Chevron Left
Voltar para Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Russian History: from Lenin to Putin da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.7
estrelas
442 classificações
168 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Melhores avaliações

RS

Sep 15, 2020

I found that course had a central theme, the incompatibility of the Communist structures with an increase in the standard of living, that was well documented from the time of Lenin to that of Putin.

MM

Apr 14, 2020

I recommend anyone interested in this period of Russian history to take the course. Professor Kenez is an authority on the period and delivers an excellent overview of the time.

Filtrar por:

151 — 168 de 168 Avaliações para o Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

por Cheneil A

May 03, 2018

The subject matter was interesting, and I found the teacher nice to listen to.

por Iswarya k

Jul 15, 2020

Though it was a three week course, it has vast details on Russian History.

por Alice E G

Feb 01, 2018

Interesting, interactive, varied in the assent form and quick to complete.

por Kousay a

May 18, 2018

Enjoyed immensely professor Kenez's scholarly lectures!

por Henrietta A

Jul 08, 2020

The course was really enlightening. I enjoyed it.

por DINESH K

Jul 19, 2020

nice

por Novindah S

Jul 13, 2020

This course is an excellent overview of Russian History. It will definitely help you grasp the most basic bits but you should keep in mind that there will be bias, propaganda, and gatekeeping. So my advice for anyone taking this course is to be critical of everything and stop being intellectually lazy. Radicalize yourself.

por Christopher N B

Jul 22, 2020

The course is not that academic. The professor 's English is difficult to understand. The English translations are appalling.

I came looking for a course to give me some academic achievement. This is not this course.

Plus a number of the essays to critique were obvious polemics trying to masquerade as essays of students.

This course I would not recommend to anyone, like myself, who is genuinely interested in the history of that fabulous country: Russia.

por Dan K

Apr 29, 2020

The professor is a terrible speaker, and his hmm-ing and haa-ing eventually was too much to endure. I decided to just read the transcription, but the transcriptor couldn't make much of what he was saying, either. I'm not speaking of his accent, that was not much of a problem. He just couldn't go through the material in a mostly linear way. I think he should take a look at Professor Shapiro's politics course from Yale. That's how it's done.

por Charlie H

Aug 07, 2020

I only got six minutes in to the literal first video when the professor began extolling "the greatness of European civilization." That was after completely missing the point of the oft-quoted phrase "Those who do not study history are doomed to repeat this." I don't need this kind of energy in my life.

por Magdalene W

Sep 17, 2020

This course was highly informative and easy to follow. I enjoyed the review quizzes at the end of each week and thought that the freedom given to learners in the final essay was an excellent idea, as it enabled you to write about a subject that specifically interested you. I feel that I have learned plenty from both this course and other learners, whose essays I have marked as part of the course.

por Richard P S

Sep 15, 2020

I found that course had a central theme, the incompatibility of the Communist structures with an increase in the standard of living, that was well documented from the time of Lenin to that of Putin.

por Michael M

Apr 14, 2020

I recommend anyone interested in this period of Russian history to take the course. Professor Kenez is an authority on the period and delivers an excellent overview of the time.

por Tales A M F

Aug 31, 2020

This is the coolest, most intresting history course I've ever taken on Coursera. I would junt live more bibliographical material during the course. But it was incredible

por Gareth S

Sep 14, 2020

Absolutely superb course, Peter really know his stuff!