Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,730 classificações
519 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Anoop T P

Sep 21, 2015

Great Course.

por Sharan S

Aug 07, 2016

Good for beginners.

por Miguel A J R

Dec 05, 2015

I excellent for beginners who have some previous knowledge in programming or have used any other programming language.

por Marcio N F

Dec 05, 2016

Yes!... You can learn!

Great course. I recommend it.

por Mohamed S F

Apr 26, 2017

thanks for great course

por David P N

Sep 23, 2016

Good teacher and lots of code and material.

Beginners developers might struggle a little, but there is lots of help.

por Fermin M C

Oct 20, 2015

Great course, teach the basics of ruby, rails and heroku.

por Holger P

Aug 02, 2017

Great course! Nice introduction to Ruby and Ruby on Rails plus a thorough guide on how to set up your development environment (this is where I usually get frustrated in other courses).

por Igor T

Jan 04, 2016

Not too difficult, and covering useful things like git and heroku

por Jean-Luc B

Nov 02, 2015

Great course. I learned a lot. Thank you very much

por Jesús S M

Nov 23, 2015

Well structured and organised. Great tutors as well.

por Marcelo B d B

Feb 03, 2016

Excellent introductory coverage of Ruby and RoR topics. Nice and interesting graded assignments.

por Luis M

Jan 18, 2017

Overall this is a great course, but I do wish that the written materials be revised and clarified. The course videos are great! Prof. Kalman Hazins approach is prefect for online teaching! However, the instructions for the programming assignments were not as clear as they needed to be. There was more than one occasion where I had to spend considerable time trying to figure out what was being asked. And for a newie, any amount of confusion can stop can be completely debilitating and frustrating. It can be the difference between giving up and becoming a developer.

por Maciej Z

Apr 25, 2016

I like very much this course. It is very useful. It was very easy for me to understand content. I would like to mention here that I haven't used RoR or Ruby itself before.

por Ramón C D

Mar 02, 2017

This is a great course and a great teacher. I learned the basics of ruby (language) and Ruby on Rails, as well as other tools such as heroku and rspec. I particularly loved what I could do with Blackbox testing using ruby and rspec, as well as easy deploying to heroku.

I actually enjoyed this course and I'm looking forward to start the next one!

por AlbertGT

Jun 06, 2017

Excelent, very complete. I did not know anything about Ruby before and now I think I have a good base. The assignments are short but helpful, very well selected. Also help at the beginning with the installation is much appreciated, few tutorials have it.

Thanks! You gained a follower :)

por Christiane H

Jul 04, 2016

Fantastic course! Not too slow or fast, plenty of content covered well with references for more detail.

I did spend way longer than 2-3 hours for each week's lessons though, more like 3 solid days from start to the end of the assignment.

por Patrick L

Feb 09, 2016

Highly recommended for people wanting to learn Ruby on Rails. Essential if you want to have a good basic knowledge.

por carlos g

May 31, 2018

single word GREAT!

por Serjey G I

Oct 01, 2015

Very informative and concise course!

por João G G F V

Oct 01, 2016

Good Stuff

por Ivan T

Feb 12, 2016

Very cool course advice to everyone. Well explained material and a lot of useful staff.

por Joana D L

Jul 25, 2017

Learn a lot! Well teached! Awesome Ruby :) <3

por Alan M S

Feb 15, 2016

A lot of things to learn even if you are a rails dev!

por Jason K

Nov 07, 2015

A very nice introduction. The assignments are very good at helping students apply the concepts from the course.