Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,719 classificações
517 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

476 — 500 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por A. l B

Oct 23, 2016

Lacks of structure.

References multiple tools/programs "that we won't detail in this course" (... why are they talked about then ?).

I'm almost finished but am struggling to find motivation for it.

After having done the great "HTML, CSS and JavaScript" course, the contrast is hard to cope with.

por Wei J H

Jun 26, 2017

This course is not suitable for beginner. I have basic knowledge on Ruby on Rails prior taking this course. Overall, it improve my understanding and knowledge on Ruby on Rails.

The materials need an update.

Programming is those skills you need constantly practicing, I hope the teaching style can be improved by providing more follow along video tutorial instead of lectures slides.

por Marcelo E J S

Apr 30, 2018

The material is outdated. The examples don't work and it's frustrating to learn something on legacy mode.

por Melissa B

Dec 02, 2017

The course materials are so out-of-date that they are wrong. I wasted hours of my time each week trying to figure out how to fix the instructors' failure to update the materials.

por Agnes S

Feb 14, 2016

It assusmes quite a lot of things about web programming… and the assignments were too complex to just practice what we should learn in an introductory course.

por Matthew

Nov 04, 2016

Horrible. The tests make very little sense, use elements not described in the course and is generally very confusing.

por Mark K

Dec 01, 2017

The materials in this foundational course are in need of updating. They should use ruby and rails versions which are supported by current interations of the mainline linux providors. This course does not reflect will on Johns Hopkins University.

por Ricky

Mar 18, 2016

I am afraid this is going to be a rather negative review. Having completed over 10 Coursera courses over the year, and numerous other online classes, this is officially the worst. For me personally, the whole course was a complete waste of time. Put it simply, the presenter can't teach, at least not the MOOCs. There were no structure. The instructions were all over the place, and explanations were inadequate. After drumming how important to actually "code", he proceeded to present the whole lecture showing small pieces of codes.... on slides. After touting how cool and useful Sublime is as a developer tool, he didn't even use it. After telling everyone how useful regular expression is but not part of this course (so he won't explain), he went on to use regular expressions for all the sample codes for the rest of the lecture. As mentioned, there was no structure as to how he present Ruby/Rails as a programming platform. It was bits of code here, bits of code there. Beside getting a feel of what Ruby syntax is like, there was no learning. I am aware there are suggested readings, but then why doing this MOOC at all.

As I check out other courses from the same Ruby specialization, the student numbers are getting smaller. Hardly everyone post on the forums, I also check the Classmates map. I suspect many simply gave up since the Intro classes were so bad. It's really not hard to find better material to learn Ruby/Rails, even just slightly better, even YouTube videos. I am frustrated at myself for putting in the effort (really try) and wasted days. I am leaving this course and unlikely to sign up any MOOC from the same team again.

por Cristóbal A S V

Jan 31, 2016

Very bad course too fast is not an introduction more like a remember of things, this course try to covers too much information in 3 weeks and the assigments are not well guided and messy

por Giannis F

Apr 02, 2016

bad instructor

por George K

Jan 01, 2016

A lot of things (Ruby version controls, PhantomJS installation) from this course don't work on Mac OS X El Capitan.

por DT D

Sep 27, 2015

No accurate help, no feedback on the graders, 2 out of 3 assignments where not specified correctly, or just wrong... this course will only teach you to be frustrated.

por Mohaimin A A

Nov 16, 2015

Difficult to follow with no live coding.

por Dan P

Mar 11, 2017

Overall I was disappointed with this course. In the end I don't think it was any better than any of the free online tutorials out there. The instructor spoke so quickly in the videos he was nearly incomprehensible. The explanations were incomplete at best and most of the time amounted to nothing more than "type this... now type this.". I'm well aware that the only way to learn programming is by doing it yourself, but if I pay for a course I expect an explanation of how things work under the hood. I was looking forward to taking the entire Ruby On Rails specialization, now I'm not so sure.

por Karl K

May 16, 2016

Wordy, dirge like. The topic is interesting but the exposition is so boring - the reading of a lecture outline - that I'd rather study on my own 8-(

por Kristoffer H

Sep 23, 2015

Are you a struggling programmer? Someone who doesn't know how to install software via command line? Not experienced with GitHub? If any of those describe you then this is not the course for you. The professors seem to create an environment where if you are too new to anything, then you should take a different course(even though every module has "introduction to .." in the title). Does Coursera offer introductory courses to Ruby or Ruby on Rails other than this "introduction" course? No.

por Junbeom L

Feb 22, 2017

Please update the given Gemfile in Homework.

por Erikka I

Feb 13, 2017

I thought this course was very disappointing, to the point where I'm not able to finish it. In week one, we learned some basics. In week two, the entire language was dumped on us with no real exercises. Then we were asked to write some programs. The programs didn't build knowledge piece by piece - it was just learn the language, now write these random programs. It was very disappointing. I sign up for courses because I want to learn piece by piece and get to practice each new thing. If someone is going to dump the whole of Ruby on me in 1 week I don't need the class, I can buy a book and get the same experience. There also wasn't a good grader provided. This really took the joy out of programming. I keep thinking I'll come back and finish the class but I haven't so far because I dislike how it's presented so much. A true disappointment.

por Andrew O

Feb 16, 2016

Poor help with instructions. Was trying to install to Linux while reading the video screen as there is little documentation or any actual explanation as to what you're doing. Got to a part where a command on my terminal wouldn't work and given I have no idea how it works to begin with I couldn't debug the issue.

Also as a general review of the little of the course I did it's generally considered poor form to just read back what the viewer can see on the screen already when doing presentations. Was disappointed with this course.

por Piyush P

Nov 09, 2017

Very narrow course. It clearly shows the difference between MOOC and practical real courses.

por Derek H

Dec 18, 2017

This course is mostly terrible. From how the class is laid out, to the instruction and the coursework/assignments. Week 1 is a joke, waste of time. Week 2 really should be split into 2 different weeks. The examples gone in Week 3 in the "lectures" can no longer be followed. Week 2 is missing like 30% of what you actually have to do in the homework. You will spend more time fighting with the RSPEC output and digging in the forums for answers instead of learning the material. Oh, and if you have issues with how people talk on a microphone, this one is definitely not for you.

por P F

Jun 05, 2018

Nothing really learned. Teaching does not reflect exam. You need to read a book to answer questions for exam and if that is the case, why am I taking this class if they are not going to teach what is going to be tested? Poor and not clear. Little provided and alot asked. Again, if i need to find the answer someplace else - why have this class??

por Emily C

Apr 02, 2016

This is by far the worse course I'd ever had taken. If you are a beginner I suggest you go look somewhere else. The software installation is hardly explained (the instructor writes a whole bunch of code in the terminal without even explaining correctly what we are writing). I abandonned this course because the instructions were not clear enough.

por Mahdi B

Oct 15, 2017

Awful. Courses are not detailed, Lack of support in the forums, absolutely not helpful for someone who just started studying Ruby on Rails

por qichao j

Mar 23, 2018

this courses really reading ppt only nothing learned