Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby em Rails Web Services e integração com MongoDB

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby em Rails Web Services e integração com MongoDB da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.3
307 classificações
80 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, we will explore MongoDB, a very popular NoSQL database and Web Services concepts and integrate them both with Ruby on Rails. MongoDB is a used to handle documents with a pre-defined schema which will give the developers an ability to store, process and use data using it’s rich API. The modules will go in-depth from installation to CRUD operations, aggregation, indexing, GridFS and various other topics where we continuously integrate MongoDB with RailsRuby. We will be covering the interface to MongoDB using the Mongo Ruby API and the Mongoid ORM framework (the MongoDB access counterpart to RDBMS/ActiveRecord within Rails). The last portion of the course will focus on Web Services with emphasis on REST, its architectural style and integration of Web Services with Rails. Core concepts of Web Services like request/response, filters, data representation (XML/JSON), web linking and best practices will covered in depth. This course is ideal for students and professionals who have some programming experience and a working knowledge of databases....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Feb 17, 2016

This is definitely one of the best courses I have taken online.\n\nIf you are interested in learning Rub on Rials with MongoDB,\n\nstop reading this comment and sign-up.

JR

Nov 22, 2016

Love this course. Helped me understand angular 1 concepts very well and with great explanations and coding examples. Keep it up and keep eating those cookies :)

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby em Rails Web Services e integração com MongoDB

por MattYi

Oct 22, 2017

Overall this is a great course with a lot discussion on MongoDB and using Ruby on Rails to build web services. However, it would be better if the professor can give more explanation on codes and syntaxes rather than just copying and pasting lines of codes to command line and show what the results are - we can do that ourselves, but we want to know why that works. And also, the projects are much harder than what I expected - project 2 would definitely take more than 8 hours and so does project 3. And some of the implementations in the projects are given a great deal of hints but I actually did not find the corresponding materials within the lecture, and I sometimes don't know why I have to do it that way even though I managed to get the codes work. But as a whole this course is great - it offers a different look at database and this is the only course that talks about web services rather than web apps in this specialization. I gave my opinions not because I am complaining, but because I wish I could contribute to its becoming better.

por Ted H

Nov 27, 2019

A very intense course! On the plus side, the course was very thorough and I learned a lot!! On the minus side, the course depends on outdated versions of Ruby, Rails, and MongoDB. If you want to take this course it is HIGHLY recommended that you install Ruby 2.2, Rails 4.2, and MongoDB 3.4. Also you should be aware that the course time-estimates are vastly optimistic. Every "1-week" course takes 10-full-time-days of effort. One assignment runs to 51 pages of requirements!! The professors also seem to have given up on this course, and it is rare to find a response more recent that 2 years old. But almost all problems are solved somewhere in the existing forums, so if you do attempt this course you should be ok.

por olivier h

Oct 03, 2018

Not up to (my) expectations.

This course is not bad, I've seen much worse on coursera, BUT is it good enough to justify the investment, I'm not sure. Following the video is tedious, and boring. The instructor gives the impression he follows a recipe, and never explains why he's doing what he's doing: he rather describes what we already have on screen. I can read, thank you! I expect much more from an online course, supported by a reputable university. I expect some deeper explanation, I want to be taught why things are the way they are. Why do we choose MongoDB over a conventional RDBMS ? What are the benefits ? the drawbacks ? This should be explained to put things in context. Toward the end of first week, the instructor switches to "MongoLab". He never introduces it or explain what it is! One sentence would be enough to put things in context.

I'm not on coursera to follow a soulless recipe, Technical matters are often dry, repetitive, boring, I need to feel some excitment from the instructor, and I need him to put things in context, to unveil what is not obvious.

por David M

Jul 11, 2019

I found this course hard to follow. There are better ways out there to learn MongoDB and Mongoid. The lectures feature a lot of copy and pasted magic code and don't give a sense of how you would compose the queries in practice. The problems often require you to guess what the lecturer had in mind, even when they are phrased in an open-ended way - if you don't do it the expected way, something is going to break later on.

From a technical point of view, the course has not aged well. The Ruby/MongoDB/Mongoid stack leads to dependency hell (not entirely the fault of the lecturer or JHU). It is likely your code will work fine and pass the tests on your machine, but fail the automated grader. There are many complaints in the forums along those lines, and the mentors were quite helpful in responding to them, but they no longer seem to be active and it appears the course is no longer being actively supported by JHU.

I abandoned this course after losing my fight with the automated grader in week 3 and running into more technical problems in week 4. The course is not completely useless and you will learn something about MongoDB from it, but I'm struggling to find other positives so I gave it two stars. I would not recommend the course but if you are taking the RoR full stack specialization, don't let that stop you from moving on to the other courses which have generally been very good.

por Aleksandar N

Jul 12, 2016

At this point, after 3 courses, I can say that I am more then competent enough for great freelancing. I can only imagine how will my skill-set look after next two courses and final capstone project. Thanks a lot, JH Ruby team!

por Boulate K

Mar 31, 2018

Very easy to understand the lectures and is taught by a professor who is well versed with the concepts.

I recommend this course 100%

por Javier G H

Mar 25, 2016

Great course! I'm really enjoying this specialization

por Juan P P S

May 13, 2016

One of my favorite courses in this specialization so far!

por Nicolas S V

Sep 25, 2016

This course was challenging, with a lot of new things to learn since MongoDB was used, first without a gem and the using it to really understand what we were doing. The staff is active and responsive! Thank you all!

por Juan S H R

May 14, 2017

Excellent

por Venugopal D

Feb 07, 2016

course work is too hectic. its hard for some one who is new to web app development and new to ruby! but over all strength and content of the course is good.

por Juan P P

Jun 01, 2016

I recommend this course to anyone who wants to start learning about document-oriented data model databases. It helped me a lot, since I have mostly worked with relational databases and I got curious about Mongodb.

por 朱勇宣

Feb 26, 2016

great course

por Max

Feb 17, 2016

This is definitely one of the best courses I have taken online.

If you are interested in learning Rub on Rials with MongoDB,

stop reading this comment and sign-up.

por Andres C

Dec 13, 2016

I just love Ruby on Rails, and this course is awesome!

por Peter S

Feb 18, 2016

The layout of this course is extremely well reasoned out. Each module gives important stepping stones for the students both to understand and to get practical skills to use the material after the course. For me it was an extra bonus to learn about teh Rails API in the 4th week of the course. I will surely need that in the future. All assignments include very thorough guidance on how you can check your own work one step at a time all the way through. In fact I have never before attended a course where so much effort had been but into that part by the teachers. Much praise for that. The graded assignments were hard. I had to put in a quite considerable effort in each of them, especially week 3. Much more work than I had anticipated. However I cannot point to any part of the material that could easily have been left out. Everything we learned seemed useful and important. So in spite of the hard work I am happy that I stayed in there to the end.

por Arman K

Feb 20, 2016

Saps away a lot of time for beginners, but every hour spent is worth it! Best course so far in the specialization.

por Vasily P

May 22, 2016

Realy chalenging but useful

por Alan M

Jan 31, 2016

Excellent!

por Utku K

May 08, 2017

Very nice course with good and fast support through the exercises. I am still a newbie for Rails and Mongo, but I think I made a good introduction to the topic. Be aware that the course may get demanding from time to time.

por Scott N

Sep 03, 2017

Great exposure to Mongo and a different way of implementing a database

por victor s

Feb 16, 2016

Nice course about rails and mongoid, awesome

por Roberto E W J

Mar 09, 2016

Awesome course!! Thanks Coursera!!

por William K

Aug 30, 2016

I am a full-stack developer working mainly with Ruby on Rails.

I took this course to learn about MongoDB and how it can be used with Rails, as well as to pick up certain aspects of Rails that I have not been using as much (like JBuilder)

The materials and assignments are very detailed, which shows that a lot of effort has gone into them. Although some of the work turned out to be more time-consuming than expected, I enjoyed going through it and seeing the results.

por Gordon S

Jan 30, 2017

A most excellent course! I learned a lot more than I thought I would. My only comment is that the time estimates were way off for me -- I ended up spending up to four times as long as the estimate, on each week's assignment. But it was worth it.