Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,727 classificações
518 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Ramiro R R

Sep 29, 2015

Curso muy completo.

por Jay P

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent introduction to Ruby on Rails.

por Larynx K

Nov 20, 2016

Thanks for great course.

por Usama b Q

Dec 26, 2015

This is Good course For the Beginners, Well done to the

por Waqas A

Dec 06, 2015

I have completed this course. This course was awesome. Video lecture were very self explainable. I could also discuss on discussion forums. Really impressed by this course. I know this is one of six courses. But the learning material was limited. There should be more examples.There should be some optional assignments and there should be more emphasis on the quizzes. There was only one quiz in the whole course.

I suggest there should be quizzes and coding examples for each module separately and and after each video there should be some lecture quiz. The lecture quiz should have less percentage towards final grades.

There should be some passing grades like 70% or more for passing.

As I have completed this course without verified certificate. There is no even unverified certificate for me. EDX is offering Course performance certificate and Honor Code certificate for free users. I will appreciate these steps to encourage people to follow the course.

Thanks for offering this course

Grateful to Coursera and University Team

por Yuri V

Feb 29, 2016

This course gives a very solid foundation, and it is highly recommended for those who want to get a firm grip on the Ruby on Rails development techniques. I am personally impressed with how test driven development is seamlessly integrated into the course material.

por Kuolai S

Jan 15, 2016

The name of the course says "introduction" but the assignments of the course make the learning of Ruby on Rails a complete rewarding experience. I have been practiced self learning on Ruby on Rails and did not go very far. This course consolidate my past experience such as environment setup (DOS, git, devkit, SSL), OOP, and RESTful API to get data from other sites.

por Fuad H

Dec 11, 2016

This is a great course. I highly recommended it!

por Paul B

Sep 16, 2016

Great course.

por Luis P

Oct 02, 2015

I love this course.

por Nurlan S

Jun 02, 2017

Very good organized course. Easy to understand.

por Zafar T

Oct 08, 2016

Nice introduction

por Aleksei S

Jul 16, 2016

Awesome course! Great staff.

por Silvia T

Mar 24, 2016

Great course! Thanks a lot!

por Saulo H R

Oct 20, 2015

A Complete course to learn from zero!!!

por Semsudin A

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent

por Robbie H

Oct 04, 2015

Kalman Hazins is a great instructor. His lessons are well prepared, no fluff, to the point. As a bonus I can imagine getting taught by Christpher Walkin.

por Yechen H

Nov 17, 2015

Very good introduction to RoR

por Muhammad F S

Feb 21, 2016

In only just three weeks time this course provided me enough knowledge and guidance that I felt confident enough to start creating my own simple Rails applications. I'm enrolled now in the second course of this specialization to continue my journey on becoming a better Rails developer.

por Giorgio P F G T

Jun 10, 2016

Very good course. Covers a lot of Ruby and a little of Rails. It was possible to see how simple is to put a working site on air.

por Vern

Jan 09, 2017

Well designed, well delivered, with good pedagogy. Prof Hazins did a great job in making the material understandable, but yet challenging.

I learned a lot about Ruby/Rails/Web Devepoment from this one course. Look forward to the others.

Thanks

por srinivaas g

Aug 19, 2017

A pretty crisp and fast paced course for Ruby on Rails. Enough for someone who is starting at a work place using RoR to get started. The course assumes moderate programming experience and even moderate web knowledge. Overall, very enjoyable course !

por Caspar A

May 18, 2016

If you have some background programming in another language, and some familiarity with HTML/CSS, this course does a fantastic job introducing both Ruby and Rails. The first week walks you through machine and environment setup, the second walks through the basics of the Ruby programming language, and the third walks through using the Rails framework to develop simple websites in Ruby. All the lessons are laid out clearly with solid examples.

That said, this is not a beginner course. It really only spends a week covering how to program in Ruby, and Ruby has some quirks that make it a challenging first language. If you're brand new to programming, do yourself a favor and take an introductory course first.

por Asfand Y A R

Feb 04, 2017

Excellent course. i have learnt a lot from this course and the instructor is very cooperative. looking forward to do the next course

por Cyril

Jan 21, 2016

I learned ruby during my school career. We made a chat with server and client.

I enjoyed working on rails.