Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,738 classificações
523 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Adrian F

Nov 27, 2016

Good way to start with ruby and rails.

por sujay s

Dec 28, 2015

I just completed module 1 and the coursework was good. I really wanted some more explanation and examples on how GITHUB works and working with remote repositories as some of the question on the quizzes were specifically asking for those. Apart from that , so far this course is awesome! Cheers to the team for putting forth this course .

por Joel H

Oct 29, 2015

This is a great introduction to ruby. Some of the assignments were tough to get your head around but once we really got into rails it was excellent

por Geyang H

Sep 28, 2015

Several mistakes in the programming assignment.

por Patrick C

Nov 08, 2015

The course was handled well. I would have given it 5 stars if the last exercise's test case didn't have a bug.

por Roman

Sep 03, 2017

Thank you very much for this course!

I think, it's pretty good and you'll learn some basics of rails, but the second programming assignment could be better. In general, you should only follow instructions and repeat some steps from lectures on your own.

por Marta C

Feb 29, 2016

Why 4 and not 5?

I had problems with the 2nd assignment, because the instructions (what was expected for me to return in the tests) weren't clear enough and if it wasn't for the forum, I'd still probably be stuck there. It might be that there was a "good practices while coding" was missing, ie. "Why to declare something as nil while you assume it's going to be an array?" or "Why and when to initialize variables?"

Apart from that the whole thing was very nice. I've learnt a lot. Big thumb up.

por Nurul S

Sep 01, 2016

Great Initiative

por Krishna G

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing course lots to learn. The only flaw i would say is that rails has changed a lot and so have some of the online resources used by this course but the course video's haven't. That being said, It is likely you will find a solution to your problem in the discussion forums, so always check there when doing whatever you are doing. Additionally when i took this course rails 4.2.8 was the version used by the course, so it will be super beneficial to have this version for the course. (And don't worry, rails 5.0.3 isn't super different so don't worry about not getting to understand the latest version).

por Jash K

Mar 15, 2018

Amazing Starter Course.

por 师照照

May 24, 2018

To complete the homework, you must understand every word that teacher told in the video. For this course, I spent 3 weeks.

por srivatsan r

Oct 04, 2015

Awesome! great lecture and great course......

por Sim Y X

Jun 21, 2016

An excellent introduction to the Ruby Language and the Ruby on Rails framework. Lectures are a bit fast-paced, so learners may need to seek reference from external resources.

por Sarah W

Mar 07, 2016

Great start to rails, provided a practical intro. Could have used a little more frequent practice actually writing code.

por Abhijeet B

Oct 04, 2015

Overall nice way to get introduced and familiarised with Ruby & Rails.

por yohan m

Nov 15, 2015

great course, awesome contents and grading!!

por Alexandr T

Jul 03, 2017

Assignment materials aren't actual on this time.

por Antonio M

Sep 04, 2017

Es una buena introducción

por Alexander B

Feb 04, 2016

Very good, the lectures are straightforward and the material is understandable and well-explained.

por chen h

Jan 31, 2017

Good. But as the course is rather short, knowledge is not covered in detail and may easily be forgotten without extra practice.

por José M R T

Dec 18, 2016

Very good introduction course, thanks!

por Luke D

Apr 07, 2017

Support was pretty good but I spent a lot of time trying to fight through the thicket of version compatibilities. They introduce a lot of interdependent elements in one short class so that is definitely a feature. I would recommend learning Ruby elsewhere if you're completely new to it before starting this class. I paused to work through the very awesome "Head First Ruby" book and it gave me the skills to move on. What the course does well is show you how these many interdependent elements work together: Ruby, Rails, Sublime Text, homebrew, rbenv, rspec, httpparty, heroku. It's a lot to take in and you really have to explore each subtopic a little more on your own to make it work, but you finish with a pretty rich understanding of the ecosystem of tools and frameworks you need to be effective if you do. Definitely overall recommend, but know that you're going to have to do some work on your own.

por Jon M

Jun 11, 2017

generally a very well organised course. steps through the key knowledge very well, i bagan with no ruby or rails experience and got to the end without too much trouble. the most difficulty was the final assessment having the newer rails version installed and had to downgrade. otherwise very good.

por Pavan M

Mar 22, 2017

Nice Course, well structured.

Only issue faced was with Grader not letting to use Rails 5, please be aware of this and use Rails 4.2.8 and save some time. :)

por Thiru

Mar 25, 2017

It is very much useful to the beginners who are thinking about their career in the software fields.Because this course is very much helpful to get an internships.