Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
1,842 classificações
563 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 548 Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Mario F I C

Aug 08, 2016

This course is not for beginner programmers. You should have some background on programming (as a whole), you should know object oriented programming concepts and if you want to make the most out of it, I recommend that you have a little knowledge on HTML, CSS and on how the web processes requests (when you access a website for instance). That aside, this course is a great way to learn the basics of both Ruby and Ruby on Rails. I have experience programming on PHP using the web framework Laravel. I enjoyed this course a lot.

por Viacheslav S

Dec 27, 2016

This course is really well done (structure, material, examples, tests etc.). It is especially useful for people who already know some programming language. It provides a complete representation of good application (git, tests (rspec + Capybara + phantomjs) , heroku, using some API etc).

The course contains only 3 modules, but this modules contains essential information for junior RoR developer.

Also I'd recommend to read "Head First Ruby" during the course. The course and the book helped me to dive into ruby during one week.

por Sukanya S

Sep 29, 2015

This course filled with a lot of useful information. I liked the way Prof. Kalman Hazins taught this course -- very straight to point. He is very knowledgeable and well prepared. I highly recommend this course. However, if you are an absolute beginner, this course might be a little bit too hard for you. I would like to say "Thank You" to Prof. Kalman Hazins to make such a great course. I also would like to thank Johns Hopkins University and Coursera to make this course available to everybody.

por Ted H

Nov 28, 2019

Ruby is a magical language. Literally. So much in Ruby appears to happen by magic that it is actually very disconcerting to a more traditional programmers (like me) who can trace every call back to its source. With Ruby (or more precisely with Rails) you have to let go and have faith that the magic will somehow achieve your objectives. This course does a great job of introducing you to how the magic works, and starts unveiling what's behind the curtain. A great introduction to the language!

por Edgar J S R

Dec 04, 2016

This course is a very good option to start your adventure in Ruby on Rails framework. It starts from the very beginning, I mean, you learn some Git, how to set up your programming environment in order to use Rails, Ruby and useful tools like PhantomJS, and much more. The graded assignments are way too good, because they force you to learn and use the things you just learned and a little more. I highly recommend it to people with some (but not that much) experience in programming. Thanks!

por Ivan L J

Feb 02, 2016

Really good course! Covers the introduction in a smart way and show a lot of smart tools. It gives you a important basis for Ruby on Rails with relevant examples and assignments.

There is one point against it, it is difficult. If you are doing it as a weekend relaxed hobby, you really need to love programming. The assignments give you an idea of real life problems but real life problems are not easy.

Anyway, if you want to learn Ruby on Rails in the reality it is a great course for you.

por Padmanaban G

Dec 17, 2015

I have been learning ruby on rails for a year now, introduction to ruby in this course helped me a lot in understand ruby programming classes and it's object orientation. Course explained a lot why i need to be ruby expert to shine as rails developer.

It also helped me to understand lot of stuffs which i did blindly in rails before, like adding attr_accessor in class etc., are actually from ruby.

I'm glad I found this course. Looking forward to do next module.

por huzefa s

Sep 10, 2019

The course has really helped me to learn ruby on rails which is a complex application development technique in a very simple manner. All the modules and assignments in the course are developed keeping the end user in mind and to enhance his/her development skills and understanding of this course. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who would want to learn ruby on rails and develop his.her development skills in this platform

por Yury Z

Jun 11, 2016

Excellent, practical oriented methodology, with strong enough theoretical background. Exercises and examples are especially good. They allows experienced developers who didn't faced up with Ruby easily get Ruby specific things, without boring oversimplified assignments, and in the same way the course contain all necessary details which allow even novice developers to complete exercises with no external help.

por Patrick O

Nov 10, 2016

Suitable for students with intermediate knowledge of programming (loops, if/while/for) as the pacing of the course is good. I liked that the course skipped the extraneous introductory portions (explaining simple programming techniques such as loops) in favour of a practical project such as a web app. I really enjoyed the course and think that it has improved my knowledge significantly.

por TU-NING T

Mar 13, 2019

It is pretty cool! Although the video might seem old, but most of it still works. Additionally, mostly you can find the answer from the forum. Also, you can try to figure it out by trying different things. I would say the bundle install (bundle update) is usually the most annoying one because they just depend each other, and sometimes it will be hard to figure out what is happening!

por Vivek G

Jan 02, 2018

Excelent course! Learned a lot! Thank you Professor !!

The assignments took me much longer than the suggested 3 hours. Every task depends on having completed the previous task perfectly.The course content is good but the assignments need to be shorter and more forgiving of mistakes (i.e make the individual tasks independent of one another and pass if you get 80%).

por Kuolai S

Jan 15, 2016

The name of the course says "introduction" but the assignments of the course make the learning of Ruby on Rails a complete rewarding experience. I have been practiced self learning on Ruby on Rails and did not go very far. This course consolidate my past experience such as environment setup (DOS, git, devkit, SSL), OOP, and RESTful API to get data from other sites.

por Jerome S

Jan 18, 2019

I think this was a great course. The various issues with versions of ruby, rails, gems, operating systems, etc was frustrating at times but at the same time very much "real world" as I learned how to reflect about possible solutions and use online resources to sleuth the problems. Looking forward to the next courses and becoming more comfortable with rails.

por Ramón C D

Mar 02, 2017

This is a great course and a great teacher. I learned the basics of ruby (language) and Ruby on Rails, as well as other tools such as heroku and rspec. I particularly loved what I could do with Blackbox testing using ruby and rspec, as well as easy deploying to heroku.

I actually enjoyed this course and I'm looking forward to start the next one!

por Nhat S N

Dec 22, 2016

One of the best thing about this course is that even the Lecturer and Mentor will reply to your question. Some may say that is out-dated but I don't think so, and if so the Mentor will try to give you a solution to that out-dated information. The assignment is not too difficult, just revise with a little bit advance knowledge but it's okie.

por Kamal P

Oct 22, 2017

I am an undergraduate engineering student and this is my first course from Coursera. I am very thankful to Coursera for providing me a great opportunity to learn a new web framework and get a verified certificate. Today after completing this course i know that i am few steps ahead on pursuing my dream. I did it ! more to come.

por Deleted A

Nov 07, 2016

I am not native in the language of the course, but the way it was presented and practical exercises as a way of learning helped me a lot to go on absorbing the knowledge presented. So far the course has been very simple, very well explained and following it step by step, what motivates me a lot to go on.

por Bradley G

Jul 26, 2019

I am finishing this course this month. Its been 4 years. I think the instructor is brilliant, the fact that he is Jewish is brilliant. I used to speak Yiddish as a kid, some of his comments are delightful.The course was very useful in that you focus on what is important to expand on later.

por Inderjit S S

Dec 14, 2018

This course is peach. Amazingly coached by Prof. Hazins. I learnt a great deal about web development, ruby language, the Rails framework, version controlling using GIt, using cloud based deployment service heroku and in general it increased my knowledge about the internet on the whole ;)

por AlbertGT

Jun 06, 2017

Excelent, very complete. I did not know anything about Ruby before and now I think I have a good base. The assignments are short but helpful, very well selected. Also help at the beginning with the installation is much appreciated, few tutorials have it.

Thanks! You gained a follower :)

por Muhammad F S

Feb 21, 2016

In only just three weeks time this course provided me enough knowledge and guidance that I felt confident enough to start creating my own simple Rails applications. I'm enrolled now in the second course of this specialization to continue my journey on becoming a better Rails developer.

por Shubham k s

May 26, 2019

first of all i want to say about the framework ROR. its really intresting as well as amazing language anybody can learn it very easily and fast. its a career oriented course and mentors deliver concept very nicely . i strongly recomend this particular course. Go for it...

por Рябова С С

May 27, 2020

It was awesome!!! I learned a lot of skills: class and inheritance in Ruby; conventions in Rails; rspec, unitest and black box testing; how to create, deploy and debugging a rails app with dynamic pages. Now i'm going to watch next course of this specialization!

Thank you!

por Shekhar P

Dec 18, 2016

Awesome course designed by professor...very well explaining means why it's need and where we can use it. That's important because without know use of any technology it will be hard to understand. But here I got every thing about Ruby and Rails details. Thanks Professors.