Chevron Left
Voltar para A publicidade e a sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A publicidade e a sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
estrelas
797 classificações
187 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Melhores avaliações

KD
14 de Jun de 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG
2 de Mai de 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 184 Avaliações para o A publicidade e a sociedade

por Thibaut S

5 de Mai de 2017

Very interesting class, lots of examples and cases study which made the course very active and dynamic !

por CHOW W

5 de Abr de 2018

It is a remarkable course to know advertising nowadays with a more "scientific discussion" provided.

por Pujol A

18 de Nov de 2018

A really good overview of the advertising word. Lots of interesting examples and practical cases.

por Abin J M

13 de Jun de 2018

100% Happy with the course,learned a lot!!!!!! looking forward for similar learning experience.

por Pashkov A

13 de Mar de 2019

Very interesting cours, a lot of things to think about. Thank you, Professor William M. O'Bar.

por 소현 김

6 de Ago de 2017

It was my best coursera! Ican learn a lot of not only advertising but also society. Thank you!

por Muhammad T S

18 de Nov de 2017

Interesting and useful discussion. Different perspectives shared by a learned professor.

por Anaele A O

13 de Ago de 2020

I really learnt alot about advertising during this period God bless the instructor

por Гаврилова Н В

4 de Mar de 2021

Deep introduction in the world of advertising and its functions within the society.

por Karen P

28 de Jan de 2019

Well-structured and informative. Quizzes were a good way to check understanding.

por George-Bogdan D

26 de Abr de 2020

Great insight and amazing and detailed teaching. I will recommend this course.

por Jorge R M D

24 de Jun de 2020

Un muy buen curso, completo y que abarca desde lo general hasta lo específico

por Rizwan A K

18 de Nov de 2018

its a very good site to learn what ever you want to learn relet to your study

por Dutch G

17 de Nov de 2021

Enjoyed Professor O' Barr. Class was very informative and thought provoking.

por Ishita S

12 de Dez de 2020

The professor was great and a very informative along with smooth experience!

por AmirHossin v

26 de Nov de 2017

Thanks a lot for your effort and hardworking to deliver these course to us.

por Alex I

21 de Nov de 2016

Absolutely fantastic course! Great insights and, of course, great teacher!

por HARSHIT S

29 de Jun de 2020

A great course that dives deep into the various aspects of advertising!!!

por Kangting S

26 de Abr de 2021

very nice topics involved and inspiring for the way we viewed the ads.

por Mithun V

8 de Jul de 2020

Learned a lot about the Advertising and it was very useful for me.

por Sergienko A

16 de Abr de 2020

It's been a wonderful and informative course, thank you very much!

por Neha

2 de Mai de 2020

How can i get my certificate which syllabus i have been completed

por Brian E

5 de Abr de 2020

Good overview that provide me with a few great ideas to consider.

por Ananya G

10 de Mai de 2017

A well planned and organised course. Good learning experience.

por GUJJARI P K

16 de Mai de 2020

Advertising and society course is very useful to MBA students