Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,736 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

401 — 425 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Vitalij

Jul 16, 2017

Thank you very much, I learn a lot of Ruby, now I am excited to learn more :)

por Ricky W D J

Jan 06, 2018

Great course! Learned a lot I didn't know about Ruby, and of course Rails. Needs updating on the coursera api usage in the httparty section.

por José M R T

Dec 18, 2016

Very good introduction course, thanks!

por TOON D

May 18, 2017

The training was to the point and efficient. External tool dependencies can use an update as not all issues are covered in the wiki sections

por Intellisys

Aug 11, 2017

It is a great course where you can learn the basic and the teacher explain very clear.

por Draden G

Jul 23, 2017

Some of the coding didn't line up with what was in the lectures, the course had a ton of knowledge and was a great introduction.

por Shashwat K

Mar 24, 2018

It seems that the quizzes assignment needs to be upgraded to RAILS 5 at least .I had really hard time to understand when as per RAILSINSTALLER just took 2.3 version of ruby and installed and even though coded much earlier , took 2-3 days for me to pass the final grading since it is specifically loaded on RAILS 4.2.3 even though the gemfile mentioned 4.2.8 . The instructions are not clear on READ ME which should mentioned pre-requisite.

por Sean R

Jul 01, 2018

Good course but incompatible with rails 5. Cryptic errors by automatic graders make submitting assignments a huge hassle.

por Ismael G M C

Dec 27, 2017

I hate activity for week 2, it was the worst

por Thiago P B

Jul 20, 2016

Very good introduction to Rails! Well-organized and structured course! Totally worth it if you are a beginner or intermediate rubyist!

por truong q v

Jun 12, 2016

Good course for fresher !

por sujay s

Dec 28, 2015

I just completed module 1 and the coursework was good. I really wanted some more explanation and examples on how GITHUB works and working with remote repositories as some of the question on the quizzes were specifically asking for those. Apart from that , so far this course is awesome! Cheers to the team for putting forth this course .

por Patrick C

Nov 08, 2015

The course was handled well. I would have given it 5 stars if the last exercise's test case didn't have a bug.

por Roman

Sep 03, 2017

Thank you very much for this course!

I think, it's pretty good and you'll learn some basics of rails, but the second programming assignment could be better. In general, you should only follow instructions and repeat some steps from lectures on your own.

por Geyang H

Sep 28, 2015

Several mistakes in the programming assignment.

por Ignacio C

May 31, 2016

Good course, and the full stack specialization is an excelent idea.

Thanks !

por Adrian F

Nov 27, 2016

Good way to start with ruby and rails.

por Marta C

Feb 29, 2016

Why 4 and not 5?

I had problems with the 2nd assignment, because the instructions (what was expected for me to return in the tests) weren't clear enough and if it wasn't for the forum, I'd still probably be stuck there. It might be that there was a "good practices while coding" was missing, ie. "Why to declare something as nil while you assume it's going to be an array?" or "Why and when to initialize variables?"

Apart from that the whole thing was very nice. I've learnt a lot. Big thumb up.

por Manuel A M

Sep 10, 2017

The course itself is good, although I think that some topics need more elaboration and were shallowly touched, like how HTTParty works. However the rest of the topics were explained nicely, and what I also liked are the exercises, they really help putting all the theory together, and I think that maybe some more of them should be added to the course

por QU D

May 03, 2019

This class is pretty intuitive while the materials are a bit outdated.

por Ritesh K

Aug 18, 2019

Wonderful full stack framework... !!

por Oyelekan O

Aug 29, 2019

Amazing course

por Nicolas A T

Nov 18, 2019

It is a really nice course, the instructor explains the subjects very well, the only problem is the API used on the exercises is not available anymore and the last exercise requires rails 4 and it's kind of difficult to find out why the exercise is not approved even though the tests are passing locally.

por David P

Dec 21, 2018

A bit out of date, should have a module to install rvm.

por Xianglong W

Jan 13, 2018

Lectures are really dull and boring compared to other coursed I have had.