Chevron Left
Voltar para Ruby on Rails: Introdução

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ruby on Rails: Introdução da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
1,727 classificações
518 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Did you ever want to build a web application? Perhaps you even started down that path in a language like Java or C#, when you realized that there was so much “climbing the mountain” that you had to do? Maybe you have heard about web services being all the rage, but thought they were too complicated to integrate into your web application. Or maybe you wondered how deploying web applications to the cloud works, but there was too much to set up just to get going. In this course, we will explore how to build web applications with the Ruby on Rails web application framework, which is geared towards rapid prototyping. Yes, that means building quickly! At the conclusion of this course, you will be able to build a meaningful web application and deploy it to the “cloud” using a Heroku PaaS (Platform as a Service). Best of all, it will almost feel effortless… Really! “But wait”, you will say, “there is no way that we can build a useful application if there is no database involved. You need the data for an application to be useful.” Great point! But what if… instead of getting the data from the database, we get it from the internet by tapping into one of the web services out there that readily provides data needed by our application? “Ok, but that’s probably very complicated”, you will say. Take this course and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how easy it is!...

Melhores avaliações

HM

Oct 01, 2017

I have played around with Ruby on Rails before but this course really helped me understand the nots and bolts. It is worth replicating all the examples shown in the videos to get a good understanding,

GC

Aug 07, 2016

One of the most challenging things I've ever done.\n\nThe course goes from zero to web deploy in 3 weeks and there are more to enjoy, discover and learn....\n\nTry it, I't's a no-return voyage

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Ruby on Rails: Introdução

por Luke D

Apr 07, 2017

Support was pretty good but I spent a lot of time trying to fight through the thicket of version compatibilities. They introduce a lot of interdependent elements in one short class so that is definitely a feature. I would recommend learning Ruby elsewhere if you're completely new to it before starting this class. I paused to work through the very awesome "Head First Ruby" book and it gave me the skills to move on. What the course does well is show you how these many interdependent elements work together: Ruby, Rails, Sublime Text, homebrew, rbenv, rspec, httpparty, heroku. It's a lot to take in and you really have to explore each subtopic a little more on your own to make it work, but you finish with a pretty rich understanding of the ecosystem of tools and frameworks you need to be effective if you do. Definitely overall recommend, but know that you're going to have to do some work on your own.

por Jon M

Jun 11, 2017

generally a very well organised course. steps through the key knowledge very well, i bagan with no ruby or rails experience and got to the end without too much trouble. the most difficulty was the final assessment having the newer rails version installed and had to downgrade. otherwise very good.

por Antonio M

Sep 04, 2017

Es una buena introducción

por Pavan M

Mar 22, 2017

Nice Course, well structured.

Only issue faced was with Grader not letting to use Rails 5, please be aware of this and use Rails 4.2.8 and save some time. :)

por garyboland@gmail.com

Mar 01, 2017

Video captions were a poor substitute for lecture notes

por Boonchu N

Oct 17, 2015

Execellent class for Ruby beginner and can be applicable to any other language that use as CM like Chef or Puppet as a requirement.

por Angela V C G

Aug 14, 2017

I love the way the course is organized, however there where a couple of things that wer outdated like the coursera api, and was a bit confusing follow the video.

Another improvement could be to code live instead to have the image of the code in the video.

Thanks for helping me to start my journey in rails :)

por Antonio M T

Oct 03, 2015

Great introduccion course on Ruby on Rails, with some problems with the grader. Technical staff performing well, very good effort trying to figure out and solving the problems.

por Sampriti P

Sep 26, 2015

Very nice course! However, I felt the the Ruby part of the course was a bit fast paced and short and a little more time should have been spent on it.

por Aldo A S Z

Jan 14, 2016

great introduction to rails

por srivatsan r

Oct 04, 2015

Awesome! great lecture and great course......

por Sim Y X

Jun 21, 2016

An excellent introduction to the Ruby Language and the Ruby on Rails framework. Lectures are a bit fast-paced, so learners may need to seek reference from external resources.

por Pham C N

Oct 24, 2016

Very well!

por Sarah W

Mar 07, 2016

Great start to rails, provided a practical intro. Could have used a little more frequent practice actually writing code.

por Abhijeet B

Oct 04, 2015

Overall nice way to get introduced and familiarised with Ruby & Rails.

por yohan m

Nov 15, 2015

great course, awesome contents and grading!!

por Alexandr T

Jul 03, 2017

Assignment materials aren't actual on this time.

por Nurul S

Sep 01, 2016

Great Initiative

por Krishna G

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing course lots to learn. The only flaw i would say is that rails has changed a lot and so have some of the online resources used by this course but the course video's haven't. That being said, It is likely you will find a solution to your problem in the discussion forums, so always check there when doing whatever you are doing. Additionally when i took this course rails 4.2.8 was the version used by the course, so it will be super beneficial to have this version for the course. (And don't worry, rails 5.0.3 isn't super different so don't worry about not getting to understand the latest version).

por 师照照

May 24, 2018

To complete the homework, you must understand every word that teacher told in the video. For this course, I spent 3 weeks.

por Jash K

Mar 15, 2018

Amazing Starter Course.

por Guillaume

Oct 12, 2015

Very good course. Teachers are very reactive to answer questions.

por Brian F

Feb 24, 2016

Solid introduction. I really liked the self-assessment checks of the coding assignments with rspec.

It would have been a nice touch if the coding examples adhered to the Ruby style guides a little better (Rubocop, rails linter, etc).

por Mario M A

Oct 07, 2015

Excellent explanations however, should be sure of do not make comparisons with other programmatic languages since it cause confusions

por Kamil J

Jul 24, 2016

I think this course is good - before I took it I've never written any code in ruby and now I know some basics of it. I can say the same about Rails and unit testing. Everything is explained nicely, so it's really easy to understand.

Even through it a good course, it has it's flaws. While we get to try different things, only the basics are covered - now I know those basics, but I'm not confident in my skills with those. I think there should be more exercises, assessments to develop those skills.