Chevron Left
Voltar para Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Russian History: from Lenin to Putin da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.7
estrelas
497 classificações
189 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Melhores avaliações

RS
14 de Set de 2020

I found that course had a central theme, the incompatibility of the Communist structures with an increase in the standard of living, that was well documented from the time of Lenin to that of Putin.

MM
13 de Abr de 2020

I recommend anyone interested in this period of Russian history to take the course. Professor Kenez is an authority on the period and delivers an excellent overview of the time.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 188 Avaliações para o Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

por Elena M

13 de Jun de 2019

I'm native Russian and obviously I studied russian history at school and had a short course at the university. This course gave me a deep understanding of the reasons, the connections and the order of historical events, which I couldn't get anywhere else before. This is my first week, but I can't stop watching it and I already got to Week 3.

por Jay v R

29 de Jan de 2019

Excellent course that showed me a really broad picture of Russian history in the 20th century. Professor did an excellent job in opening various aspects of such a complex topic. My only concern was that his English was a tiny bit broken and he spoke quite slowly (so I watched everything on 1.25x speed). All in all it was a great experience!

por Karl S

7 de Jul de 2020

This has been one the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Dr. Kenez is a very good lecturer. The lessons are easy to follow and informative. I had some knowledge of Russian history before I started, I have a great deal more now. I wish there were more courses like this on Coursera.

I cannot praise this class enough.

Karl Shepard

por Svetlana B

22 de Jul de 2019

Professor Kenez, has such a noble way of speaking, that it is a true pleasure to listen to him. He gives an extremely well structured and a very clear account of the life in Russia, a grand and complicated country, in its most significant eras. Million thanks to Prof. Kenez for his outstanding job. Низкий поклон.

por Robert K

27 de Abr de 2018

Major featers: exellent narration, informative and perceptive, unbiased and thought-provoking.

I liked the structure and the way the topics were identified and discussed. My knowledge of Russian history greatly expanded and I learned interesting ways of approaching and explaining historical events.

Thank you.

por bonnie

20 de Nov de 2019

Having just come away from Russia, I couldn't but take this course. It has in no way disappointed me.. In fact it has upheld a certain mystique and majesty that I've always visualised Russian history as having.

Thank you so much! I shall re visit the course over and over again till I maintain a100% Score!

por Gabriel H B

27 de Nov de 2017

Pretty good for a short Coursera course, though it's much easier to follow if the subject matter is already familiar to you. To get the most out of it I recommend reading a short book about the history of Russia in advance, such as "Russian History: A Very Short Introduction" by Geoffrey Hosking.

por Farhan S

7 de Jun de 2020

This course is my favorite. Professor Peter Konez is highly knowledgeable and he gave me a detailed analysis of Russian history. The best thing about his course was not taking any bias. Every subject matter was explained in a set of stories. One of the best courses Coursera has offered so far!

por Khadija M

4 de Mai de 2020

very informative, if you're looking for some course which is light and at the same time provides you with immense knowledge without burdening you; this is definitely the one. Sir Kenez teaches with such a calm soothing tone that you fall in love with history all over again. definitely a 10/10.

por Kejie Y

17 de Jan de 2020

A fascinating course on a fascinating topic. Prof. Peter Kenez's teaching style is intriguing - he gives a well-paced lecture and highly meticulous account of the various topics throughout modern and contemporary Russia. I love listening to the lectures and have a "heady" feeling learning.

por Alex S

18 de Mai de 2020

This course has been very worthwhile. Highly recommended to anyone with more than a passing interest in the subject. It's actually somewhat incorrectly named, as the history taught predates Lenin and includes a bit about the Romanovs/pre-revolutionary Russia.

por David B

20 de Abr de 2020

Thank you for a great course and re-igniting my interest in Russia history and culture. The presentations were detailed and thought-provoking. I enjoyed the final essay work, and learned much just from the exercising of grading other student's work.

por Dionisio M

7 de Abr de 2020

It would be unimaginative to talk about how informative the course is (very), or how accurate (very, also). It’s the kindness and humanity with which professor Kenez delivers his lessons the thing that sets this course apart. I 100% recommend it.

por Sumved R

19 de Abr de 2020

Peter Kenez's amount of knowledge and understanding is the backbone of this course. The events are explained as a first hand account. Its easy to understand. The views are unbiased and neutral which gives you the freedom of critical thinking .

por justin b

2 de Jul de 2020

Exemplary Course! Wonderfully done. Easy to follow, English spoken clearly and slowly. Tests were not too easy just right for a course of this magnitude. If you offer specialization in russian history I would be willing to take it.

por Beatriz m D

30 de Mai de 2018

Ha sido una experiencia maravillosa,le doy las gracias al profesor Kenez por acercarnos un poco más a un país tan bello y a la vez tan hermético como es Rusia.

No hago el ensayo al no optar al certificado.Gracias profesor,saludos,Bea.

por michelle o

10 de Mai de 2020

I knew practically nothing about russian history before this course, I learned so much and it held my interest. The lectures are full of insight and sensitive to the ramifications of decisions made by those in power, thank you!

por Wendi F

26 de Mai de 2020

Very good course. Lots of material/event happened during this time. I especially enjoyed researching my assignment at the end and bringing in my knowledge on the subject as I previously lived in a former Soviet Republic.

por Miko T

18 de Ago de 2020

Very good course. The discussions cover a huge range of topics and personalities. Dr. Kenez's lectures were unbiased and full of cool information. He talks about the different eras as parts of a well-connected narrative.

por Sarah A

4 de Mar de 2020

This is an excellent overview of Russian history from Lenin to present, and is perfect for the beginner. Well taught and explained, and quite comprehensive for such a short (3 week) course. Thank you, Professor Kenez!

por Julian A N G

24 de Abr de 2018

The lectures provide very interesting information. Moreover, Prof. Kenez offers his opinion/analysis throughout the lectures which makes the course valuable since it is the perspective of an expert. Excellent course.

por WonJun K

21 de Nov de 2018

A thorough review of modern Russian history. The professor is very intelligent, but you might need some background knowledge to fully appreciate the lecture. Nevertheless, still a great course for sheer beginners!

por claire d

14 de Jun de 2020

I absolutely think I have learnt a lot about Russia from this course and the professor gave me a picture of different period of times and helped me to draw connections between events, which is very usefully .

por Daria P

2 de Ago de 2018

This is such an amazing course! Professor Peter Kenez presents all the information in a very interesting and understandable for everyone way without prejudice, only facts. Thanks for this fascinating course.

por Chris L

9 de Jun de 2020

My first history course that I felt really guided the student down a path of understanding the why and why things happened.

Excellent approach and appreciated all the insights provided by Dr. Peter Kenez.