Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
stars
1,747 classificações
526 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Sam R

Jan 21, 2019

Outdated. Should be kept current.

por David A H

Oct 08, 2018

This course might have been well taught...in 2015. In 2018 it is not a good option. Course staff is no where to be found and a lot of the examples have a lot of compatibility issues! Very frustrating to try to get anything done and feel like you are just wasting money. A whole week of lectures is even somewhat useless because of compatibility issues. I stopped my payments for this course after spending over week in trying to do the last graded assignment. Do NOT recommend until its updated and the course staff are more present.

por Haider H

May 05, 2019

The course is out of date. Assignment code is out of date. You have to install outdated gem versions and due to which run into various issues. Also the rspec test is buggy. I had to make changes in rspec test in the boilerplate to make it work.

por Pankaj K

Aug 03, 2018

Lectures were easy to understand but the material and the assignments were based on old versions of ruby on rails. Installing these old versions resulted in wastage of lot of my time.

por Dmitri B

May 29, 2019

really outdated and completely neglected

por Matthew B

Aug 13, 2018

OUT OF DATE. Ruby and Rails installation steps, if followed as presented in the course, will install versions of both that are incompatible with many of the code examples used in-course. I wasted more time working around the lack of support for new versions, than actually coding/learning. Help on the forums is sporadic at best.

While the content is occasionally enlightening, this course won't be viable as a career-jumpstarter until the teaching staff significantly overhaul its content for 2018/2019.

por Yifan Y

Jun 25, 2018

This is an abandoned course that is no longer supported. Examples shown from the lecture no longer works in real life. Lecture quality is quite poor as it spends heavily on easy things/terms while completely ignore or glance over confusing concepts. I do not recommend people taking this class unless they can do an update on this course.

por Bryan E

Aug 25, 2019

Do NOT pay money for this course! The grader and examples are so out of date and the ruby / rails ecosystem is so broken you'll spend most of your time trying to resolve bundler conflicts. I was absolutely unable to get a working environment for the end of this course.

Spend your money and time else where.

por sandeep v

Apr 24, 2019

videos are outdated could not work on it

por Youssef M A E F M N

Apr 04, 2018

The best courses to get your hand into the ruby world and experience the power of the language. The instructor doesn't waste any time and even hints some advanced tips and tricks of the trade along the way. Totally recommend it!

por Joshua D J

Nov 17, 2016

This course was a great way to review RoR. The lectures are well organized and the assignments are fun. The professor is there to answer questions and is quick to reply. Great experience!!

por Krishna

Dec 27, 2016

Thanks to Kalman Hazins and JHU for the wonderful introduction. The course provides for a hands on introduction to the MVC framework along with the Ruby programming and Rails deployment.

por Pedro V S d P

Nov 06, 2018

It's a good curse, but needs to be update to rails 5.

por Jose C G M

Jan 22, 2019

I like the content but definitely the submission and assessment should improve. The main problem is the version used in the videos is already quite old and difficult to get that version nowadays

por Brett W

Feb 01, 2019

Old versions of Ruby and Rails make the exercises a chore.

por Christine G

Oct 27, 2018

I kind of learned things from the videos but I was not able to write my own programs later on from what I learned! Wasn't of much help!

por Waqas A

Dec 06, 2015

I have completed this course. This course was awesome. Video lecture were very self explainable. I could also discuss on discussion forums. Really impressed by this course. I know this is one of six courses. But the learning material was limited. There should be more examples.There should be some optional assignments and there should be more emphasis on the quizzes. There was only one quiz in the whole course.

I suggest there should be quizzes and coding examples for each module separately and and after each video there should be some lecture quiz. The lecture quiz should have less percentage towards final grades.

There should be some passing grades like 70% or more for passing.

As I have completed this course without verified certificate. There is no even unverified certificate for me. EDX is offering Course performance certificate and Honor Code certificate for free users. I will appreciate these steps to encourage people to follow the course.

Thanks for offering this course

Grateful to Coursera and University Team

por Caspar A

May 18, 2016

If you have some background programming in another language, and some familiarity with HTML/CSS, this course does a fantastic job introducing both Ruby and Rails. The first week walks you through machine and environment setup, the second walks through the basics of the Ruby programming language, and the third walks through using the Rails framework to develop simple websites in Ruby. All the lessons are laid out clearly with solid examples.

That said, this is not a beginner course. It really only spends a week covering how to program in Ruby, and Ruby has some quirks that make it a challenging first language. If you're brand new to programming, do yourself a favor and take an introductory course first.

por Saif A F

Apr 04, 2016

Professor Kalman Hazins is a wonderful teacher.

Initially I felt that the course wasn't structured very well but that feeling dissipated as I went ahead with the course. My only complain with this course is that the content of the assignments can sometimes be very vague. Things are sometimes introduced into the assignment which haven't even been mentioned in the lectures. That being said, you actually learn a lot by tinkering with the code.

And that is where the support comes in. The support offered by this course is absolutely fantastic. Professor Hazins takes out time to personally reply on discussion forums which is pretty great! The mentors are A+ too.

Overall, I would recommend it.

por Artemis O

Mar 04, 2017

Very practical, makes easy for the student to go over the installation and configuration hubs, to-the-point introduction to Ruby on Rails. At the end of this course, I was able to write a decent looking web application, develop an understanding of the core concepts, and obtain many references to the helpful technologies and documentation. This course might have been better only if it were revised for the versions of 2017: if the student ignores the specificity of the versions in the initial installation instructions, the final homework will to be rejected by the automated grader. Shorty put, most recent Rails version is not compatible with Ruby 4.2.x.

por Luis M

Jan 18, 2017

Overall this is a great course, but I do wish that the written materials be revised and clarified. The course videos are great! Prof. Kalman Hazins approach is prefect for online teaching! However, the instructions for the programming assignments were not as clear as they needed to be. There was more than one occasion where I had to spend considerable time trying to figure out what was being asked. And for a newie, any amount of confusion can stop can be completely debilitating and frustrating. It can be the difference between giving up and becoming a developer.

por Ryan D

Jun 16, 2018

Guys, Apart form the incredible quality of course content, which is in itself an privilege as I got this course on financial aid, the best and by far the most awesome thing about this course is there are intentional pitfalls designed in the challenges itself. The challenges are written to give you hints on what is necessary and this makes you go through the documentation of the respective components which is a super awesome thing. Would recommend it if anyone is excited to learn Ruby on Rails and thanks a tonne Coursera for this privilege.

por David S

Sep 05, 2015

Looks like a good aproach to Rails aplication development. It touchs lots of rails world things, from basic ones to more avanzed, like code testing. And the lectures show lot's of good rails gems and utilities.

I like much the point on making some initial lectures about configuring the development enviroment. In others courses I take, people were disapointed and have lots of troubles configuring a working rails enviroment.

Sure that I will take it to refresh my old knowledge on rails and sure that I learn something new by the way !

por Mario F I C

Aug 08, 2016

This course is not for beginner programmers. You should have some background on programming (as a whole), you should know object oriented programming concepts and if you want to make the most out of it, I recommend that you have a little knowledge on HTML, CSS and on how the web processes requests (when you access a website for instance). That aside, this course is a great way to learn the basics of both Ruby and Ruby on Rails. I have experience programming on PHP using the web framework Laravel. I enjoyed this course a lot.

por Viacheslav S

Dec 27, 2016

This course is really well done (structure, material, examples, tests etc.). It is especially useful for people who already know some programming language. It provides a complete representation of good application (git, tests (rspec + Capybara + phantomjs) , heroku, using some API etc).

The course contains only 3 modules, but this modules contains essential information for junior RoR developer.

Also I'd recommend to read "Head First Ruby" during the course. The course and the book helped me to dive into ruby during one week.