Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,736 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Parth C

Sep 04, 2018

Good

por V A K

Sep 09, 2018

Good but need more depth in content.

por Filipe E P V

Oct 14, 2018

TOP!

por Jimut B P

Sep 15, 2018

Good!

por Neeraj B

Sep 29, 2018

Covers a lot of ground. Teaches so much and so well. Perfect course for starting off

por Alexander V

Oct 30, 2016

Good course!

por Hazem M I K

Oct 11, 2015

So far, I've really enjoyed the course. However, I've had some problems with installing ruby on windows. But nothing google can't fix.

por Nicolas S V

Jul 26, 2016

Basic concepts covered.

por Valery b

Jun 03, 2017

Great theorical and practical classes. Exercices and video need to be updated for new rails and ruby version though.

por Claudia V A B

Oct 05, 2015

I consider this is an excelent course for those who wants learn the ruby language and the rails framework.

por Katherine W

Jul 22, 2016

Fantastic course. Did a great job of introducing the fundamentals. I loved the practical assignments.

por Sukanya S

Sep 29, 2015

This course filled with a lot of useful information. I liked the way Prof. Kalman Hazins taught this course -- very straight to point. He is very knowledgeable and well prepared. I highly recommend this course. However, if you are an absolute beginner, this course might be a little bit too hard for you. I would like to say "Thank You" to Prof. Kalman Hazins to make such a great course. I also would like to thank Johns Hopkins University and Coursera to make this course available to everybody.

por Artemis O

Mar 04, 2017

Very practical, makes easy for the student to go over the installation and configuration hubs, to-the-point introduction to Ruby on Rails. At the end of this course, I was able to write a decent looking web application, develop an understanding of the core concepts, and obtain many references to the helpful technologies and documentation. This course might have been better only if it were revised for the versions of 2017: if the student ignores the specificity of the versions in the initial installation instructions, the final homework will to be rejected by the automated grader. Shorty put, most recent Rails version is not compatible with Ruby 4.2.x.

por Renan B P

Aug 16, 2016

Very good course which explains Ruby well. If you have familiarity with any other programming language it shouldn't be too hard.

Could, however, use more exercises.

por David E M A

Oct 06, 2015

At first it turns up a little difficult, especially the second week but it's all there.

The community was great, the discussions helped me a lot.

por Enmanuel M

Oct 27, 2015

Awesome course!

por Chantal I

Oct 02, 2016

Excellent way to start the journey in Ruby on Rails!

por johanes h n

Feb 07, 2016

Excellent course for me, I've been a regular Java programmer, yet the pace this course offered is suitable for me. Not too fast and not too slow.

Gracias! :)

por Alicia S

Jul 23, 2017

Really awesome course - I thought the assignments were challenging and practical. Keep up the good work Coursera!

por Arek S

May 04, 2018

Great teacher, good stuff.

por Caitlin C

Jan 24, 2016

The instructor is excellent, and the course has ample examples and practice assignments to help you follow along during the lectures.

por Abraham G

Dec 11, 2015

Is very usefull to start programming with ruby if you have a background from another lenguage

por Mario F I C

Aug 08, 2016

This course is not for beginner programmers. You should have some background on programming (as a whole), you should know object oriented programming concepts and if you want to make the most out of it, I recommend that you have a little knowledge on HTML, CSS and on how the web processes requests (when you access a website for instance). That aside, this course is a great way to learn the basics of both Ruby and Ruby on Rails. I have experience programming on PHP using the web framework Laravel. I enjoyed this course a lot.

por Roussel K

Jan 27, 2016

Great Class,

Great Lecture, very confident speaker

por Alex D T B

Nov 07, 2016

I am not native in the language of the course, but the way it was presented and practical exercises as a way of learning helped me a lot to go on absorbing the knowledge presented. So far the course has been very simple, very well explained and following it step by step, what motivates me a lot to go on.