Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,736 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

376 — 400 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Tommi K

Nov 08, 2016

I did not know anything about Ruby or Rails before this course. I found this course quite challenging because there was so many new concepts covered in very rapid fashion: Ruby, Rails, Rspec, all other tools. However, I think the coverage of the unit testing concepts was really useful. I had to go for google quite many times to find out resolve issues I had with the tools and assignments. But in the end, I think this course was a good one, rating it 4 out of 5 starts.

por Ron K

Dec 18, 2015

Course does not explain how to use RoR with mobile applications

por Joel H

Oct 29, 2015

This is a great introduction to ruby. Some of the assignments were tough to get your head around but once we really got into rails it was excellent

por Geyang H

Sep 28, 2015

Several mistakes in the programming assignment.

por Abhijeet B

Oct 04, 2015

Overall nice way to get introduced and familiarised with Ruby & Rails.

por yohan m

Nov 15, 2015

great course, awesome contents and grading!!

por Alexandr T

Jul 03, 2017

Assignment materials aren't actual on this time.

por Pham C N

Oct 24, 2016

Very well!

por Nurul S

Sep 01, 2016

Great Initiative

por Krishna G

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing course lots to learn. The only flaw i would say is that rails has changed a lot and so have some of the online resources used by this course but the course video's haven't. That being said, It is likely you will find a solution to your problem in the discussion forums, so always check there when doing whatever you are doing. Additionally when i took this course rails 4.2.8 was the version used by the course, so it will be super beneficial to have this version for the course. (And don't worry, rails 5.0.3 isn't super different so don't worry about not getting to understand the latest version).

por Brian F

Feb 24, 2016

Solid introduction. I really liked the self-assessment checks of the coding assignments with rspec.

It would have been a nice touch if the coding examples adhered to the Ruby style guides a little better (Rubocop, rails linter, etc).

por Jash K

Mar 15, 2018

Amazing Starter Course.

por Guillaume

Oct 12, 2015

Very good course. Teachers are very reactive to answer questions.

por Antonio M

Sep 04, 2017

Es una buena introducción

por Alexander B

Feb 04, 2016

Very good, the lectures are straightforward and the material is understandable and well-explained.

por chen h

Jan 31, 2017

Good. But as the course is rather short, knowledge is not covered in detail and may easily be forgotten without extra practice.

por José M R T

Dec 18, 2016

Very good introduction course, thanks!

por Luke D

Apr 07, 2017

Support was pretty good but I spent a lot of time trying to fight through the thicket of version compatibilities. They introduce a lot of interdependent elements in one short class so that is definitely a feature. I would recommend learning Ruby elsewhere if you're completely new to it before starting this class. I paused to work through the very awesome "Head First Ruby" book and it gave me the skills to move on. What the course does well is show you how these many interdependent elements work together: Ruby, Rails, Sublime Text, homebrew, rbenv, rspec, httpparty, heroku. It's a lot to take in and you really have to explore each subtopic a little more on your own to make it work, but you finish with a pretty rich understanding of the ecosystem of tools and frameworks you need to be effective if you do. Definitely overall recommend, but know that you're going to have to do some work on your own.

por Jon M

Jun 11, 2017

generally a very well organised course. steps through the key knowledge very well, i bagan with no ruby or rails experience and got to the end without too much trouble. the most difficulty was the final assessment having the newer rails version installed and had to downgrade. otherwise very good.

por Pavan M

Mar 22, 2017

Nice Course, well structured.

Only issue faced was with Grader not letting to use Rails 5, please be aware of this and use Rails 4.2.8 and save some time. :)

por Thiru

Mar 25, 2017

It is very much useful to the beginners who are thinking about their career in the software fields.Because this course is very much helpful to get an internships.

por Cong P

Mar 27, 2018

I should I would give 5 stars to this course. This is first course I took for ruby. The instructors are great, and the slides and videos are all good. The only concern is that the grading test, especially for the last assignment. The feedback is poor, and in order to get this course done, I have tried millions of ways. Some passed the unit test but failed the grading, some goes well in display but somehow doesn't work out for the unit test. It is a good course actually despite the grading part.

por Arthur C

May 13, 2017

Great course, excelent topics, good assigments, content upgraded... And discussion module efficent...

por Junghyun P

Apr 13, 2017

Best, but it could be little difficult for beginner

por Rameez A

Sep 19, 2017

If More hands on exercise is there then it would have been more awesome. Loved it although, thanks JHU.