Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
1,747 classificações
526 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Giuseppe V

Feb 28, 2016

I really liked this course! I learned a lot about ruby and the way the professor teach us is really great! It's not annoying like other videos or books for those who doesn't like to read too much (like me) Amazing job! thanks you for everything

por Daichi Y

Nov 18, 2018

Versions of packages are a bit old, but overall it was the best introduction to Ruby on Rails compared to other resources that I have tried! I have experience in Java, so the part that he talked about the difference from Java was also helpful.

por Vern

Jan 09, 2017

Well designed, well delivered, with good pedagogy. Prof Hazins did a great job in making the material understandable, but yet challenging.

I learned a lot about Ruby/Rails/Web Devepoment from this one course. Look forward to the others.

Thanks

por Christiane H

Jul 04, 2016

Fantastic course! Not too slow or fast, plenty of content covered well with references for more detail.

I did spend way longer than 2-3 hours for each week's lessons though, more like 3 solid days from start to the end of the assignment.

por Manuel A C

Aug 02, 2017

Muy buen curso, me gusto el uso de APIRest en lugar de usar una base de datos, como normalmente se hace, ya que estas se ven en mas detalle en el siguiente curso de la especialización, asi aprendí a usar una herramienta que no conocía.

por Velizar D

Dec 14, 2016

The course video materials are excellent. The tempo is little bit too fast. But for someone that is an actual programmer the tempo is manageable. I've learned a lot of new stuff thanks to this course! And I'm grateful for that.

por Eron F d C J

Mar 17, 2016

Professor Hazins has a wonderful way to teach and each lesson is ideally designed to provide the user a full understanding of Ruby and Ruby on Rails. It by far one of the best courses I have ever taken here, on Coursera.

por Guannan C

Jul 09, 2019

this is my first online course in this field, i will never regret choosing this course. Although there are some problem in the process, I learned to use stack overflow to solve the unexpected problem and learned a lot.

por Kat T

Oct 15, 2016

Great intro to Ruby & Rails with enough help to get you going, but not so hand-holding as to be inane for an experienced programmer. Would definitely recommend for programmers who want to learn another language.

por Matt W

Apr 02, 2017

A really nice way to get introduced to the whole framework. You don't spend too much time on any one subject. Instead, you get your feet wet with Ruby, the very basics of Rails, and how hosting on Heroku works.

por Bernard L d V

Apr 15, 2016

Nice course, lots of information. I liked the level not being too low or too high. The level is nice for if you have programming experience, but have no experience with developing web applications.

Cheers, Ben

por Henk M

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

por Michael B

May 02, 2016

Good intro, nice to mix in the various concepts that I will be working with as well (Heroku, Git, etc.). Also appreciated the Java comparisons since I have been working in Java for 15 years.

por Gabriel T d C

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.

The course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....

Try it, I't's a no-return voyage

por ANANDAKRISHNAN S

Dec 29, 2017

A Solid introductory course to beginning Ruby on Rails. The assignments and projects are so to the point and really helps in reinforcing what's learnt during the course. Good job team.

por Holger P

Aug 02, 2017

Great course! Nice introduction to Ruby and Ruby on Rails plus a thorough guide on how to set up your development environment (this is where I usually get frustrated in other courses).

por Kevin J

Mar 21, 2016

Really great resources + lectures to help for a cool introduction. Really like the available code in the github which helped me better understand the material past the lectures.

por Scott B

Jan 03, 2017

This course provided very accessible startup material. The most valuable piece, I think, was the introduction to Git - it provides a very powerful tool set for its users.

por Maciej Z

Apr 25, 2016

I like very much this course. It is very useful. It was very easy for me to understand content. I would like to mention here that I haven't used RoR or Ruby itself before.

por Laxmikant P

Dec 12, 2016

It is an excellent introduction to Rails and the best part is the learning from assignments at end of each week and the final project. It is a well thought out course.

por Kate B

Jan 18, 2016

This was a really great intro to Ruby on Rails. Challenging yet I was still able to work through challenges. Excellent instructor & mentor support in discussions!!!

por Renan B P

Aug 16, 2016

Very good course which explains Ruby well. If you have familiarity with any other programming language it shouldn't be too hard.

Could, however, use more exercises.

por Luca A

Apr 01, 2016

It was great to learn from Mr. Kalman and his crew, they are very supportive and helpful on the assignments as well. Looking for the second course already. Cheers.

por Julio J R

May 30, 2017

Excelente la educación de este curso, buena didáctica, atención en todo momento, muchas gracias por ofrecer este curso con profesores tan altamente profesionales.

por Toan D L

Jan 06, 2017

Short course but enough challenging and interesting. I really like the short course to update my skills on web development...3-5 week course are really good!