Chevron Left
Voltar para Risk in Modern Society

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Risk in Modern Society da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.8
estrelas
123 classificações
38 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Risk has become one of the defining features of modern society. Almost daily, we are preoccupied with assessing, discussing, or preventing a wide variety of risks. It is a cornerstone notion for businesses and organizations, but also for nation states and their many levels of government. And even for individuals, risk and the avoidance or embracing thereof, is a key theme. The course Risk in Modern Society sheds light on the broad concept of risk. In five distinctive weeks, this course closely examines various types of safety and security risks, and how these are perceived and dealt with in a wide array of professional and academic fields, ranging from criminology, counter-terrorism and cyber security, to philosophy, safety and medical science. Developed in collaboration with scholars from three universities (Leiden, Delft and Erasmus), this course will search for answers to questions such as: “what is risk?”, “how do we study and deal with risk?”, “does ‘perceived risk’ correspond to 'real' risk?”, and “how should we deal with societal perceptions of risk, safety and security?...

Melhores avaliações

AH
26 de Jul de 2020

Lost of very good information on each category. The examples were very good to explain concepts and the instructors were each to understand. Overall, good summary/ brief course to risk

CB
8 de Mai de 2020

Interesting content, great videos/lectures. More opportunity to debate/discuss with others would be great. Really enjoyed learning this topic.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 38 Avaliações para o Risk in Modern Society

por Gunther B

7 de Fev de 2019

This course is an excellent introduction to risk and how society organizes itself around the management of risk. It was a topic that I was interested in, and now that interest has been magnified greatly. They provided very practical explanations within an overarching framework that can be applied in many ways. The quality of the instructors was absolutely top-notch.

por Renee K

17 de Jun de 2020

Thank you to all the professors that took their time to provide such clear and understanding lectures that a full of knowledge and interesting Topics and discussions about modern society and so on...I would highly recommend this course for anyone that is interested in learning about modern society risks in a broader context rounding from risk management, Security science, and the rest which you'll enjoy as you go through this course.

por Kristopher R

2 de Mar de 2020

I really appreciated the classes on risk perception and how it can really influence us to the point of actual risk. I can see even how my wife and I perceive risk differently and how it affects our relationship. I found that a good read to accompany this portion of the class is "Buddha's Brain" by Rick Hansen. He talks about keep the potential trouble in the right perspective. Don't make a missile out of an arrow.

por Chris H

21 de Jun de 2020

Through a to-the-point selection of scientific articles and online video's the course introduces you with the key concepts of risk in both safety and security. the information is relevant, interesting and made to stick. I really enjoyed the course and I am sure I will further deepen my knowledge on the subject in the near future.

por Dale S

21 de Abr de 2020

Fantastic course. I didn't expect it to be as in depth and interesting as it was. I really enjoyed the methods of learning and video presentations did a really good job on re-capping each weeks work. I will certainly be interested in learning more via the University of Leiden.

por jessica d s n

8 de Nov de 2018

Curso incrível que além de contextualizar todos os conteúdos com dados históricos, dados de pesquisas e com a realidade, conta com um corpo docente altamente qualificado e os materiais indicados para aprofundamento do aprendizado são extremamente relevantes e precisos.

por Martín V

8 de Mai de 2020

Great introductory course on the concept of risk and the different approaches to it from both security studies and safety sciences. Great selection of articles and top-notch lecturers. Highly recommended!

por Ashok K

16 de Mai de 2018

V

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

a

n

d

r

e

l

a

v

e

n

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

.

T

h

a

n

ks to the instructors and the university and Coursera for putting this course. I am sure this course will be updated every time the new risks show on horizon.

por Arrion H

27 de Jul de 2020

Lost of very good information on each category. The examples were very good to explain concepts and the instructors were each to understand. Overall, good summary/ brief course to risk

por Francisco J G M

23 de Abr de 2018

An extraordinary course made by talented people and great knowledge. Thanks to : Instructors, Experts, Universiteit Leiden (CFI), Staff, and Coursera for this great opportunity.

por Klaus D P

11 de Mar de 2018

Excellent course which gives a brilliant overview over a relevant topic. Short and concise video lectures, very inspiring and stimulating. Highly recommended!

por Igor M

30 de Mar de 2018

A rewarding introductory level course which I would highly recommend to those interested in the topic. Don't miss any of the readings, it's worth the time!

por Cindy B

9 de Mai de 2020

Interesting content, great videos/lectures. More opportunity to debate/discuss with others would be great. Really enjoyed learning this topic.

por Katrina F

7 de Out de 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Very informative. I also like the fact that you actually have to put work into it in order to pass.

por Carlos C

12 de Abr de 2020

This is a high-quality course with top-notch professors/instructors. Great content and materials. I learned a LOT.

por Maria E C P

22 de Nov de 2020

The course is highly recommended. The topics discussed are well presented and clear. Kudos to all the professors!

por Rupert H

28 de Fev de 2018

Excellent presentations by all instructors. Very well laid with enough depth to not overwhelm. Simply superior!

por Carlos E P d A

27 de Jun de 2018

Excellent course! I broadened my view and ability to reason about risks in modern society.

por Mizanur R

17 de Set de 2019

Great introductory course - well presented, short and full of information. Thanks

por Fumihiko T

7 de Mar de 2018

This is a good course to learn basic concepts and principles of risk management!

por Garima S B

11 de Dez de 2019

A great overview of Risk in modern society, well explained and informative!

por Geke

10 de Mai de 2020

Very interesting! Super nice video clips and interesting readings.

por Haryanto " W

17 de Ago de 2018

Excellent course regarding the knowledge of present day risks

por ali a

14 de Jan de 2019

Great it was helpful

and advanced training according to me

por Sean b

1 de Mai de 2018

Excellent class, well taught with important information!