Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
1,750 classificações
527 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Riccardo V

Feb 28, 2016

awesome !

por Semsudin A

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent

por Naun L B

Jan 06, 2016

So great

por Rafat K

Aug 29, 2018

Gut ged

por Daeun Y

Mar 25, 2018

Thanks!

por umesh g

Apr 21, 2016

Awsomn!

por Tran T D

Dec 02, 2015

Goods!

por Mariela C

Oct 16, 2015

Great!

por Jimut B P

Sep 15, 2018

Good!

por Filipe E P V

Oct 14, 2018

TOP!

por Parth C

Sep 04, 2018

Good

por 党文亮

Dec 03, 2015

Good

por Luke D

Apr 07, 2017

Support was pretty good but I spent a lot of time trying to fight through the thicket of version compatibilities. They introduce a lot of interdependent elements in one short class so that is definitely a feature. I would recommend learning Ruby elsewhere if you're completely new to it before starting this class. I paused to work through the very awesome "Head First Ruby" book and it gave me the skills to move on. What the course does well is show you how these many interdependent elements work together: Ruby, Rails, Sublime Text, homebrew, rbenv, rspec, httpparty, heroku. It's a lot to take in and you really have to explore each subtopic a little more on your own to make it work, but you finish with a pretty rich understanding of the ecosystem of tools and frameworks you need to be effective if you do. Definitely overall recommend, but know that you're going to have to do some work on your own.

por Krishna G

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing course lots to learn. The only flaw i would say is that rails has changed a lot and so have some of the online resources used by this course but the course video's haven't. That being said, It is likely you will find a solution to your problem in the discussion forums, so always check there when doing whatever you are doing. Additionally when i took this course rails 4.2.8 was the version used by the course, so it will be super beneficial to have this version for the course. (And don't worry, rails 5.0.3 isn't super different so don't worry about not getting to understand the latest version).

por Lawrence M

Feb 17, 2017

the good: very well organized course materials. the extremely well thought-out approach to presenting the materials makes the course seem pretty easy. there is so much detail surrounding Rails -- the professors of this course do a commendable job of distilling the lecture material down to the truly most important elements.

the bad: i struggled a lot with the automatic grader. i might have spent as much time wrangling and gaming the grader as i did on the assignments themselves. not sure who's at fault on this, but is sure was frustrating. (but i still highly recommend the course.)

por Cong P

Mar 27, 2018

I should I would give 5 stars to this course. This is first course I took for ruby. The instructors are great, and the slides and videos are all good. The only concern is that the grading test, especially for the last assignment. The feedback is poor, and in order to get this course done, I have tried millions of ways. Some passed the unit test but failed the grading, some goes well in display but somehow doesn't work out for the unit test. It is a good course actually despite the grading part.

por Kamil J

Jul 24, 2016

I think this course is good - before I took it I've never written any code in ruby and now I know some basics of it. I can say the same about Rails and unit testing. Everything is explained nicely, so it's really easy to understand.

Even through it a good course, it has it's flaws. While we get to try different things, only the basics are covered - now I know those basics, but I'm not confident in my skills with those. I think there should be more exercises, assessments to develop those skills.

por Marta C

Feb 29, 2016

Why 4 and not 5?

I had problems with the 2nd assignment, because the instructions (what was expected for me to return in the tests) weren't clear enough and if it wasn't for the forum, I'd still probably be stuck there. It might be that there was a "good practices while coding" was missing, ie. "Why to declare something as nil while you assume it's going to be an array?" or "Why and when to initialize variables?"

Apart from that the whole thing was very nice. I've learnt a lot. Big thumb up.

por Tommi K

Nov 08, 2016

I did not know anything about Ruby or Rails before this course. I found this course quite challenging because there was so many new concepts covered in very rapid fashion: Ruby, Rails, Rspec, all other tools. However, I think the coverage of the unit testing concepts was really useful. I had to go for google quite many times to find out resolve issues I had with the tools and assignments. But in the end, I think this course was a good one, rating it 4 out of 5 starts.

por Shashwat K

Mar 24, 2018

It seems that the quizzes assignment needs to be upgraded to RAILS 5 at least .I had really hard time to understand when as per RAILSINSTALLER just took 2.3 version of ruby and installed and even though coded much earlier , took 2-3 days for me to pass the final grading since it is specifically loaded on RAILS 4.2.3 even though the gemfile mentioned 4.2.8 . The instructions are not clear on READ ME which should mentioned pre-requisite.

por eighty

Mar 26, 2019

I went through this material after first completing the Ruby on Rails tutorial by Michael Hartl. So far, this series is greatly explaining the core details of Rails. This course also explained some of the basics of Ruby which I hadn't memorized. There are some technical issues for Windows users and the discussion forums are nearly empty, but it's still a pretty good free resource to learn Rails.

por Yuehao H

Mar 08, 2019

The content is great so far, learned a lot from this course. However, the version is too old and I need to downgrade a bunch of staff to make assignment work. It should be better to update the assignment at lease to rails 5.x. Also, it should be better to cover some content about either MySQL or PostgresQL since SQLite is serverless and it is different to most of man SQL language with server.

por Manuel A M

Sep 10, 2017

The course itself is good, although I think that some topics need more elaboration and were shallowly touched, like how HTTParty works. However the rest of the topics were explained nicely, and what I also liked are the exercises, they really help putting all the theory together, and I think that maybe some more of them should be added to the course

por sujay s

Dec 28, 2015

I just completed module 1 and the coursework was good. I really wanted some more explanation and examples on how GITHUB works and working with remote repositories as some of the question on the quizzes were specifically asking for those. Apart from that , so far this course is awesome! Cheers to the team for putting forth this course .

por Angela V C G

Aug 14, 2017

I love the way the course is organized, however there where a couple of things that wer outdated like the coursera api, and was a bit confusing follow the video.

Another improvement could be to code live instead to have the image of the code in the video.

Thanks for helping me to start my journey in rails :)