Chevron Left
Voltar para Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Russian History: from Lenin to Putin da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.7
estrelas
415 classificações
160 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Apr 14, 2020

I recommend anyone interested in this period of Russian history to take the course. Professor Kenez is an authority on the period and delivers an excellent overview of the time.

JM

Aug 29, 2019

My first ever online course, and what a great start. The Professor leading it was very good at explaining the fasicating and recent history of Russia with a personal touch. 5/5

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 161 Avaliações para o Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

por tyevia g

Jul 17, 2020

The course, Russian History from Lenin to Putin was very good. I enjoyed the lectures and found many points of reference for personal research and further learning.

I found the Coursera format a little awkward. In particular, the discussion forums, allowing learners to add comments to any of the discussions including those started months ago whilst ignoring the same discussion thread started at the same time as they are learning.

por alejandro

Nov 25, 2017

Great lectures with outstanding photo-illustrations. I highly recommend this course because it is delivered without bias, as it is all too easy to view events from your own cultural perspective.

This is the first time the Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact was placed in context of the Allies "tacit approval" of the Nazi invasion of Czechoslovakia and the Nazi assistance to Franco's destruction of Republic Spain.

por Karolina Y

Jun 01, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Professor Kenez, the lector, presents all information in an engaging way, staying impartial.

The final essay was an exciting challenge, through which I discovered that academic writing in English is exciting.

I also loved questions to discuss at the end of each bloc, where one can exchange opinions about major historical events with their peers.

por Solomon O

Apr 11, 2020

This course is incredibly detailed and clear while still remaining short. It highlights all the large Russian events including the February revolution, October revolution, the NEP, collectivization, the Eastern Bloc, as well as many more. I would highly suggest you take just a few hours out of your week to become informed on Russian history and on modern Russian politics.

por James G P J

Apr 13, 2020

As an "adult learner" well beyond my college years, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Dr. Kenez's knowledge and understanding of Soviet Union and Russia and his perspectives on historical and current events in Russia and Eastern Europe were insightful and informative. I heartily recommend this course to anyone looking for a good understanding of modern Russian history.

por Howard G M

Mar 14, 2018

Well done. I will be taking a Russian History at Emory this Spring and this course: Russian History: from Lenin to Putin will have prepared me well. For me, taking this course was a bit of a rush since I do not need a certificate and had to reschedule it in order to complete it. That is the only thing I do not care for at Coursera; I am not allowed

por Elena M

Jun 13, 2019

I'm native Russian and obviously I studied russian history at school and had a short course at the university. This course gave me a deep understanding of the reasons, the connections and the order of historical events, which I couldn't get anywhere else before. This is my first week, but I can't stop watching it and I already got to Week 3.

por Karl S

Jul 08, 2020

This has been one the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Dr. Kenez is a very good lecturer. The lessons are easy to follow and informative. I had some knowledge of Russian history before I started, I have a great deal more now. I wish there were more courses like this on Coursera.

I cannot praise this class enough.

Karl Shepard

por Robert K

Apr 27, 2018

Major featers: exellent narration, informative and perceptive, unbiased and thought-provoking.

I liked the structure and the way the topics were identified and discussed. My knowledge of Russian history greatly expanded and I learned interesting ways of approaching and explaining historical events.

Thank you.

por bonnie

Nov 20, 2019

Having just come away from Russia, I couldn't but take this course. It has in no way disappointed me.. In fact it has upheld a certain mystique and majesty that I've always visualised Russian history as having.

Thank you so much! I shall re visit the course over and over again till I maintain a100% Score!

por Gabriel H B

Nov 28, 2017

Pretty good for a short Coursera course, though it's much easier to follow if the subject matter is already familiar to you. To get the most out of it I recommend reading a short book about the history of Russia in advance, such as "Russian History: A Very Short Introduction" by Geoffrey Hosking.

por Farhan S

Jun 08, 2020

This course is my favorite. Professor Peter Konez is highly knowledgeable and he gave me a detailed analysis of Russian history. The best thing about his course was not taking any bias. Every subject matter was explained in a set of stories. One of the best courses Coursera has offered so far!

por Khadija M

May 04, 2020

very informative, if you're looking for some course which is light and at the same time provides you with immense knowledge without burdening you; this is definitely the one. Sir Kenez teaches with such a calm soothing tone that you fall in love with history all over again. definitely a 10/10.

por Alex S

May 18, 2020

This course has been very worthwhile. Highly recommended to anyone with more than a passing interest in the subject. It's actually somewhat incorrectly named, as the history taught predates Lenin and includes a bit about the Romanovs/pre-revolutionary Russia.

por Dionisio A M

Apr 07, 2020

It would be unimaginative to talk about how informative the course is (very), or how accurate (very, also). It’s the kindness and humanity with which professor Kenez delivers his lessons the thing that sets this course apart. I 100% recommend it.

por Sumved R

Apr 19, 2020

Peter Kenez's amount of knowledge and understanding is the backbone of this course. The events are explained as a first hand account. Its easy to understand. The views are unbiased and neutral which gives you the freedom of critical thinking .

por justin b

Jul 02, 2020

Exemplary Course! Wonderfully done. Easy to follow, English spoken clearly and slowly. Tests were not too easy just right for a course of this magnitude. If you offer specialization in russian history I would be willing to take it.

por Beatriz m D

May 30, 2018

Ha sido una experiencia maravillosa,le doy las gracias al profesor Kenez por acercarnos un poco más a un país tan bello y a la vez tan hermético como es Rusia.

No hago el ensayo al no optar al certificado.Gracias profesor,saludos,Bea.

por michelle o

May 10, 2020

I knew practically nothing about russian history before this course, I learned so much and it held my interest. The lectures are full of insight and sensitive to the ramifications of decisions made by those in power, thank you!

por Wendi F

May 26, 2020

Very good course. Lots of material/event happened during this time. I especially enjoyed researching my assignment at the end and bringing in my knowledge on the subject as I previously lived in a former Soviet Republic.

por Sarah A

Mar 04, 2020

This is an excellent overview of Russian history from Lenin to present, and is perfect for the beginner. Well taught and explained, and quite comprehensive for such a short (3 week) course. Thank you, Professor Kenez!

por claire d

Jun 15, 2020

I absolutely think I have learnt a lot about Russia from this course and the professor gave me a picture of different period of times and helped me to draw connections between events, which is very usefully .

por Chris L

Jun 09, 2020

My first history course that I felt really guided the student down a path of understanding the why and why things happened.

Excellent approach and appreciated all the insights provided by Dr. Peter Kenez.

por Keith D

Jun 15, 2019

This course fully met my expectations and I learned a ton from the class. I feel like I have a more informed viewpoint of Russian history, and why Russians may see world events through a different lens.

por David H

Apr 20, 2020

I found this course very thorough and enlightening. It was very well presented by Professor Kenez and followed a logical path. I really recommend this course for any enthusiast of 20th century history.