Chevron Left
Voltar para Roman Art and Archaeology

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Roman Art and Archaeology da instituição Universidade do ArizonaUniversidade do Arizona

4.7
estrelas
484 classificações
170 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the culture of ancient Rome beginning about 1000 BCE and ending with the so-called "Fall of Rome". We will look at some of the key people who played a role in Rome, from the time of the kings through the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire. We will also focus on the city of Rome itself, as well as Rome's expansion through Italy, the Mediterranean, and beyond....

Melhores avaliações

VJ
5 de Jul de 2016

To me, it is the best structured course so far. Quiz after every lesson and written assignment after every week. Also, prof. Soren is reproducing it steadily and in comprehending fashion.

NA
14 de Out de 2020

I really enjoyed every second of it! It was very comprehensive yet easy to understand and enjoyable. If you have the tiniest passion for classics, I definitely recommend this course!

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 166 Avaliações para o Roman Art and Archaeology

por Bugrin R

21 de Mai de 2016

Perfect!

por Asal A

11 de Set de 2020

Super!

por BOUTI C

2 de Set de 2020

good

por Rachel A

9 de Jan de 2017

I

por John

21 de Mai de 2016

Q

por georgina h b

30 de Mar de 2016

W

por Marie-Pierre B

16 de Out de 2017

The course is an introduction to Roman art but also to Roman history. It is good but I found it sometimes a bit disappointing. Most videos of the professor are very short and we spend more time with the dog Lana than with some monuments... The guests are very interesting, especially on dendrochronology, but why a whole long subject on the archaeology of Troy ? very interesting by the way, but a little far from the main subject even if Aeneas (from Troy) is supposed to be the ancestor of one of the main Roman family.

On the Mooc aspect, I liked the alternance of quizzes and peer assessment with 3 questions (not to difficult for people whose mother language isn't English).

por Sami L

27 de Dez de 2016

What's best in this course: the assignments. Requiring a short few paragraph essay answers to a few questions at the end of each week is so much better than just relying on multiple choice questionnaires. This encourages participants to do a little bit more, at least glimpse through a few relevant Wikipedia articles.

Of course there is plenty of multiple choice questionnaires and videos as well. Some of the videos are a bit dated, but that makes them even more interesting as an archaeological evidence. Besides, the subject matter isn't moving forward very fast, though new research reveals new things at a slow yet constant pace.

por Janis F

9 de Ago de 2016

I enjoyed the course. Lots of Roman history included. Lots of interesting videos from other experts in a particular area of study. But, I will never again take an on-line course with essay questions graded by other students. Out of frustration, I experimented by looking at the answers before taking the test so I knew I should have gotten a perfect score & still didn't get passing marks from my fellow students. I started just skipping them. Remove the essay questions & I would give this course 5 stars.

por Jeffrey M

15 de Nov de 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about ancient Rome. The lectures are a great overview of the history of Rome with great insight from the archaeology. I'm an architect and I really appreciated the connection between architecture and the culture of Rome. I didn't realize how much of a Archaeology rockstar Dr. Soren was until I watched the BBC documentary! Thanks to the leaders of the course and Lana.

por Yanisa L

21 de Abr de 2020

If you want to know about history, art and archaeology of Roman from the beginning till the end, this course is suit for you. There will be one peer-graded assignment per week since week 2, so if you don't like writing essay maybe it would be difficult. And professor's accent is very easy to understand.

por Alan G

22 de Nov de 2020

I would have given this 5 but the transcripts for the lectures were fairly poor, I wonder why there is no spell or sense check on them?

Good course given a history of Rome from it's beginning to the decline and end of the Empire.

Not sure I was over impressed with the appearances of the dog though!

por Cameron C

29 de Jul de 2020

It was an excellent broad overview of Rome. If you're looking for a brief, light history of Rome and its art and archaeology, I recommend this course. Don't expect anything too advanced, but instead an interesting horizontal perspective.

por Anil R

26 de Fev de 2019

Solid course for those interested in Roman History. A little meandering at times with tangential diversions into stuff like Marine Archaeology and even studying history through Tree aging but interesting and well paced most of the time.

por Susanne K

29 de Ago de 2020

Dr. Soren does a good job overall, but some of the content and lectures are a bit dated. I realize this course was put together several years ago, but more up to date archeological tools and technology should be added to this course.

por Marta R

17 de Mai de 2020

Thanks for this course, thanks Dr. Soren your explanations are very easy to follow and deep enough to students interest. Just try to actualize the old filmations, someone impossible to watch. Hope to see you again wiht more courses!

por William M

14 de Set de 2017

This MOOC is much more than the course title suggests. It is a history of Rome from its beginning to its end. It's a good and clear introduction to Roman history. The lectures are very interesting and the assignments helpful.

por Aarya J

9 de Jun de 2020

The overall course is really good. It takes you on a journey from the very beginning of the ancient Roman world till the very end. The course specially gives a great insight about ancient Roman architecture and art.

por Acorn

11 de Jul de 2020

Personally I really enjoyed this course, Dr Soren is an engaging professor who is very easy to understand. The essays and quizzes definitely aren’t a burden to do and I didn’t feel stressed about handing in work.

por Emily W

16 de Ago de 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Especially enjoyed the numerous guest interviews that covered many different areas of the Classics field. The addition of the professor's dog was a little odd.

por Corinne S

24 de Mar de 2016

I loved this class but the only reason I have to give it four stars is the over amount of peer review assignments that are extensive. Otherwise it's great but be prepared to work :)

por kouassi n c

1 de Set de 2017

I am happy this course allowed me to know better this empire the only catch is that there is no transcrption for francophones otherwise there is nothing wrong

por Francine

26 de Mai de 2016

A very interesting and entertaining course!

However, the dog could have been left out . . . .

por Kelly P W

29 de Fev de 2016

Just started today and have already learned a lot!!! Looking forward to next weeks lesson!!!

por Joy S

20 de Jul de 2017

Good info, nice professor. Has peer review, which I hate and won't do