Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,736 classificações
522 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Angela V C G

Aug 14, 2017

I love the way the course is organized, however there where a couple of things that wer outdated like the coursera api, and was a bit confusing follow the video.

Another improvement could be to code live instead to have the image of the code in the video.

Thanks for helping me to start my journey in rails :)

por Antonio M T

Oct 03, 2015

Great introduccion course on Ruby on Rails, with some problems with the grader. Technical staff performing well, very good effort trying to figure out and solving the problems.

por Ismael G M C

Dec 27, 2017

I hate activity for week 2, it was the worst

por Richard C

Sep 26, 2015

Nice start

por Sanele

Jun 09, 2016

Great class

por Ignacio C

May 31, 2016

Good course, and the full stack specialization is an excelent idea.

Thanks !

por Adrian F

Nov 27, 2016

Good way to start with ruby and rails.

por sujay s

Dec 28, 2015

I just completed module 1 and the coursework was good. I really wanted some more explanation and examples on how GITHUB works and working with remote repositories as some of the question on the quizzes were specifically asking for those. Apart from that , so far this course is awesome! Cheers to the team for putting forth this course .

por Joel H

Oct 29, 2015

This is a great introduction to ruby. Some of the assignments were tough to get your head around but once we really got into rails it was excellent

por Geyang H

Sep 28, 2015

Several mistakes in the programming assignment.

por Patrick C

Nov 08, 2015

The course was handled well. I would have given it 5 stars if the last exercise's test case didn't have a bug.

por Manuel A M

Sep 10, 2017

The course itself is good, although I think that some topics need more elaboration and were shallowly touched, like how HTTParty works. However the rest of the topics were explained nicely, and what I also liked are the exercises, they really help putting all the theory together, and I think that maybe some more of them should be added to the course

por Roman

Sep 03, 2017

Thank you very much for this course!

I think, it's pretty good and you'll learn some basics of rails, but the second programming assignment could be better. In general, you should only follow instructions and repeat some steps from lectures on your own.

por Marta C

Feb 29, 2016

Why 4 and not 5?

I had problems with the 2nd assignment, because the instructions (what was expected for me to return in the tests) weren't clear enough and if it wasn't for the forum, I'd still probably be stuck there. It might be that there was a "good practices while coding" was missing, ie. "Why to declare something as nil while you assume it's going to be an array?" or "Why and when to initialize variables?"

Apart from that the whole thing was very nice. I've learnt a lot. Big thumb up.

por Pham C N

Oct 24, 2016

Very well!

por Nurul S

Sep 01, 2016

Great Initiative

por Krishna G

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing course lots to learn. The only flaw i would say is that rails has changed a lot and so have some of the online resources used by this course but the course video's haven't. That being said, It is likely you will find a solution to your problem in the discussion forums, so always check there when doing whatever you are doing. Additionally when i took this course rails 4.2.8 was the version used by the course, so it will be super beneficial to have this version for the course. (And don't worry, rails 5.0.3 isn't super different so don't worry about not getting to understand the latest version).

por Brian F

Feb 24, 2016

Solid introduction. I really liked the self-assessment checks of the coding assignments with rspec.

It would have been a nice touch if the coding examples adhered to the Ruby style guides a little better (Rubocop, rails linter, etc).

por Jash K

Mar 15, 2018

Amazing Starter Course.

por Guillaume

Oct 12, 2015

Very good course. Teachers are very reactive to answer questions.

por 师照照

May 24, 2018

To complete the homework, you must understand every word that teacher told in the video. For this course, I spent 3 weeks.

por srivatsan r

Oct 04, 2015

Awesome! great lecture and great course......

por Sim Y X

Jun 21, 2016

An excellent introduction to the Ruby Language and the Ruby on Rails framework. Lectures are a bit fast-paced, so learners may need to seek reference from external resources.

por Sarah W

Mar 07, 2016

Great start to rails, provided a practical intro. Could have used a little more frequent practice actually writing code.

por Abhijeet B

Oct 04, 2015

Overall nice way to get introduced and familiarised with Ruby & Rails.