Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,736 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Boonchu N

Oct 17, 2015

Execellent class for Ruby beginner and can be applicable to any other language that use as CM like Chef or Puppet as a requirement.

por Antonio M T

Oct 03, 2015

Great introduccion course on Ruby on Rails, with some problems with the grader. Technical staff performing well, very good effort trying to figure out and solving the problems.

por Noah P

Jan 15, 2017

nice course

por Patrick C

Nov 08, 2015

The course was handled well. I would have given it 5 stars if the last exercise's test case didn't have a bug.

por Manuel A M

Sep 10, 2017

The course itself is good, although I think that some topics need more elaboration and were shallowly touched, like how HTTParty works. However the rest of the topics were explained nicely, and what I also liked are the exercises, they really help putting all the theory together, and I think that maybe some more of them should be added to the course

por Roman

Sep 03, 2017

Thank you very much for this course!

I think, it's pretty good and you'll learn some basics of rails, but the second programming assignment could be better. In general, you should only follow instructions and repeat some steps from lectures on your own.

por Marta C

Feb 29, 2016

Why 4 and not 5?

I had problems with the 2nd assignment, because the instructions (what was expected for me to return in the tests) weren't clear enough and if it wasn't for the forum, I'd still probably be stuck there. It might be that there was a "good practices while coding" was missing, ie. "Why to declare something as nil while you assume it's going to be an array?" or "Why and when to initialize variables?"

Apart from that the whole thing was very nice. I've learnt a lot. Big thumb up.

por Ying X E

Oct 10, 2015

It was pretty interesting, although it may be fast at times. I find it particular engaging and interesting. I would definitely continue with the next course.

por Laura R P

Jul 19, 2016

Excellent introduction to Ruby on Rails.

por Ronak Y P

Feb 28, 2016

Great Course, Great assignments and pace. Loved it.

por pucca L

Oct 18, 2015

pretty good and specific!

por Richard C

Sep 26, 2015

Nice start

por Sanele

Jun 09, 2016

Great class

por Ignacio C

May 31, 2016

Good course, and the full stack specialization is an excelent idea.

Thanks !

por Adrian F

Nov 27, 2016

Good way to start with ruby and rails.

por sujay s

Dec 28, 2015

I just completed module 1 and the coursework was good. I really wanted some more explanation and examples on how GITHUB works and working with remote repositories as some of the question on the quizzes were specifically asking for those. Apart from that , so far this course is awesome! Cheers to the team for putting forth this course .

por srivatsan r

Oct 04, 2015

Awesome! great lecture and great course......

por Sim Y X

Jun 21, 2016

An excellent introduction to the Ruby Language and the Ruby on Rails framework. Lectures are a bit fast-paced, so learners may need to seek reference from external resources.

por Mario M A

Oct 07, 2015

Excellent explanations however, should be sure of do not make comparisons with other programmatic languages since it cause confusions

por Kamil J

Jul 24, 2016

I think this course is good - before I took it I've never written any code in ruby and now I know some basics of it. I can say the same about Rails and unit testing. Everything is explained nicely, so it's really easy to understand.

Even through it a good course, it has it's flaws. While we get to try different things, only the basics are covered - now I know those basics, but I'm not confident in my skills with those. I think there should be more exercises, assessments to develop those skills.

por Sarah W

Mar 07, 2016

Great start to rails, provided a practical intro. Could have used a little more frequent practice actually writing code.

por Joaquin A

Sep 30, 2015

The course is very practical and applies to the real world scenarios. Excellent.

por stephen

Jun 27, 2017

Needs to work with rails 5. Actual assignment for RoR isn't that long but making it work with the provided Gem file to pass the graded took a while.

por Rhitam D

Jun 16, 2018

The course is really good. The videos weren't clear on a few details, but that's to be expected as they have listed out reference books in case we want to delve deep into the concepts. After completing the course, however, you would want to continue working on rails.

por Andrey S

Sep 01, 2016

I still have some problems with understanding of Ruby lang, but Ruby on Rails is taught excellent! (anyway this course about rails). Good luck!