Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
1,843 classificações
564 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

526 — 549 de 549 Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Kristoffer H

Sep 23, 2015

Are you a struggling programmer? Someone who doesn't know how to install software via command line? Not experienced with GitHub? If any of those describe you then this is not the course for you. The professors seem to create an environment where if you are too new to anything, then you should take a different course(even though every module has "introduction to .." in the title). Does Coursera offer introductory courses to Ruby or Ruby on Rails other than this "introduction" course? No.

por Deleted A

May 02, 2020

This uses an out-of-date Rails version (v4) and Bundler version (v1), which proved incompatible with the latest technologies I work with daily. The instructions were outdated as a result. This course looks promising, but I don't think learning Rails 4 makes a lot of sense in 2020. After a half hour of troubleshooting issues with Bundler v1, and no apparent help in the forums, I regretfully cancelled my subscription.

por Miniapple E

Apr 02, 2016

This is by far the worse course I'd ever had taken. If you are a beginner I suggest you go look somewhere else. The software installation is hardly explained (the instructor writes a whole bunch of code in the terminal without even explaining correctly what we are writing). I abandonned this course because the instructions were not clear enough.

por Patrick J F

Jun 05, 2018

Nothing really learned. Teaching does not reflect exam. You need to read a book to answer questions for exam and if that is the case, why am I taking this class if they are not going to teach what is going to be tested? Poor and not clear. Little provided and alot asked. Again, if i need to find the answer someplace else - why have this class??

por Mark K

Dec 01, 2017

The materials in this foundational course are in need of updating. They should use ruby and rails versions which are supported by current interations of the mainline linux providors. This course does not reflect will on Johns Hopkins University.

por Rubem F S V

Jul 08, 2020

Outdated content, it shouldn't be available anymore, to be honest. You have to make a really big effort to pass the final test (that the goal is very easy) because of the old versions and dependencies.

por Cristobal S

Jan 31, 2016

Very bad course too fast is not an introduction more like a remember of things, this course try to covers too much information in 3 weeks and the assigments are not well guided and messy

por Guiomar J V

Dec 10, 2019

Outdated content, deprecated APIs on assignments, bad support, not great videos. Overall, more udemy quality than udacity, coursera is quality is clearly slipping since its great starts

por Melissa B

Dec 02, 2017

The course materials are so out-of-date that they are wrong. I wasted hours of my time each week trying to figure out how to fix the instructors' failure to update the materials.

por DT D

Sep 27, 2015

No accurate help, no feedback on the graders, 2 out of 3 assignments where not specified correctly, or just wrong... this course will only teach you to be frustrated.

por Agnes S

Feb 14, 2016

It assusmes quite a lot of things about web programming… and the assignments were too complex to just practice what we should learn in an introductory course.

por Иван Ч

Aug 26, 2019

The course hasn't been updated in nearly five years. Third week assignment's grader is broken. Rails 6 is out and this course still suggests Rails 4.2.

por Karl K

May 16, 2016

Wordy, dirge like. The topic is interesting but the exposition is so boring - the reading of a lecture outline - that I'd rather study on my own 8-(

por Bruce D

Mar 25, 2020

Withdrawing. This is so old there are lots of version incompatibilities and from the looks of posts in the forum it takes days to sort things out.

por Mahdi B

Oct 15, 2017

Awful. Courses are not detailed, Lack of support in the forums, absolutely not helpful for someone who just started studying Ruby on Rails

por Matthew

Nov 04, 2016

Horrible. The tests make very little sense, use elements not described in the course and is generally very confusing.

por George K

Jan 01, 2016

A lot of things (Ruby version controls, PhantomJS installation) from this course don't work on Mac OS X El Capitan.

por Marcelo E J S

Apr 30, 2018

The material is outdated. The examples don't work and it's frustrating to learn something on legacy mode.

por Piyush P

Nov 09, 2017

Very narrow course. It clearly shows the difference between MOOC and practical real courses.

por qichao j

Mar 23, 2018

this courses really reading ppt only nothing learned

por Junbeom L

Feb 22, 2017

Please update the given Gemfile in Homework.

por Mohaimin A A

Nov 16, 2015

Difficult to follow with no live coding.

por Ahmed A A

May 24, 2020

it was a very poor intro about Ruby.

por Giannis F

Apr 02, 2016

bad instructor