Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
1,855 classificações
568 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM
30 de Set de 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC
6 de Ago de 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

376 — 400 de 553 Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Kerollos M T

20 de Mar de 2020

This course helped me start learning Ruby and RoR. It's a great start. a little outdated. If it gets updated to newer versions of Ruby and RoR, It will be awesome.

por Thiru

25 de Mar de 2017

It is very much useful to the beginners who are thinking about their career in the software fields.Because this course is very much helpful to get an internships.

por Jean C

25 de Set de 2016

Great course with very useful insights and techniques, which would have taken me way more time if I tried to learn and develop it by myself. Totally recommend it.

por John P

17 de Mai de 2017

Lectures are fairly good although they need to be updated. Homework submission is a headache and needs to be updated for the latest versions of gems as well.

por Pavan M

22 de Mar de 2017

Nice Course, well structured.

Only issue faced was with Grader not letting to use Rails 5, please be aware of this and use Rails 4.2.8 and save some time. :)

por Ying X E

10 de Out de 2015

It was pretty interesting, although it may be fast at times. I find it particular engaging and interesting. I would definitely continue with the next course.

por M A M H

2 de Abr de 2019

The course was good. But some of the tutorials are outdated and faced some difficulties to understand it. But overall a full package and was resourceful.

por Sampriti P

26 de Set de 2015

Very nice course! However, I felt the the Ruby part of the course was a bit fast paced and short and a little more time should have been spent on it.

por stephen

27 de Jun de 2017

Needs to work with rails 5. Actual assignment for RoR isn't that long but making it work with the provided Gem file to pass the graded took a while.

por Joel H

29 de Out de 2015

This is a great introduction to ruby. Some of the assignments were tough to get your head around but once we really got into rails it was excellent

por Andrey S

1 de Set de 2016

I still have some problems with understanding of Ruby lang, but Ruby on Rails is taught excellent! (anyway this course about rails). Good luck!

por Ricky W D J

6 de Jan de 2018

Great course! Learned a lot I didn't know about Ruby, and of course Rails. Needs updating on the coursera api usage in the httparty section.

por TOON D

18 de Mai de 2017

The training was to the point and efficient. External tool dependencies can use an update as not all issues are covered in the wiki sections

por Thiago P B

20 de Jul de 2016

Very good introduction to Rails! Well-organized and structured course! Totally worth it if you are a beginner or intermediate rubyist!

por Mario M A

7 de Out de 2015

Excellent explanations however, should be sure of do not make comparisons with other programmatic languages since it cause confusions

por Vishal B

5 de Set de 2016

Overall the course was good. The final assignment had some details missing and found myself struggling for some very trivial issues.

por Boonchu N

17 de Out de 2015

Execellent class for Ruby beginner and can be applicable to any other language that use as CM like Chef or Puppet as a requirement.

por Draden G

23 de Jul de 2017

Some of the coding didn't line up with what was in the lectures, the course had a ton of knowledge and was a great introduction.

por chen h

31 de Jan de 2017

Good. But as the course is rather short, knowledge is not covered in detail and may easily be forgotten without extra practice.

por Anosha R

10 de Jul de 2020

Some course content is outdated as there is a very new version of Rails available now but nonetheless, the intuition is great!

por Piotr

6 de Jan de 2017

It was a really good course, although a bit 'dry' (lessons were similar to each other and thus tiring in longer perspective).

por Prasad M Z

11 de Jun de 2020

The course was really great. It was lengthy but it felt like a pleasant journey. Thank you for providing such a nice course.

por 师照照

23 de Mai de 2018

To complete the homework, you must understand every word that teacher told in the video. For this course, I spent 3 weeks.

por Sean R

1 de Jul de 2018

Good course but incompatible with rails 5. Cryptic errors by automatic graders make submitting assignments a huge hassle.

por Sarah W

7 de Mar de 2016

Great start to rails, provided a practical intro. Could have used a little more frequent practice actually writing code.