Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,736 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

426 — 450 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Fernando G

Jun 07, 2016

No really what I expected. It's too advanced for a beginner to Ruby and web development but I feel it would be to slow if you read the tutorials and recommended books.

When first module and tests are very easy and guide well, but the pace rushes at the end.

There's a lot of parts when "we'll se this later" is mentioned, which means that maybe the examples are not appropiate for the pace of the course.

The little exams and practices are way too easy compared to the week's qualified test. Some parts of the test require to check the documentation or looking in the internet cause it wasnt explained in the videos.

After trying some Java, Ruby seems pretty easy but from what I've seen, RoR should be a tool for startup enthusiasts who require easy prototyping and low knowledge of programming/web development.

This course is explained as if the students are programmers / web developers that already use tools like github, heroku, unit testing who probably dont require that explanation in first place, but is not deep enough for newcomers.

I recommend take a bit more time and include more steps of learning, maybe 1 first course for Ruby before getting into Ruby on Rails. And since is an introduction it should include an installation tutorial. Should I install from repository or a Version Manager (like RVM), the gem concept, what setup do I need, etc.

por Qun X L

Sep 18, 2016

1. please the instructor speak loud and clear. As English is not my first language.

2. please the instructor and mentor check QA and answer them timely.

3.Too many information to understand in 3 weeks of courses, Ruby, Rails, Gem, Bundle, Rspec, Unit Test, Black Box Test, and Food2Fork, Heroku.

4. And only 3 weeks the instructor could not make these knowledge areas which I list in point 3 clear. Instructor said that we are not cover this point in this lecture in different lessons several times, so skip over something until this course finished. I suggest that add 2 more weeks to this course.

5. I like the assignments from this course, these assignments job help me recall what learned in the courses.

por Erick Q

Jun 13, 2018

A handful of the examples in this course are outdated and do not work.

por Frederick J

Sep 24, 2016

This is a good course. A thorough introduction to ruby on rails.

por Deleted A

Mar 21, 2016

Good course.

por Neal R

Nov 14, 2016

For an introductory course, you really need to move fast and stay focused as there is a large amount thrown at you in a very short time. While this was all very good information, I would much rather have 6-7 at least to spend more time and have more exercises with the code.

por Aman A

Jun 27, 2016

It was good but the examples could have been better and there could have been more material. But whatever syllabus was there in this course it was clearly explained

por Ali S

Jan 22, 2016

Compared to other courses I have completed on Coursera, this is one of the most confusing ones so far

por David E

Mar 28, 2016

A lot of material is presented here which is both good and bad. You will find yourself googling a lot of things as the videos cover certain aspects quite quickly, even some that are important to the assignments.

If you have the time to research some of the concepts on your own I say go for it. However, if you don't have much time or you are a complete beginner I would maybe try something else.

por Maxine

Sep 26, 2015

Very difficult to follow if you are not a programmer.

por Dhaval T

Feb 22, 2016

Could've been much more clear with the examples if there were some loads of practice problems

por Nabil A B G

Nov 17, 2015

very short course.

por Eduardo C

Oct 22, 2015

Me gustaria que fuese mas interactivo al momento de explicar el codigo

por Todd F

Sep 24, 2016

This one starts out pretty slow, in fact I had a hard time getting myself excited about working through the material unlike the ML specialization. However, it does get better at the end. Not sure I'm sold on this specialization yet, but we will see after the next course. I think overall from Coursera I'd like to see more interaction and graded programming exercises in between videos to really hammer the concepts home.

por Joseph C

Dec 27, 2016

It is obvious that a lot of effort has been put into producing this course but the assignments were just a bit too difficult. They were too involved and very unforgiving of small mistakes. It took more like 8 or 9 hours of problem solving and debugging and having to try different things and there was one every week so it became pretty frustrating as it really ate into my weekend.

por Daniel H G

Apr 18, 2016

it's ok. i would love more practical examples.

por Michael R

Oct 09, 2015

Assignment grading had a lot of technical hurdles. Content on Ruby was solid. Rails coverage was very basic.

por Kareem E

Aug 24, 2016

The final module is vague , but the course is nice as a whole

por AD

May 08, 2016

Very basic introduction. Having said that I couldn't really recommend it to someone without any prior experience. Most concepts were glanced over, for someone without prior experience the material would be too demanding but for people with experience (e.g. me) it was too easy (even though I had no Ruby / Rails experience).

por Dmitry Z

Sep 27, 2015

Course provides a simple introduction to Ruby. Unlike some others, it requires you to install Ruby from scratch (no VM with preinstalled components) and the final assignment requires you to do a project from scratch as well (no template). This is good and provides a much more real learning experience than some courses. However the bad things are: the deadlines are way too strict; the lectures are way too long and seem to have an unclear structure; technical problems are frequent; a lot of stuff remains poorly explained.

por Dinh T L H

Dec 14, 2015

The voice is not good!

por Mauricio

Mar 14, 2016

Rough around the edges. The assignments are not clear enough. I never got contacted by my mentor and didn't know how to reach out to him either.

Content is good.

por Matthew A

Sep 10, 2017

OK, but not super well explained. Submission and application is often very buggy and example API to follow along with is no longer available.

I think any video series falls short of the complexity of Rails. I found the suggested book "RUBY ON RAILS TUTORIAL (RAILS 5)" much more valuable.

por Robert A

Jun 23, 2018

This was very tough. It would be helpful to have the technical requirements have a reference to the specific lessons for review.

por 에스더 이

Feb 01, 2017

3