Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
stars
1,747 classificações
526 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

401 — 425 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Ronak Y P

Feb 28, 2016

Great Course, Great assignments and pace. Loved it.

por Alexandr T

Jul 03, 2017

Assignment materials aren't actual on this time.

por Geyang H

Sep 28, 2015

Several mistakes in the programming assignment.

por srivatsan r

Oct 04, 2015

Awesome! great lecture and great course......

por Ismael G M C

Dec 27, 2017

I hate activity for week 2, it was the worst

por yohan m

Nov 15, 2015

great course, awesome contents and grading!!

por Laura R P

Jul 19, 2016

Excellent introduction to Ruby on Rails.

por José M R T

Dec 18, 2016

Very good introduction course, thanks!

por Adrian F

Nov 27, 2016

Good way to start with ruby and rails.

por Ritesh K

Aug 18, 2019

Wonderful full stack framework... !!

por Rohan A

Sep 17, 2017

very good course for beginners .

por Aldo A S Z

Jan 14, 2016

great introduction to rails

por Ronghao Y

Mar 27, 2019

More coding would be great

por Antonio M

Sep 04, 2017

Es una buena introducción

por truong q v

Jun 12, 2016

Good course for fresher !

por pucca L

Oct 18, 2015

pretty good and specific!

por Jash K

Mar 15, 2018

Amazing Starter Course.

por Huy V

Nov 29, 2016

Very interesting!

por Nurul S

Sep 01, 2016

Great Initiative

por Oyelekan O

Aug 29, 2019

Amazing course

por Noah P

Jan 15, 2017

nice course

por Sanele

Jun 09, 2016

Great class

por Pham C N

Oct 24, 2016

Very well!

por Richard C

Sep 26, 2015

Nice start

por Fernando G

Jun 07, 2016

No really what I expected. It's too advanced for a beginner to Ruby and web development but I feel it would be to slow if you read the tutorials and recommended books.

When first module and tests are very easy and guide well, but the pace rushes at the end.

There's a lot of parts when "we'll se this later" is mentioned, which means that maybe the examples are not appropiate for the pace of the course.

The little exams and practices are way too easy compared to the week's qualified test. Some parts of the test require to check the documentation or looking in the internet cause it wasnt explained in the videos.

After trying some Java, Ruby seems pretty easy but from what I've seen, RoR should be a tool for startup enthusiasts who require easy prototyping and low knowledge of programming/web development.

This course is explained as if the students are programmers / web developers that already use tools like github, heroku, unit testing who probably dont require that explanation in first place, but is not deep enough for newcomers.

I recommend take a bit more time and include more steps of learning, maybe 1 first course for Ruby before getting into Ruby on Rails. And since is an introduction it should include an installation tutorial. Should I install from repository or a Version Manager (like RVM), the gem concept, what setup do I need, etc.