Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
1,762 classificações
534 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por sujay s

Dec 28, 2015

I just completed module 1 and the coursework was good. I really wanted some more explanation and examples on how GITHUB works and working with remote repositories as some of the question on the quizzes were specifically asking for those. Apart from that , so far this course is awesome! Cheers to the team for putting forth this course .

por Angela V C G

Aug 14, 2017

I love the way the course is organized, however there where a couple of things that wer outdated like the coursera api, and was a bit confusing follow the video.

Another improvement could be to code live instead to have the image of the code in the video.

Thanks for helping me to start my journey in rails :)

por Nicolas A T

Nov 18, 2019

It is a really nice course, the instructor explains the subjects very well, the only problem is the API used on the exercises is not available anymore and the last exercise requires rails 4 and it's kind of difficult to find out why the exercise is not approved even though the tests are passing locally.

por Jon M

Jun 11, 2017

generally a very well organised course. steps through the key knowledge very well, i bagan with no ruby or rails experience and got to the end without too much trouble. the most difficulty was the final assessment having the newer rails version installed and had to downgrade. otherwise very good.

por Elaine C

Nov 22, 2015

I enjoyed my first foray into Ruby on Rails!! Coming from a JavaScript background, Ruby was certainly refreshing. However, to really learn Ruby, I can see that I will need to spend a lot more time studying on my own. This course was good enough to get my feet wet, though!

por Rhitam D

Jun 16, 2018

The course is really good. The videos weren't clear on a few details, but that's to be expected as they have listed out reference books in case we want to delve deep into the concepts. After completing the course, however, you would want to continue working on rails.

por Roman

Sep 03, 2017

Thank you very much for this course!

I think, it's pretty good and you'll learn some basics of rails, but the second programming assignment could be better. In general, you should only follow instructions and repeat some steps from lectures on your own.

por Brian F

Feb 24, 2016

Solid introduction. I really liked the self-assessment checks of the coding assignments with rspec.

It would have been a nice touch if the coding examples adhered to the Ruby style guides a little better (Rubocop, rails linter, etc).

por Siddharth P

Jul 14, 2018

It's a great course for learning Ruby on Rails! The only critique I have is that it doesn't always show what errors one can have when using the command line and might be a bit out of date with newer operating systems.

por Antonio M T

Oct 03, 2015

Great introduccion course on Ruby on Rails, with some problems with the grader. Technical staff performing well, very good effort trying to figure out and solving the problems.

por Sim Y X

Jun 21, 2016

An excellent introduction to the Ruby Language and the Ruby on Rails framework. Lectures are a bit fast-paced, so learners may need to seek reference from external resources.

por William F

Apr 15, 2019

Although some of the things in the course were based on outdated versions of gems which can be irritating, the course itself was a good introduction to the way Ruby works.

por Kerollos M T

Mar 20, 2020

This course helped me start learning Ruby and RoR. It's a great start. a little outdated. If it gets updated to newer versions of Ruby and RoR, It will be awesome.

por Thiru

Mar 25, 2017

It is very much useful to the beginners who are thinking about their career in the software fields.Because this course is very much helpful to get an internships.

por Jean C

Sep 25, 2016

Great course with very useful insights and techniques, which would have taken me way more time if I tried to learn and develop it by myself. Totally recommend it.

por John P

May 17, 2017

Lectures are fairly good although they need to be updated. Homework submission is a headache and needs to be updated for the latest versions of gems as well.

por Pavan M

Mar 22, 2017

Nice Course, well structured.

Only issue faced was with Grader not letting to use Rails 5, please be aware of this and use Rails 4.2.8 and save some time. :)

por Ying X E

Oct 10, 2015

It was pretty interesting, although it may be fast at times. I find it particular engaging and interesting. I would definitely continue with the next course.

por M A M H

Apr 02, 2019

The course was good. But some of the tutorials are outdated and faced some difficulties to understand it. But overall a full package and was resourceful.

por Sampriti P

Sep 26, 2015

Very nice course! However, I felt the the Ruby part of the course was a bit fast paced and short and a little more time should have been spent on it.

por stephen

Jun 27, 2017

Needs to work with rails 5. Actual assignment for RoR isn't that long but making it work with the provided Gem file to pass the graded took a while.

por Joel H

Oct 29, 2015

This is a great introduction to ruby. Some of the assignments were tough to get your head around but once we really got into rails it was excellent

por Andrey S

Sep 01, 2016

I still have some problems with understanding of Ruby lang, but Ruby on Rails is taught excellent! (anyway this course about rails). Good luck!

por Ricky W D J

Jan 06, 2018

Great course! Learned a lot I didn't know about Ruby, and of course Rails. Needs updating on the coursera api usage in the httparty section.

por TOON D

May 18, 2017

The training was to the point and efficient. External tool dependencies can use an update as not all issues are covered in the wiki sections