Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,738 classificações
523 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

276 — 300 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Vincent T

May 30, 2019

Great introduction

por Guannan C

Jul 09, 2019

this is my first online course in this field, i will never regret choosing this course. Although there are some problem in the process, I learned to use stack overflow to solve the unexpected problem and learned a lot.

por Bradley G

Jul 26, 2019

I am finishing this course this month. Its been 4 years. I think the instructor is brilliant, the fact that he is Jewish is brilliant. I used to speak Yiddish as a kid, some of his comments are delightful.The course was very useful in that you focus on what is important to expand on later.

por Mohammed H

Aug 12, 2019

Nice course for person with a little background in programming in Java or C++

por Alejandro L C

Oct 31, 2019

Excelent course!

por Luis A A C

Nov 19, 2019

Excellent course, very well explained.

It is a pity that the web site where the api needed for the last assignment was not working.

por Ted H

Nov 28, 2019

Ruby is a magical language. Literally. So much in Ruby appears to happen by magic that it is actually very disconcerting to a more traditional programmers (like me) who can trace every call back to its source. With Ruby (or more precisely with Rails) you have to let go and have faith that the magic will somehow achieve your objectives. This course does a great job of introducing you to how the magic works, and starts unveiling what's behind the curtain. A great introduction to the language!

por Holger P

Aug 02, 2017

Great course! Nice introduction to Ruby and Ruby on Rails plus a thorough guide on how to set up your development environment (this is where I usually get frustrated in other courses).

por Moez B

Jul 12, 2016

Excellent job. Great course.

por Hassan Z

Sep 10, 2019

Learn by doing! a good introduction to RoR!

por huzefa s

Sep 10, 2019

The course has really helped me to learn ruby on rails which is a complex application development technique in a very simple manner. All the modules and assignments in the course are developed keeping the end user in mind and to enhance his/her development skills and understanding of this course. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who would want to learn ruby on rails and develop his.her development skills in this platform

por Joyesh D

Oct 07, 2019

superb course

por Lenin W C G

Aug 23, 2016

Rubisur.org

por Patrick L

Feb 09, 2016

Highly recommended for people wanting to learn Ruby on Rails. Essential if you want to have a good basic knowledge.

por Edgar J S R

Dec 04, 2016

This course is a very good option to start your adventure in Ruby on Rails framework. It starts from the very beginning, I mean, you learn some Git, how to set up your programming environment in order to use Rails, Ruby and useful tools like PhantomJS, and much more. The graded assignments are way too good, because they force you to learn and use the things you just learned and a little more. I highly recommend it to people with some (but not that much) experience in programming. Thanks!

por Milos R

Aug 16, 2016

An example of how a course should look like. It has everything you need to learn :

1) good videos

2) good materials

3) a teacher that is active on the forum

4) very well explained projects

5/5 would recommend :D

Going of to listen second part of this specializations.

por Pham T D

Dec 25, 2016

very good instruction!

por Kamal P

Oct 22, 2017

I am an undergraduate engineering student and this is my first course from Coursera. I am very thankful to Coursera for providing me a great opportunity to learn a new web framework and get a verified certificate. Today after completing this course i know that i am few steps ahead on pursuing my dream. I did it ! more to come.

por Shekhar P

Dec 18, 2016

Awesome course designed by professor...very well explaining means why it's need and where we can use it. That's important because without know use of any technology it will be hard to understand. But here I got every thing about Ruby and Rails details. Thanks Professors.

por Fabricio O

Jan 09, 2016

It's a great course for beginners in Rails. Mainly if you get a language like Java (has lot of comparisons)

por Le X H

Nov 01, 2016

I'm very interested in this course. The introduction is very good for beginners in Rails.

por Carlos R S A

Nov 01, 2017

It's very good, for me was very important to learn how to consume data from third-party APIs.

por Anoop T P

Sep 21, 2015

Great Course.

por Padmanaban G

Dec 17, 2015

I have been learning ruby on rails for a year now, introduction to ruby in this course helped me a lot in understand ruby programming classes and it's object orientation. Course explained a lot why i need to be ruby expert to shine as rails developer.

It also helped me to understand lot of stuffs which i did blindly in rails before, like adding attr_accessor in class etc., are actually from ruby.

I'm glad I found this course. Looking forward to do next module.

por Valery b

Jun 03, 2017

Great theorical and practical classes. Exercices and video need to be updated for new rails and ruby version though.