Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,738 classificações
523 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

501 — 508 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Melissa B

Dec 02, 2017

The course materials are so out-of-date that they are wrong. I wasted hours of my time each week trying to figure out how to fix the instructors' failure to update the materials.

por Mohaimin A A

Nov 16, 2015

Difficult to follow with no live coding.

por Derek H

Dec 18, 2017

This course is mostly terrible. From how the class is laid out, to the instruction and the coursework/assignments. Week 1 is a joke, waste of time. Week 2 really should be split into 2 different weeks. The examples gone in Week 3 in the "lectures" can no longer be followed. Week 2 is missing like 30% of what you actually have to do in the homework. You will spend more time fighting with the RSPEC output and digging in the forums for answers instead of learning the material. Oh, and if you have issues with how people talk on a microphone, this one is definitely not for you.

por Junbeom L

Feb 22, 2017

Please update the given Gemfile in Homework.

por Ricky

Mar 18, 2016

I am afraid this is going to be a rather negative review. Having completed over 10 Coursera courses over the year, and numerous other online classes, this is officially the worst. For me personally, the whole course was a complete waste of time. Put it simply, the presenter can't teach, at least not the MOOCs. There were no structure. The instructions were all over the place, and explanations were inadequate. After drumming how important to actually "code", he proceeded to present the whole lecture showing small pieces of codes.... on slides. After touting how cool and useful Sublime is as a developer tool, he didn't even use it. After telling everyone how useful regular expression is but not part of this course (so he won't explain), he went on to use regular expressions for all the sample codes for the rest of the lecture. As mentioned, there was no structure as to how he present Ruby/Rails as a programming platform. It was bits of code here, bits of code there. Beside getting a feel of what Ruby syntax is like, there was no learning. I am aware there are suggested readings, but then why doing this MOOC at all.

As I check out other courses from the same Ruby specialization, the student numbers are getting smaller. Hardly everyone post on the forums, I also check the Classmates map. I suspect many simply gave up since the Intro classes were so bad. It's really not hard to find better material to learn Ruby/Rails, even just slightly better, even YouTube videos. I am frustrated at myself for putting in the effort (really try) and wasted days. I am leaving this course and unlikely to sign up any MOOC from the same team again.

por Emily C

Apr 02, 2016

This is by far the worse course I'd ever had taken. If you are a beginner I suggest you go look somewhere else. The software installation is hardly explained (the instructor writes a whole bunch of code in the terminal without even explaining correctly what we are writing). I abandonned this course because the instructions were not clear enough.

por Dan P

Mar 11, 2017

Overall I was disappointed with this course. In the end I don't think it was any better than any of the free online tutorials out there. The instructor spoke so quickly in the videos he was nearly incomprehensible. The explanations were incomplete at best and most of the time amounted to nothing more than "type this... now type this.". I'm well aware that the only way to learn programming is by doing it yourself, but if I pay for a course I expect an explanation of how things work under the hood. I was looking forward to taking the entire Ruby On Rails specialization, now I'm not so sure.

por DT D

Sep 27, 2015

No accurate help, no feedback on the graders, 2 out of 3 assignments where not specified correctly, or just wrong... this course will only teach you to be frustrated.