Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,736 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

451 — 475 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Andrew C

Jan 23, 2018

I enjoyed the course. I feel like I got what I came for with an introduction to Ruby & Rails. The course has issues which need to be addressed as I believe that stagnation has caused the course to become more difficult than intended. The main problem is that the course is based on outdated versions of Ruby and Rails. It's too difficult to configure your computer for the prescribed versions. If you don't get it just right, the automatic grading software will give you 0 on the final assignment even though your app works correctly. Also I feel that if you don't have previous programming experience this course will be terribly difficult. Students should invest the time to learn some git and the basics of unit testing ahead of time.

por Alexander K

Jul 07, 2018

relatively good course, but has some issues

por Daniel H G

Apr 18, 2016

it's ok. i would love more practical examples.

por Qun X L

Sep 18, 2016

1. please the instructor speak loud and clear. As English is not my first language.

2. please the instructor and mentor check QA and answer them timely.

3.Too many information to understand in 3 weeks of courses, Ruby, Rails, Gem, Bundle, Rspec, Unit Test, Black Box Test, and Food2Fork, Heroku.

4. And only 3 weeks the instructor could not make these knowledge areas which I list in point 3 clear. Instructor said that we are not cover this point in this lecture in different lessons several times, so skip over something until this course finished. I suggest that add 2 more weeks to this course.

5. I like the assignments from this course, these assignments job help me recall what learned in the courses.

por Erick Q

Jun 13, 2018

A handful of the examples in this course are outdated and do not work.

por Michael R

Oct 09, 2015

Assignment grading had a lot of technical hurdles. Content on Ruby was solid. Rails coverage was very basic.

por Frederick J

Sep 24, 2016

This is a good course. A thorough introduction to ruby on rails.

por Geoff S

Sep 26, 2017

It was a good intro, but the delivery was a bit clunky with not enough careful attention paid to the actual code and the reasons why it was as it was. The exercises were checked using spec and automated grader that were not open to the multiple ways a problem can be solved.

por Miguel R T

Apr 20, 2019

It's outdated, but the theory behind the course has been valuable to me.

por Walter J K

Jul 01, 2019

The course is excellent, but some serious work needs to be done on the week 3 grader. I had a very hard time trying to get my project accepted. Also, it's about time to update to Rails 5.

por Dariia L

Jul 26, 2019

You know, the course is really good in knowledge. But there are such a lot of blanks you have to figure out when you make you assignment. Well, I had some experience in programming, and only that helped me to pass this course. Too much missed and not explained information. So if you're a beginner and chose Ruby as a first step - this course won't help you. Also, I understand that the course was done long time ago, and it's not possible to update videos. I had such a lot of problems with bundles and versions, especially when it comes to assignments. I would like to thank teachers for the support in forums, I got a lot of solutions to my problems in your answer. Not all of them though( Sometimes it was like working with blind eyes.

por Husam F

Aug 05, 2019

About me:

I Have some experience with Python, Java, C++. Complete beginner with anything webdev.

The lectures (5 stars):

The lectures are light, the explanation is clear and concise. Some details are left out but it is probably for the best (...and can be filled in with a little "googling"~). Great for a beginner.

The SW Installation and coursework (1 star):

A good part of the SW instructions seem grossly out-dated. For the final course assignment: 1- I ended up ditching "http://railsinstaller.org/en" and installed an up-to-date version of each component individually. Also, I ditched "phantomJS" & used "http://chromedriver.chromium.org/" instead.

Took me +10 hours....

por Aurelien L

Aug 18, 2019

The assignments are very easy and cover less than 20% of the course's content, so the certificate hasn't much value.

por Daniel B d A

Sep 24, 2019

The course is great for a first view of Web Development, but It should have more detailed content.

por Hao L

Oct 10, 2019

The lectures were good, but the installation instructions and final assignments were based on obsolete packages and wasted a lot of my time.

por Koukla K

Jul 19, 2018

I am stuck and I am giving up this course. Spent a lot of hours to complete the first 2 weeks but I do not think that the course material is adequate in order to pass the Programming Assignments. I was so happy completing the HTML,CSS and Javascript for Web Developers but really disappointed with this one.

por Lucas N R

May 02, 2016

This course should be revised. The material was lacking (just static images, no real time coding), overall engagement for the courses was also lacking The instructor sounded low quality and sometimes a bit hard to understand. I could no complete this course, unfortunately.

por sergio1993_1@hotmail.com

Apr 25, 2016

Too much work in a week. I'm working and I have finished some other courses which were a bit lighter, although longer in time. I would be mad if I try to finish this course on time. It's a bit disappointing.

por Nicholas K

Jul 09, 2016

Unfortunately as a course designed to teach Rails, it is poorly paced and has a few issues. The course content is spread out over three weeks as follows...

Week 1 they go over setting up a Ruby on Rails development environment, which was fine. They also went over Git and Github. While you can access all of the course content on Github, you are never actually required to use Git for any of the work in the course, and it only shows up as a few questions on the only quiz in the course.

Week 2 they cover Ruby programming and syntax. There are a lot of different sources where you can find tutorials and such for learning a new language, and in this course the material was... good enough. They also offered a number of practice assignments with self grading capability which is a nice feature.

The graded programming assignment for week 2 gives a lot of information about how to set up your environment and steps/commenting to assist building out your code. However there were a few requirements for the graded portion of the assignment that they don't even tell you about (expected return values under certain situations) until you actually run the grader. They weren't difficult but their reasoning were never explained in the course and it made the code a little more awkward than it needed be to pass.

Week 3 is where the major pacing problems occur. There are a number of very broad stroke videos on Rails, as well as several brief videos covering a number of third party libraries or tools sometimes required to build Rail apps. A lot of the content they cover isn't even utilized in the assignments of the course.

The week 3 assignment instructions are actually incomplete. They tell you a number of pre-required packages you have to install, including ones you had installed from previous assignments, but they leave out others you will need and leave several development environment issues you end up having to work out on your own.

And where as the week 2 assignment was almost overly hand-holdy on showing you where in a ruby file structure to implement your code, week 3 hardly offers any guidance on where or how to implement your Rails structure. The broad stroke videos from week 3 kind of give you an idea as to what each piece of code is doing if your working from a template, but the assignment feels obfuscated when trying to build it from scratch.

A major issue also comes from a third party website they require for completion of the assignment (and that requires separate registration to use). During several periods, over multiple sessions of the course, the third party site went down and was unavailable for as long as 48 hours at a time; during which it was impossible to properly run or debug the assignment due to its requirement.

What the assignment is asking for isn't even terribly difficult when you do understand what is required, and the code is rather simple and minimal to implement. But you end up having to figure out a lot of that either off site (in which case you are not learning from the course) or by modifying a copy paste of some of the templates/scaffolding from the course GitHub content, in which case you don't get a good reinforcement of the material.

In the end I wound up getting a certificate, feeling like I passed despite the course rather than because of it. There is some good foundation for a course in here, but it just falls apart in the third week and lacks any real depth.

por Remco P

Oct 07, 2015

I hate to write a negative review when the designers of the course have clearly put a lot of love and attention to detail into making it. But...

The quality of the code is bad. The quality of the testing code is even worse. This endeavours to teach some horrible practices. That's a shame, because the editing quality of the videos is excellent, the use of git and rspec is likewise commendable.

Even worse, it's not entirely clear who the target audience is. A lot of the topics introduced are aimed at complete novices, yet not explained in a way novices might understand. The course needs some serious rethinking and refactoring.

por Jigesh S

Feb 03, 2017

Could have been more interactive .The ruby course that I studied from lynda.com was far better than this

por ahmed h

Sep 29, 2015

good course

por Kenneth C V

Oct 15, 2015

I had issues uploading the Assigned Homeworks, course was ok, still, a bit complex and fast to be treated as intro to ruby

por Jim H

Oct 07, 2015

Lost after 2nd week. I really liked the Python For Everyone Course so I thought I would like this one as well, but it was not done to the same standard. I will find another way to learn Ruby.

por Matías M

Dec 28, 2015

very fast