Chevron Left
Voltar para A publicidade e a sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A publicidade e a sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
estrelas
797 classificações
187 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Melhores avaliações

KD
14 de Jun de 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG
2 de Mai de 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 184 Avaliações para o A publicidade e a sociedade

por Joel M

8 de Mai de 2020

As an aspiring marketing student this course was very useful and interesting. It helped me to look at advertising through different perspectives.

por Raffaele P

12 de Dez de 2020

Fascinating journey into the world of advertising, thanks to the course, I developed a critical eye towards advertising and what lies behind it.

por Kariya

27 de Dez de 2016

My first course about advertising ever, it was very interesting and the knowledge i learned, i'm sure gonna be useful! Thank you very much!

por MYRSINI S

12 de Jul de 2020

is very good an intresting lesson .. the professor is very efficient the examples and the video is very usefull worth watching

por Ekpo A

20 de Dez de 2019

It was an enlightening experience, the course was broken down to eliminate ambiguity. I am looking forward to doing similar courses.

por Nino J G

11 de Out de 2020

Really helped me understand my work in the advertising industry in the context of how it may directly or indirectly impact society.

por Chelsea V

31 de Ago de 2020

Very interesting! I'd be interested in a course that deep dives into the current mode of advertisement we see through social media.

por Bladimir E C V

19 de Fev de 2018

Me ha ayudado a comprender mejor la relación de la Publicidad con la Sociedad. Así como su evolución histórica, social y cultural.

por Shrushti D

26 de Out de 2020

Very informative and insightful. Definitely won't look at advertising in the same way ever. Amazing course! Highly recommend it.

por LOHITH M C

26 de Out de 2017

That was good experience in learning many aspects of advertising from the history to future of advertising. Very useful course.

por Ujjwala B

22 de Mai de 2020

Prof. Barr's style is impressive. I liked the illustrative material used in the course, as well as issues discussed each week.

por Pablo A C

14 de Abr de 2020

A wonderful course about advertising and society. The professor is very smart and give us a lot of examples in the real life.

por Sliusar V

24 de Mai de 2020

I received a lot of interesting up-to-date information, found out the main trends in the development of modern advertising

por Sougandh P

8 de Mai de 2020

A very positive learning experience. I thoroughly enjoyed all the modules and the topics discussed as part of this course.

por claudia

25 de Ago de 2020

Great course. It gave me loads of insights of Advertising and I will never watch an ad the same way I used to. Thank you.

por Angel W

27 de Jul de 2020

I suggest that people should take this course if they intend on going into a field such as advertising, PR, or Marketing.

por Karthik J

9 de Nov de 2021

This course helped me understanding various aspects behind advertising & the different working teams in advertising!

por Mercy A

12 de Ago de 2020

It was very informative . I learnt alot of things concerning advertising and have proper knowlegde about advertising

por Dhanush B

13 de Mai de 2020

Excellent questions ...which need more concentration while attending video sessions and thanks a lot for the course.

por Aurelija V

26 de Nov de 2017

Very interesting and valuable! I have learned how to look at advertising from a more long-term focused perspective.

por Sreela M

29 de Jul de 2019

Really enjoyed reviewing advertisements and literally learning that there's so much more to it han meets the eye.

por ATTAT E

1 de Jul de 2020

The course was robust and engaging enough to prompt further reading on the subject of Advertising and Society.

por eishika d

19 de Jun de 2020

Really enjoyed studying this course. Thanks to the Professor teaching the same. It was a wonderful experience.

por Mariam K

16 de Mai de 2020

Very informative course. It surely opens the eyes to the world of advertising. Highly recommended to take this

por Letícia N

22 de Mai de 2021

The course presents a little bit of the history of advertising and how ads are produced today. Great content!