Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
1,838 classificações
562 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

376 — 400 de 547 Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Jean C

Sep 25, 2016

Great course with very useful insights and techniques, which would have taken me way more time if I tried to learn and develop it by myself. Totally recommend it.

por John P

May 17, 2017

Lectures are fairly good although they need to be updated. Homework submission is a headache and needs to be updated for the latest versions of gems as well.

por Pavan M

Mar 22, 2017

Nice Course, well structured.

Only issue faced was with Grader not letting to use Rails 5, please be aware of this and use Rails 4.2.8 and save some time. :)

por Ying X E

Oct 10, 2015

It was pretty interesting, although it may be fast at times. I find it particular engaging and interesting. I would definitely continue with the next course.

por M A M H

Apr 02, 2019

The course was good. But some of the tutorials are outdated and faced some difficulties to understand it. But overall a full package and was resourceful.

por Sampriti P

Sep 26, 2015

Very nice course! However, I felt the the Ruby part of the course was a bit fast paced and short and a little more time should have been spent on it.

por stephen

Jun 27, 2017

Needs to work with rails 5. Actual assignment for RoR isn't that long but making it work with the provided Gem file to pass the graded took a while.

por Joel H

Oct 29, 2015

This is a great introduction to ruby. Some of the assignments were tough to get your head around but once we really got into rails it was excellent

por Andrey S

Sep 01, 2016

I still have some problems with understanding of Ruby lang, but Ruby on Rails is taught excellent! (anyway this course about rails). Good luck!

por Ricky W D J

Jan 06, 2018

Great course! Learned a lot I didn't know about Ruby, and of course Rails. Needs updating on the coursera api usage in the httparty section.

por TOON D

May 18, 2017

The training was to the point and efficient. External tool dependencies can use an update as not all issues are covered in the wiki sections

por Thiago P B

Jul 20, 2016

Very good introduction to Rails! Well-organized and structured course! Totally worth it if you are a beginner or intermediate rubyist!

por Mario M A

Oct 07, 2015

Excellent explanations however, should be sure of do not make comparisons with other programmatic languages since it cause confusions

por Vishal B

Sep 05, 2016

Overall the course was good. The final assignment had some details missing and found myself struggling for some very trivial issues.

por Boonchu N

Oct 17, 2015

Execellent class for Ruby beginner and can be applicable to any other language that use as CM like Chef or Puppet as a requirement.

por Draden G

Jul 23, 2017

Some of the coding didn't line up with what was in the lectures, the course had a ton of knowledge and was a great introduction.

por chen h

Jan 31, 2017

Good. But as the course is rather short, knowledge is not covered in detail and may easily be forgotten without extra practice.

por Anosha R

Jul 10, 2020

Some course content is outdated as there is a very new version of Rails available now but nonetheless, the intuition is great!

por Piotr

Jan 07, 2017

It was a really good course, although a bit 'dry' (lessons were similar to each other and thus tiring in longer perspective).

por Prasad M Z

Jun 11, 2020

The course was really great. It was lengthy but it felt like a pleasant journey. Thank you for providing such a nice course.

por 师照照

May 24, 2018

To complete the homework, you must understand every word that teacher told in the video. For this course, I spent 3 weeks.

por Sean R

Jul 01, 2018

Good course but incompatible with rails 5. Cryptic errors by automatic graders make submitting assignments a huge hassle.

por Sarah W

Mar 07, 2016

Great start to rails, provided a practical intro. Could have used a little more frequent practice actually writing code.

por Stefan P

May 26, 2020

Solid. I would recommend modifying the 3rd module as it is out dated and is a bit of a hack job in the current state.

por Patrick C

Nov 08, 2015

The course was handled well. I would have given it 5 stars if the last exercise's test case didn't have a bug.