thing was that at the end the professor said he intended to show how Russians view the world; however, I believe that goal wasn't completely achieved since most of the content was historical facts, which are important but don't necessarily show how Russians see their history of the world. Perhaps there could be Russian guests who can talk about Russian history from different standpoints. Having said that, I really enjoyed the course and the professor.

por Nicole L A

Mar 05, 2020

I learned so much from this course! The timeline of 3 weeks was kind-of fast-paced, in my opinion. I wish that "Week 3" could have been split into "Week 3" and "Week 4." I also wish that the transcripts were a little clearer, as some of the translation could have been improved. Lastly, some suggested supplemental materials would have been helpful. Basically, I used Google to figure out topics with which I was not familiar. Overall, I think it was a great class, and I learned a lot from Dr. Kenez.

por Ronald H

Apr 06, 2018

Very informative. Gave me a different insight into Russian thought especially in current administration of Putin. It seems that the Russians have been more afraid o the USA than the USA has been of them.

Units one and three are too long. Unit one should be divided into three units. Unit three should be divided into two units.

por Kristin P

Apr 13, 2020

This was an interesting class. The professor is very knowledgeable but sometimes difficult to understand, as his voice trails off at the end of sentences. I also found the class set up in a way that made it hard to take notes. Overall, though, an interesting class. I learned a lot. Thank you!

por Andrey

Apr 12, 2020

Great course, although cannot escape the feeling that some important topics like Khruschev's reforms, Perestroika, the Yeltsin times were not given sufficient detail and corresponding lectures were somewhat superficial. Otherwise, I enjoyed the course immensely! Thank you, Professor Kenez!

por Pratyush P S

Apr 20, 2020

The course is good if one wants to know an outline of russian history.Most of the views presented were neutral(thats a good thing) but some points were debatable.Overall the course is recommended for who ever is new to russian history and just wants to get a gist of the last 100 years.

por Jeff M

Jun 22, 2020

The instructor for the course transforms the Russian/Soviet history into a fine narrative that I would encourage anyone interested in Communism or Russia to listen too. My only reservations for the course are with the final project being too broad, and the course only being 3 weeks.

por Steve

Jun 12, 2018

Exellent course, maybe a bit too short for the subject. I liked the professor who spoke to the camera without notes. Maybe a bit more use of contemporary film would have bought course to life (photos were used)

por Dave M

May 03, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, Prof. Kenez really gave us a valuable understanding of Russian history from his unique perspective -- very glad I took part, thanks ...

por Karitha K

Jun 07, 2020

Great course, I learned a lot. I was eye opening.

Only issue is the wrong transcription can make people misunderstand the content. Please fix it soon!

por David N

May 14, 2020

Great sense of humanity from Kenez, with specific details as well as a broad overview of the events affecting (and being affected by) Russia.

por Anastasia X

Mar 12, 2018

Very informative by an extremely knowledgeable professor. Sometimes it was a little difficult to follow him, probably because of his accent.

por Vicky

Dec 31, 2017

Amazing course! Really interesting and very good presented by the Professor. Thank you for uploading! I would definitely recommend it.

por Vicenţiu H V

May 24, 2018

An interesting course, despite the fact that it is almost impossible to talk about Russian contemporary history in a 3-weeks course.

por Aarti S P

Jul 28, 2020

Well planned and amazingly explained course. helps develop critical thinking for events in Russian History.

por Philip R

Jun 18, 2018

The volume was a little low unless I used my headphones, which doesn't happen elsewhere? Great content.

por William M

Dec 08, 2017

Excellent introduction to Russian history, especially to the "short" twentieth century.

por Harmanpreet K

Jul 07, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed learning from this course and Dr. Kenez is a wonderful teacher.