Chevron Left
Voltar para A publicidade e a sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A publicidade e a sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
estrelas
598 classificações
138 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Melhores avaliações

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 137 Avaliações para o A publicidade e a sociedade

por Dhanush B

May 13, 2020

Excellent questions ...which need more concentration while attending video sessions and thanks a lot for the course.

por Aurelija V

Nov 26, 2017

Very interesting and valuable! I have learned how to look at advertising from a more long-term focused perspective.

por sreela m

Jul 29, 2019

Really enjoyed reviewing advertisements and literally learning that there's so much more to it han meets the eye.

por ATTAT E

Jul 01, 2020

The course was robust and engaging enough to prompt further reading on the subject of Advertising and Society.

por eishika

Jun 19, 2020

Really enjoyed studying this course. Thanks to the Professor teaching the same. It was a wonderful experience.

por Mariam K

May 16, 2020

Very informative course. It surely opens the eyes to the world of advertising. Highly recommended to take this

por Thibaut S

May 05, 2017

Very interesting class, lots of examples and cases study which made the course very active and dynamic !

por CHOW W

Apr 05, 2018

It is a remarkable course to know advertising nowadays with a more "scientific discussion" provided.

por Pujol A

Nov 18, 2018

A really good overview of the advertising word. Lots of interesting examples and practical cases.

por Abin J M

Jun 13, 2018

100% Happy with the course,learned a lot!!!!!! looking forward for similar learning experience.

por Pashkov A

Mar 13, 2019

Very interesting cours, a lot of things to think about. Thank you, Professor William M. O'Bar.

por 소현 김

Aug 07, 2017

It was my best coursera! Ican learn a lot of not only advertising but also society. Thank you!

por Muhammad T S

Nov 19, 2017

Interesting and useful discussion. Different perspectives shared by a learned professor.

por Karen P

Jan 28, 2019

Well-structured and informative. Quizzes were a good way to check understanding.

por George-Bogdan D

Apr 26, 2020

Great insight and amazing and detailed teaching. I will recommend this course.

por Jorge R M D

Jun 24, 2020

Un muy buen curso, completo y que abarca desde lo general hasta lo específico

por Rizwan A K

Nov 18, 2018

its a very good site to learn what ever you want to learn relet to your study

por Amir H V

Nov 26, 2017

Thanks a lot for your effort and hardworking to deliver these course to us.

por Alex I

Nov 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic course! Great insights and, of course, great teacher!

por Harshit S

Jun 29, 2020

A great course that dives deep into the various aspects of advertising!!!

por Mithun V

Jul 08, 2020

Learned a lot about the Advertising and it was very useful for me.

por Sergienko A

Apr 16, 2020

It's been a wonderful and informative course, thank you very much!

por Neha

May 02, 2020

How can i get my certificate which syllabus i have been completed

por Brian E

Apr 06, 2020

Good overview that provide me with a few great ideas to consider.

por Ananya G

May 10, 2017

A well planned and organised course. Good learning experience.