Chevron Left
Voltar para A publicidade e a sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A publicidade e a sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
329 classificações
72 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Melhores avaliações

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o A publicidade e a sociedade

por Seohyeon J

Sep 24, 2017

It was the most interesting mooc that ever took. I like a lot of cases that professor show. It was both interesting and informative leture. Thank you for making such mooc. I also like his teaching style. I hope I can see him in another mooc again.

por Muhammad T S

Nov 19, 2017

Interesting and useful discussion. Different perspectives shared by a learned professor.

por 소현 김

Aug 07, 2017

It was my best coursera! Ican learn a lot of not only advertising but also society. Thank you!

por Garima

Jun 10, 2017

Great course! Very well designed

por Thibaut S

May 05, 2017

Very interesting class, lots of examples and cases study which made the course very active and dynamic !

por Ksenia T

Jan 16, 2017

It is amazing!

por Ananya G

May 10, 2017

A well planned and organised course. Good learning experience.

por Andrea M G

Jun 01, 2017

Excellent course.

por Suchismita P

Jun 13, 2017

I am really grateful to Duke University for offering this excellent course. I will never see an advertisement from now on like I used to. I will try to relate all the topics I have learnt.

por Nguyễn T P L

Jul 24, 2017

This is a very useful course. Thanks

por Aditya R

Jun 05, 2017

Very good

por Bladimir E C V

Feb 19, 2018

Me ha ayudado a comprender mejor la relación de la Publicidad con la Sociedad. Así como su evolución histórica, social y cultural.

por Hamza

Nov 04, 2016

This course looks at advertising from a different angle which is very interesting and inspiring.

you will learn a lot, i highly recommend it to everyone in the marketing realm.

por trinh t t t

Jul 24, 2017

This is a very useful course. Thanks

por Fraidoon S

Feb 15, 2017

it is a wonderful course!

por Giorgio G

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

por Alex I

Nov 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic course! Great insights and, of course, great teacher!

por Hazel M

Mar 12, 2017

It has been a very informative and interesting course.

por CHOW W

Apr 05, 2018

It is a remarkable course to know advertising nowadays with a more "scientific discussion" provided.

por Kariya

Dec 28, 2016

My first course about advertising ever, it was very interesting and the knowledge i learned, i'm sure gonna be useful! Thank you very much!

por LOHITH M C

Oct 26, 2017

That was good experience in learning many aspects of advertising from the history to future of advertising. Very useful course.

por Erik O

May 21, 2018

Great course if you're interested in advertising or work for a creative agency. Professor is very knowledgeable and he includes classic as well as modern examples of advertisements.

por Nguyen T T

Aug 16, 2018

very useful course

por Rizwan A K

Nov 18, 2018

its a very good site to learn what ever you want to learn relet to your study

por Pujol A

Nov 18, 2018

A really good overview of the advertising word. Lots of interesting examples and practical cases.