Chevron Left
Voltar para Modelos Regressivos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Modelos Regressivos da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.4
2,729 classificações
463 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Linear models, as their name implies, relates an outcome to a set of predictors of interest using linear assumptions. Regression models, a subset of linear models, are the most important statistical analysis tool in a data scientist’s toolkit. This course covers regression analysis, least squares and inference using regression models. Special cases of the regression model, ANOVA and ANCOVA will be covered as well. Analysis of residuals and variability will be investigated. The course will cover modern thinking on model selection and novel uses of regression models including scatterplot smoothing....

Melhores avaliações

KA

Dec 17, 2017

Excellent course that is jam-packed with useful material! It is quite challenging and gives a thorough grounding in how to approach the process of selecting a linear regression model for a data set.

BA

Feb 01, 2017

It really helped me to have a better understanding of these Regression Models. However, I've noticed that there is a video recording repeated: Week 3, Model Selection. Part 3 is included in Part 2.

Filtrar por:

376 — 400 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Modelos Regressivos

por Erick J G L

Feb 01, 2018

Lots of room for improvement on this course, the teacher really seems like he cares but he is a really bad teacher nonetheless. The course material is incomplete and not properly structured. Basically read the book if you want to learn something, otherwise the videos don't really help.

Also, the course project is not worth it because you get no real feedback to compare your project to the ideal or at least expected answer. I would not recommend this course.

por Ahmad A

Nov 09, 2016

Requires much more than a month to digest the material and complete the assignments. A default/initial one-week offering is too tight unless you are only taking the course (not working). I know one can complete the course in more than a single round and I did that but I still don't think the expectations should be set for a single month.

Instruction (video content) can be much better, at least compared to a lot of other courses on Coursera.

por Sarah R

Mar 20, 2016

The instructor is at time incomprehensible. It would be helpful to speak more slowly and pause more often. Otherwise he sounds like repeating something that he's so well memorized after many years of teaching.

por Marco A M A

May 09, 2016

This course is better than Statistical Inference, and I think it is as useful. Non credit excersise are still very good at helping with understanding in practice what is going on.

por ANDREW L

Jan 27, 2016

Better than Stat Inference, and gave some reasonable intuition, but could be improved I think by focussing on more understanding and less maths and formulas. Some of it did seem to be - here' s a formula, plug the numbers in to get the quiz question right, whereas in reality (in the world of work) that question is completely unrealistic - you have raw data and you need to do the regression and understand what it means.

por VenusW

Jan 10, 2017

This course is great, instructor is good, however, the material of this course is not well organized, even the swirl practice is not put in the correct week, not in the same pace as the lectures. The quiz and project are far much easier than lecture content.

por Feng H

May 17, 2017

Not impressed. Dr. Caffo tried to use non-calculus, non-linear-algrebra ways to explain complex concepts and derivations. IMO, he should not have done that. It only made things more confusing. Also the final project is so unsatisfactory in that we were to analyze the data with 32 obs but 11 variables! How robust could it be? Was expecting something much more challenging than that.

por Normand D

Feb 01, 2016

As for the Statistical Inference course, this course is amazing but is presented in a more complex way than it should be. Once again the concepts are simple and the math not so hard, yet I had to do a lot of research outside the course to be able to understand these simple concepts and derive the not so hard mathematics.

Brian Caffo is clearly brilliant and, I would say, seem to be a good lad too, but something is missing. Too often the details are thrown at us without being properly framed in the context or without having the proper concept being introduced progressively.

I have a theory about teaching since I was 15, and so far it has proven to be true. Imagine that learning is about climbing a mountain in which tall steps have been carved. Each step is taller than the student. The teacher is somewhere higher than the students (not necessarily at the top, if there is such a thing).

The job of the teacher is to throw boxes (concepts) and balls (details) of different size, shape and colors. The job of the student is to catch these boxes and balls and to put the right balls in the right boxes in order to make a staircase out of it to climb (at least) one of the giant stair up.

A good teacher makes sure to throw the concepts first than the details and to clearly specify which balls go into which box, as well as which boxes go inside/over which other boxes.

But most teacher simply throw the balls and boxes in an not so well structured manner, so the poor students try to catch as many as he can, but also miss a lot of them. His hands can hold a limited amount of balls. If he doesn't have the right box to put them, he would either miss the next balls, or put the one he hold in his hand in the wrong box.

Bottom line, the best teachers are those who focus on the concepts (and context) and make sure that the concepts are well understood before introducing details to stuck in these concepts. From my experience our brain (or at least mine) better learn this way. It is as if our brain need first to establish a category-pattern (the concept/context) to which it will associate detail-patterns. But without a proper category-pattern, our brain is having a hard time to properly remember the detail-patterns or miss-associate them to the wrong category-pattern (which create even more confusion).

Hope it was helpful somehow...

por Andres C S

Mar 02, 2016

I think this course needs more emphasis on practical applications and less mathematical background.

por Guilherme B D J

Aug 21, 2016

Given the importance of this subject, this course should have been split in two or more or have a longer duration to properly address subjects as GLM or model selection techniques.

por Zach

Feb 04, 2016

There's just something about the course content that is difficult to attain. It's presented at way too high of a level without enough tangible examples of getting down into the weeds of how to actually perform and interpret the models and functions.

por Eric L

Feb 03, 2016

good quick overview, could have more actual R examples in lectures

por Janardhan K

Nov 16, 2017

The course was of average quality. It could have been better. Brian's slides in the video don't correspond 1-1 with the slides made available. The coverage and explanation of the material could have been better. The instructor's presentation could be more engaging (fewer 'ums' while talking). It was not immediately clear how to answer some questions on the Week 4 quiz, and also the course project, even after reviewing the material multiple times. One example: Brian says that the ANOVA test can only be used to compare models, when the model being compared has normally distributed residuals (using the Shapiro test). No advice is given about what to do if they are not normally distributed, which is what happened in the project.

por Hendrik F

Jan 17, 2016

I find it very tough to understand everything. Buying the course book helps to overcome this. You have to dedicate a lot of time.

por benjamin s

Jun 20, 2018

A good (although slightly frustrating) course, attempted once but had to come back after studying the material in class, quite a heavy course if you've not been taught regression before

por Rafal K

Feb 28, 2017

Many things are not clear enough in multivariable regression part.

por Suleman W

Nov 10, 2017

I did find it difficult to follow and understand some of the materials.

por Brandon K

Mar 30, 2016

I found the videos tough to watch. I was hoping for something that would be more practical for non-statisticians, but the lectures mainly devolved into mathematical proofs. That said, I did learn some from this class. Just not as much as I'd hoped.

por Jinwook C

Feb 14, 2016

The flows of courses instructed by Caffo(Statistical Inference and Regression Models) are too long to concentrate it and the quiz is ​not quite related in lecture.

However, Contents of the book is really good, as well as homework in the book.

por Andrew R

Mar 07, 2016

The material presented was of course useful, but I never really felt like I understood how it all tied together, or what the big picture was. I think that some case studies that show how all of the concepts relate to one another, or how they are used in the bigger picture would be helpful.

Also, as a suggestion, I feel that if something is important enough to be included in the quiz, it merits more than the briefest of mentions in the lecture.

por Amol K

Jan 31, 2016

This course goes on a very fast pace and simply does not have the charm of all the other courses in the specialization. I understand that a lot of content is covered within a month, but there should be supplementary course material available. Moreover, TAs should be more active on the forums. I have seen most of the questions just being discussed among the students. A little disappointed. Will probably have to watch all the material again to have confidence with it.

por Erwin V

Dec 20, 2016

Very interesting course, yet course content could be spread more evenly (week 4 is really a lot)

por Jason M C

Mar 29, 2016

This is a decent class, covering linear regression and a few of its variants in good detail. It's a challenging subject, but presented acceptably here.

por Lei M

Aug 23, 2017

Some of the materials are too much math for me.

por LU Z

Sep 26, 2018

Starting from the first week swirl practice, course content is poorly organized making even simple concept difficult to understand.