Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,736 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por David E M A

Oct 06, 2015

At first it turns up a little difficult, especially the second week but it's all there.

The community was great, the discussions helped me a lot.

por Chantal I

Oct 02, 2016

Excellent way to start the journey in Ruby on Rails!

por Renan B P

Aug 16, 2016

Very good course which explains Ruby well. If you have familiarity with any other programming language it shouldn't be too hard.

Could, however, use more exercises.

por johanes h n

Feb 07, 2016

Excellent course for me, I've been a regular Java programmer, yet the pace this course offered is suitable for me. Not too fast and not too slow.

Gracias! :)

por Alicia S

Jul 23, 2017

Really awesome course - I thought the assignments were challenging and practical. Keep up the good work Coursera!

por Ronald S

May 27, 2017

Thank you so much for this course. I learnt a lot

por Nestor R B T

Nov 14, 2016

Very good so far

por Dan S R

Apr 01, 2017

Was great to make this course on RoR here. Thank you very much!!

por Juan S H R

Dec 12, 2016

Awesome Introduction course.

por Paulo

Jun 24, 2017

Very good, congratulations!

por Paul B

Sep 16, 2016

Great course.

por Alexander V

Oct 30, 2016

Good course!

por Luis P

Oct 02, 2015

I love this course.

por Claudia V A B

Oct 05, 2015

I consider this is an excelent course for those who wants learn the ruby language and the rails framework.

por Usama b Q

Dec 26, 2015

This is Good course For the Beginners, Well done to the

por Katherine W

Jul 22, 2016

Fantastic course. Did a great job of introducing the fundamentals. I loved the practical assignments.

por Waqas A

Dec 06, 2015

I have completed this course. This course was awesome. Video lecture were very self explainable. I could also discuss on discussion forums. Really impressed by this course. I know this is one of six courses. But the learning material was limited. There should be more examples.There should be some optional assignments and there should be more emphasis on the quizzes. There was only one quiz in the whole course.

I suggest there should be quizzes and coding examples for each module separately and and after each video there should be some lecture quiz. The lecture quiz should have less percentage towards final grades.

There should be some passing grades like 70% or more for passing.

As I have completed this course without verified certificate. There is no even unverified certificate for me. EDX is offering Course performance certificate and Honor Code certificate for free users. I will appreciate these steps to encourage people to follow the course.

Thanks for offering this course

Grateful to Coursera and University Team

por Sukanya S

Sep 29, 2015

This course filled with a lot of useful information. I liked the way Prof. Kalman Hazins taught this course -- very straight to point. He is very knowledgeable and well prepared. I highly recommend this course. However, if you are an absolute beginner, this course might be a little bit too hard for you. I would like to say "Thank You" to Prof. Kalman Hazins to make such a great course. I also would like to thank Johns Hopkins University and Coursera to make this course available to everybody.

por Yuri V

Feb 29, 2016

This course gives a very solid foundation, and it is highly recommended for those who want to get a firm grip on the Ruby on Rails development techniques. I am personally impressed with how test driven development is seamlessly integrated into the course material.

por Kuolai S

Jan 15, 2016

The name of the course says "introduction" but the assignments of the course make the learning of Ruby on Rails a complete rewarding experience. I have been practiced self learning on Ruby on Rails and did not go very far. This course consolidate my past experience such as environment setup (DOS, git, devkit, SSL), OOP, and RESTful API to get data from other sites.

por vignesh k

Apr 10, 2017

Overall experience and way the lectures were presented was amazing. Thank you Coursera and JHU

por Mario F I C

Aug 08, 2016

This course is not for beginner programmers. You should have some background on programming (as a whole), you should know object oriented programming concepts and if you want to make the most out of it, I recommend that you have a little knowledge on HTML, CSS and on how the web processes requests (when you access a website for instance). That aside, this course is a great way to learn the basics of both Ruby and Ruby on Rails. I have experience programming on PHP using the web framework Laravel. I enjoyed this course a lot.

por Roussel K

Jan 27, 2016

Great Class,

Great Lecture, very confident speaker

por Francisco G

Oct 18, 2015

That's a really great course and I recommend to everybody.

por Paulina S G

Feb 07, 2017

Awesome course to start ruby on rails